Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Memorial High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2014

Good I move different school because we have different classes and lunch and I science this semester and last semester I have biology and English
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 4, 2012

I have a problem that seems to be happening at almost every school I thought about sending my child. Schools are more and more starting to look like prison. Bars, cameras, cops with guns or sticks, dogs, tire blowout chains, and parking bars. My son would have went to Memorial but I honestly couldn't send him to jail. I see that nearby small school Jones has an on duty guard and swipe badges for students to be let in doors. I can't abide by that either. I looked for and found the most open, free thinking, progressive school i could find. Perhaps it's this way because it doesn't have the funding Edmond has. Perhaps I'm wishing for a 1950's school that doesn't exist anymore. My son made A's at Will Rogers & Central. I just don't care for this level of 'control'. Anyway, Will Rogers was fine, Central was as well but I just couldn't tolerate the control, drug testing, guilty until proven innocent. sigh............
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2011

I student taught here in Vocal Music and Memorial is known state-wide as being one of the best high schools in the state for their music programs, including band and orchestra. I can't speak for the classes, but I can speak about the students I came into contact with everyday. They came from all walks of life, behaved appropriately, had great attitudes and a sincere desire to succeed. Granted, that was in choir, a class that they chose to take, but I can imagine it would carry over to their core curriculum classes.


Posted September 16, 2009

Memorial school is the best with the best teachers and students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2006

Most of the teachers are very involved in the learning process of my child. Most are wonderful! Principal, assistant principal very nice and helpful. Lots of skills offered and most teachers are excited about teaching and try hard to get to know the teens they teach. They only offer l photographer to take pictures, we need a choice on this. Lunches are good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2006

Im not a parent, I am a former student. Memorial was a great school. Lots of AP classes, highest average ACT score in the state, and lots of great sports. By far the best school in Edmond and the state.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 19, 2006

There is a wide variety of activities in sports and music. Teachers are good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2005

I have one daughter who graduated from Memorial and a son who is presently a junior. Opportunities abound at this school. There is something for everyone from academics to sports to performing arts. I must admit that I am a little biased because I teach at Memorial but as a parent I could not be more pleased about my own children's education here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2004

Great high school. 2 kids through there. Active participation by teachers and counsellors for kids to succeed. Lots of resources for academic, sports and the arts. Fantastic music, drama and performance program to enhance the sholastic life. Allows for concurrent college enrollment if the student works through the AP course offerings. Dynamic environment with new teachers and administrators moving through and being promoted. Remodelled buildings are up to date. #1 in the State in many categories. Highest average SAT scores. Minimal or no disruptive gang or bad elements to contend with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

extremely good music and drama department for a public school. 3 kids through there, the boys could participate in sports and our daughter was very involved in music and drama as were our niece and nephew.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 87% in 2013.

174 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
90%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 81% in 2013.

448 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

426 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
English II

The state average for English II was 91% in 2013.

423 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%
English III

The state average for English III was 96% in 2013.

424 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 89% in 2013.

324 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 81% in 2013.

395 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests End-of-Instruction (OCCT EOI) exams to test students in high school in several subjects. The OCCT EOI is a high school graduation requirement. The OCCT EOI exams are standards-based tests, which means they measure specific skills defined for each subject by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 54%
Black 9% 10%
Hispanic 7% 13%
Two or more races 7% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 17%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 25%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1000 East 15th
Edmond, OK 73013
Phone: (405) 340-2850

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Trinity School
Oklahoma City, OK


Heritage Hall
Oklahoma City, OK


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT