Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Deer Creek Middle School

Public | 7-8 | 758 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 5, 2014

We transferred to Deer Creek after years in private schools. This school out shines any of the private schools they attended - parents, teachers, administration and counselors have been outstanding and helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2013

Deer Creek Middle School not only has a world class facility, the teachers and administrators are extremely talented. We've been blown away by their engagement in creating a great learning environment and focus on the student experience. The district is growing very quickly and they've continued to make adjustments to address the pains involved in growth district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2013

I'm unimpressed. DC schools are politically motivated. ..money motivated. It's easy to brag about test scores for upper middle class white kids from 2 parent homes with college educated parents. There are cliques here that are super hurtful and you can't fit in unless you make tons of money n
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2012

Every once in a while you come across a teacher who is just...awesome. They care about your success, and help you achieve it. I have found several teachers like this here at DC. They make up for some lousiness at the school...


Posted October 27, 2010

I agree that the leadership and counselors are ineffective. There needs to be some major changes at this school. Our daughter has been in this school district since kindergarten and we have loved it here....until now. Very disappointed in how things are handled, how some of the teachers treat the kids, and what goes on at this school that is just ignored.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2010

There are little cliques in this school that are very hurtful to kids on the outside, especially for the girls. The leadership does not seem willing or able to address it . The counselors are seemingly ineffective and do more harm than good, i.e. counseling the offender and the victim side-by-side, hence the bully's view prevails. I am sure they are trying but they have a lot of work to do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

They are 'great bunch of parents, teachers, staff and students!'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2010

I am a student at Deer Creek Middle School and I am not very impressed with this school. I think that most of the girls are snotty and think they the center of attention. It's like they form cliques and unless you've known them your life they will just ignore you. Also the kids think that if you are not from Oklahoma you are not worth talking to. If I were a parent i would not send my kids to this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 9, 2008

I have been at Deer Creek since 1st grade and in elementary it was great! But when I hit middle school it all went down hill... fast. So many girls doing bad things, a lot of pressure to have these certain things (clothes, purses, cell phones, electronics, etc.), and the teachers didn't seem to really want to connect and help us learn. Now I have had a few teachers that were just great, but others didn't care. Also we are growing like no other! They can barely fit us in the school and 30 kids to a small room. Principal leadership is not very good, neither counsler or teacher leadership. Eventually most kids get lost like I did- unless they are 'popular', but not in the good way... It is just growing way to fast!! So I am getting out of that mess and going to a different school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 25, 2008

We love DCMS! The staff and adminitration is A+ ! Students learn through hands-on means and the teachers seem well prepared. My children have launched rockets, built catapults, written brilliant essays, produced outstanding art, and are 2 years advanced in math. Obviously, our school is doing something right. Thanks DCMS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2008

The middle school education seem less rigorous than the education my children got in elementary school. Especially in math, I don't feel my children are getting skills and habits needed to be successful in math over the long term. They have almost no homework on a daily basis. Why stress the children out so much in elementary school, then just coast in middle school?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2007

It appears to me that discipline is lacking. Issues regarding bullying and teasing when reported do not seem to get much of a response by the principle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2007

I am currently an 8th grade attending DCMS. It is one of the best schools I have ever been to. The teachers all make sure you learn their subjects. In my opinion, I think Mrs. Burnett, current pre-algebra and PAP-Geometry teacher, Mrs. Vasso, a history teacher, and Mrs. Bridges, science teacher and teacher of the year were the greatest. They made the classes fun doing games, hands on activities, and many more. They always made sure the students learned everything they can without overstressing the students. There are many fun classes like band, athletics, art, drama, and technology. Those classes have different types of classes like robotics, graphics, or simulation in technology classes. My third year at DCMS is awesome. The students are all so nice. This is one of my favorite schools in my life.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 22, 2007

DCMS is a great place to learn. The staff and principals love the kids. They do what they can to make sure that every student is successful. They are great! The implementation of the new programs in athletics have been super. My child gets to play, and she is really just an athlete with limited ability. Thank you Deer Creek Middle School for giving all kids a chance to excel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2006

Mrs. Jones is the greatest principal. She has turned this school around. She motivates the staff and parents to get involved in the school and the children. I'm thrilled both my kids will have her for three years during Middle School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2006

This is the second year for the new principal, Mrs. Jones. We feel that she has turned the middle school into a wonderful, loving place. It lacked caring and goals but has been brought to new levels by Mrs. Jones.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2005

I was a student at Deer Creek MS for two semesters. My family had just biult a house in the district, and I was extremely nervous about going to a school where I knew no one. When I ntered the school, I was shocked by it's lack of academic goals. The only teachers who seemed to care about the students at all were a Mr. Jenkins, a history teacher, and a Mrs. Burnett, a composition teacher. The foreign language offerings were slim, as were the science and mathematics programs. The art program was well-stocked. The other students were cruel, and isolated me. I had had dozens of friends at my previos school, but at Deer Creek I had only a few. I was so unhappy I transferred schools, and I am now an honor student on the basketball
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 26, 2004

We brought our children from a rural setting, we knew the staff, students and they knew us. This was what we were looking for and found it at Deer Creek, although a fast growing community that is a little bigger than our previous school,the staff is proffesional and willing to meet our needs and concerns. Parents are actively involved from grade school up with in school as well as extra-curricular activities which I believe creates a safe and encouraging learning environment. There is of course monetary donation support from the parents as well but voluntary and pertinent to your childs classes. An all around great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

278 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2013.

280 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
93%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 89% in 2012.

293 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

297 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

296 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 60% in 2013.

293 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
99%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 77% in 2012.

282 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 65% in 2013.

293 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 59%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 2%
Black 5% 9%
Hispanic 5% 14%
Native American 3% 16%
Source: State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 15%N/A61%
Special education 213%N/A15%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3501 South Boulevard Street
Edmond, OK 73013
Phone: (405) 348-4830

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT