Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Deer Creek Elementary School 4

Posted August 16, 2013
- a parent
This school has everything going for it; teachers who care, staff who go the extra mile, and parents who participate. The only problem is a big one and it's Common Core. If they implement Common Core, the teachers might as well be replaced with robots, because you can't teach you will just be facilitating what Washington DC wants your children to repeat.

Deer Creek Elementary School 1

Posted August 15, 2013
- a parent
Do not recommend this school, have a preschooler who goes here and everything about the school is very unorganized. Little pre-schoolers and kindergartens are getting trampled by older students on pick up and drop off. Office staff seems not to care and are ignorant to their surroundings. Parents are scrabbling all over the place pushing and shoving.

Deer Creek Elementary School 5

Posted May 16, 2013
- a parent
Great school! Fab teachers. I have a 1st grader and a 4th grader in this school. Is our 1t year here and my kids have met great people.

Deer Creek Elementary School 5

Posted November 17, 2009
- a parent
We loved the school under Debbie Straughn's leadership. She was the best principal we ever had. We miss her!!!!!!

Deer Creek Elementary School 5

Posted October 05, 2009
- a parent
The teachers, staff and parents all work together to make it the best learning environment possible for the kids. There is even an 'outdoor classroom' where the kids learn about nature!!

Deer Creek Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 04, 2009
- a parent
I love the LOVE & LOGIC programs this Elementary has.... BOTH my kids went through this school, and have a lot more knowledge about a strong foundation of morals and ethics.

Deer Creek Elementary School
no rating

Posted May 02, 2008
- a parent
Debbie Straughn and her staff our exemplary. We appreciation the dedication by the educators teaching our children.

Deer Creek Elementary School 5

Posted February 28, 2008
- a parent
This is a school for parents looking for strong academics in a positive envirnment and fleeing from the 'progressive' 80's style education. I feel the time spent 'teaching to the test' was low because the curriculum is good. The Great Expectations program is phenomenal! My children thrived here! If you want a 'child centered', 'self esteem' focused education try out Deer Creek's Rose Union Elementary.

Deer Creek Elementary School 2

Posted November 19, 2007
- a parent
I do not have any other school to compare DCES with other than a small private school. According to API scores the school is great. They teach to scores not at all a school for developmentally appropriate studies for elementary aged children.

Deer Creek Elementary School 5

Posted November 01, 2007
- a teacher
I love our school. I am a teacher at Deer Creek Elementary and this is the best staff I have had the opportunity to work with. Everyone is positive and gets along great. Our principal Straughn does a great job at hiring staff. We love her.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Deer Creek Elementary School
4704 Northwest 164th Street, Edmond, OK  73013
(405) 348-9100
Last modified Deer Creek Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Deer Creek Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top