Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Prairie Vale Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 406 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 1, 2013

We are now on our 3rd child going to Prairie Vale and we have been so happy with their experiences. Mrs. Anderson is the role model for what a great principal should be. The teachers and administration are amazing and so responsive to students and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2008

We moved here several years ago and our two children have attended Prairie Vale since our arrival. I can not express how pleased I have been over the years - not only in the outstanding education our children are recieving but also in the wonderful staff and administration. They are all motivated, helpful, caring and kind. They truly do care about the success of each student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2007

PV is a wonderful school with quality teachers. The parental involvement is second to none and the teachers do a stellar job despite the lack of leadership. Overall DC is a good district, but it has a lot of accountability problems right now. Growth is having a major impact on the area and schools can't be built fast enough to keep up with the families flocking our way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2004

Deer Creek is simply the best of the best. From the minute you walk into the front doors, you know this is not just a 'regular' school. Essentially, my children are getting a private school education at a public school. We have made sacrifices to remain in this district so our children will be competitive at the time college admission.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2004

My child began first grade with no reading ability and ended with a second grade fourth month reading level. During a parents-only vacation to DC this summer, Pres. Reagan died and our son was able to recount what number President Mr. Reagan was, how old he was and that the current President's father was his VP. Incredible. Spelling words for first grade were very difficult, but our child never scored under a B on any test. Math and Science are strongly following suit. Community support is outstanding. I was a skeptic as a Kindergarten Mom, but now we are amazed and looking toward a great future with this public school education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2004

Deer Creek Prairie Vale is absolutely outstanding! I have one child that has gone from K thru 5th and one just starting 2nd. Both are very different learners. DCPV has provided each with the personal attention needed to learn and advance. The teachers and staff are true professionals and provide a fun and caring environment in which to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2004

I currently have a third grader at this school. I believe the quality of education she receives at this school is exceptional. I also have another daughter who went to this school. She is now in High School and she is exceling.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

57 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
97%

2009

 
 
97%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2012.

58 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
97%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2012.

60 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
97%

2009

 
 
98%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2012.

60 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
99%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

66 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%

2009

 
 
99%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2012.

65 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 91% in 2012.

66 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 77% in 2012.

65 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
94%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

60 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 54%
Hispanic 4% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 18%
Black 3% 10%
Asian 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 11%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

22522 North Pennsylvania Ave
Edmond, OK 73025
Phone: (405) 359-3170

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT