Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cheyenne Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 963 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 22, 2013

This is our first year at Cheyenne. My child has finished the first semester as a sixth grader. Our experience has been very good. It was a challenge at the beginning as any child starting middle school would have but our child soon got the hang of it. All of the teachers did a wonderful job sending us updates either via email or Edmodo. Edmodo is a wonderful school social network for the teachers, kids and parents. Very helpful to keep all informed and a great venue to ask questions of teachers, etc. Our child was challenged and encouraged. There are so many options for electives as well. Great school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

They have a new administration this year - principal and asst. principal. All that was good before seems to be gone. Only one teacher sends us updates now; one has stayed behind on grading for most of this semester - a month or more at a time, so we never know a current average - even on report card day! The energy and support for programs - especially the music program - just seems to be gone. Nothing great going on here anymore.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

They are very good at getting their kids involved in local programs & civic pride...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

Coming from a small school in Edmond, CHEYENNE has been an awesome school. His teachers keep you updated, and anytime you e-mail them they respond ASAP My son rates every day a 9!! Thanks
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2009

My child loves this school, but she has trouble with opening her locker. The sixth grade teachers are exellent for what I know and I hope that she enjoys the rest of her year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2009

The staff at this school is beyond awesome! We've got a kid who has needed to grade skip and to have dual enrollments at elementary/middle school and middle school/high school. They will do anything that the kids need - no negativity - just complete support. Everybody gets to learn in this building. I wish we could have had this at the elementary level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2008

Talk about a committed staff. The teachers of '602' students are phenomenal (as are the talented electives staff)! I appreciate all that the teachers do to keep parents informed, firmly but kindly push the students to excel, and show passion for their subjects. The principal is constantly present - in school hallways, extra curricular events, and even answered the general office number (to my happy surprise once)! This is a fantastic school with academics, and lots of extra curricular activities, clubs and teacher help after-hours if needed. If you are considering this school though, please bear in mind that great minds are developed through practice (so yes, there is much homework). As a parent, I have high hopes and expectations for my student's future, and I believe this school is perfect for my son's development.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2008

This is a really great school. I enjoy attending. The teachers are awesome. This school has made a great impression on me, and I really think this school deserves an A+!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 3, 2005

Leadership is what ultimately defines any public school. At Cheyenne, the principal sets a high standard for the teachers and students. Our daughter attended Cheyenne for grades 6-8 and is now a sophomore at Edmond North High School. Her experience at Cheyenne was excellent and our 7th grade son is doing well there now. As a parent, I am totally pleased. I would compare this school very favoralby to the school system in Central Texas (Midway) that we moved from 4 years ago.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

257 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

249 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

299 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2013.

301 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
92%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 89% in 2012.

269 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

274 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

275 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 60% in 2013.

274 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 77% in 2012.

248 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
94%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 65% in 2013.

274 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 78% 59%
Black 9% 9%
Hispanic 6% 14%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 2%
Native American 2% 16%
Source: State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 119%N/A61%
Special education 211%N/A15%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1271 West Covell Road
Edmond, OK 73003
Website: Click here
Phone: (405) 330-7380

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT