Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Marys Episcopal School

Private | PK-8 | 150 students

Academic rigor and nurturing Christian environment.
 
 

 
 

Living in Edmond

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $230,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $710.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 5, 2013

St. Mary's is amazing!!!!! My daughter Katherine went to Pre-K at St. Mary's and I could not have been happier. They were a blessing to our lives in a multitude of ways that I never would gave imagined. I am thankful for the great teacher and environment Katherine got to experience at St Mary's. I would recommend St. Mary's to anyone who is considering an alternantive to public education. Dawn Cash (Art Teacher and Mom)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2013

We are new parents this year with a child in pre-k but so far we are loving it! The people really care about the children and they are learning so much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2013

My children attended St. Mary's before it became a PS - 8th grade school. How I wish they had had middle school in the early 1990's! Nevertheless, their early childhood education journey was a gift from God! Now as adults, they are firm in their academic, spiritual and social foundations. Thank you St. Mary's!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2013

I have two children that attend SMES. The oldest has attended since preschool and will be entering 2nd grade. We have loved SMES since we have been attending. The school offers a nurturing environment with a small class size. My children are well known by the entire staff and all the other students through all the interactions throughout the day. The school fosters a positive relationship between the older children and the younger children. I feel that my children have excellent educational opportunities at school. They learn through experience, reading, singing, writing, hands on activities, etc. The school carries topics between the classes to solidify what is being learned. There are many community outreach programs which are lead through the students. The school fosters Christian values throughout the day. I as a parent have made close friendships with other parents. I would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2013

St. Mary's is exceptional. Students feel safe, nurtured and respected. We have 2 children at the school, 4th and preschool. Both children receive individual attention that allows them to excel beyond our wildest dreams. St. Mary's core curriculum is excellent and they offer Science (with a full lab), Music, Art, Service Learning (volunteering) and so much more. If you want a well-rounded education, with a true focus on the child, you want St. Mary's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2013

Best kept secret in Edmond! We homeschooled prior to coming to St. Mary's. I was so happy to recognize the curriculum for some topics used at St. Mary's as the same I had been using at home! I have a 2nd grader and a 6th grader. They are both so happy to attend here. I was really nervous about acclimating my daughter back into school in middle school, knowing how brutal middle school can be. I thank the Lord every day that He guided me to St. Mary's. It is truly a 'safe' middle school environment. The kids are challenged, everyone knows them by name and parental involvement is great. They have been around since 1977 and have consistently proven themselves to be a great school. Give them a tour, you will see.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2012

Our child started at St. Mary's Episcopal School in Edmond as a pre-school student -- she is now in the elementary program. The school has an outstanding early childhood learning program that transitions well into the upper grades. What makes St. Mary's Episcopal School special is its loving environment. The teachers and staff are warm and welcoming -- this creates an atmosphere in which every child wants to learn and reach his/her potential. Our child has had a fabulous experience -- her early learning experience is a great foundation and preparation for the years to come!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2012

Fabulous school - My children are greeted with a hug and a smile every morning. The teachers are proactive in addressing issues BEFORE they become a problem. The school sets an expectation of excellence and the students respond. I could not be more pleased with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2012

St. Mary's has big such a blessing for our children and family! The strong curriculum, individualized attention, small teacher/student ratios, nuturing enviroment are outstanding. I recommend without reservation!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2012

I cannot say enough good things about this school. We originally toured St. Mary's specifically for small class sizes but found more than we could have imagined. You truly feel like part of a family from your first day. The curriculum is excellent, but I'm not just talking academics. St. Mary's enriches our sons spiritually and morally as well. If you are looking for a school with top notch caring teachers who know ALL the students, not just the ones in their class - St. Mary's is for you. If you are looking for a school that has great parental support and probably the nicest group of people you will encounter- St. Mary's is for you. If you are looking for a place where your children will blossom beyond expectations - St. Mary's is for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2012

If you are tired of your children getting lost in the shuffle, or worried that they aren't getting the attention and nurturing they deserve, then St. Mary's might be the school for you. Every day I drop off my kids, I know they are in the best hands possible. Every teacher and staff member knows the children by name, and they all exude the kind of nurturing, loving attitude that is the hallmark of the St. Mary's culture. My children will definitely leave St. Mary's equipped with the intellectual, emotional, and spiritual tools needed to be successful in all they undertake. There's a reason why the middle- and high-schools all want St. Mary's graduates.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2010

My children have graduated from St Mary's and I have seen first hand the results of the great education they received at St Marys. Academically it was superior to other school and presented a challenging curriculum in an appropriate manner. Your child will not get lost in the schuffle or become a number. The individual attention is a priority and each child is treated with the respect for their individualiy. You don't get a second chance for a good childhood. Invest now and you will not regret the special experience your child will be a part of.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2007

If you are looking for the best place in Edmond to enroll your elementary or pre-school age child, this is it! The faculty and staff make it their purpose to provide unparalleled educational, spiritual and emotional instruction. The student to teacher ratio is very good and the parents are the best in town - not too 'over the top' but very involved. Our son began with St. Mary's in Kindergarten and is now a 4th grader. We can't say enough nice things about St. Mary'. Just take a tour and you'll feel the difference.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2007

What's not to love at St. Mary's?, My kids don't want to leave the school ever, the teachers are super in EVERY aspect. After being turned down by the snobbish attitude at a Catholic school nearby, we decided to try it and now I thank them for doing us the favor. The principal is very involved, the atmosphere is super friendly, the kids feel the support of everybody in their learning and since the teacher:student ratio is so low, it is like having private tutors overseeing every aspect of their education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2007

A great school filled with great students, teachers and parents, all very involved in developing young children into responsible, motivate and intelligent young adults. Our daughter loves it and at age 6 was reading at the 4th-5th grade level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2005

My son was able to recieve one on one instruction from his teacher. You can tell the principal really cares about the students and parents. Many extracurricular activities were available including Spanish. Parents are very involved with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2004

St. Mary's is an amazing school, that you love. The teachers are so sweet, and the principle in wonderful. The classes are small. Your child has plenty of room to grow at St. Marys. Also ST. Marys is growing which is so exciting.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 58%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 17%
Hispanic 3% 13%
Black 2% 10%
Two or more races 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • American (2013)
  • OKC Beautiful (2012)
  • Edmond Environment Award (2012)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Red Cross Service Award (2013)
  • Red Cross Service Award (2012)
  • Red Cross Service Award (2011)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Math club
  • Recycling club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:15 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Pam Dockter
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Episcopal
Associations
  • NAES

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • High School preparatory
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Foreign languages
  • Global
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Edmond All Sports Association
  • OKC Kayak
  • Kickingbird Golf
  • ATA Karate
  • Devon Boathouse
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Archery
  • Baseball
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Fencing
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Kayaking
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Archery
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Kayaking
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Archery Club
  • Art club
  • Book/reading club
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Gardening
  • Girl scouts
  • Lego Club
  • Math club
  • Recycling club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Edmond Public
OCS
Deer Creek Public

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$3000 - $8000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
FACTS

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Public
Casady
Heritage Hall
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

505 East Covell Road
Edmond, OK 73034
Website: Click here
Phone: (405) 341-9541

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT