Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ida Freeman Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 484 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 2, 2014

Ida Freeman is underrated because it is one of the best schools in Edmond. The teachers and staff work very hard to make the learning experience an awesome one for the kids. They don't have as much support from the parent organizations as other schools but they do amazing things with what they have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2014

Ida Freeman is the worst school ever! My son is in kindergarten and isn't learning a thing! The faculty act like they're in highschool and pick and choose which parent and child to speak to everyday and they just act like they're better than everyone.. it's despicable.. and don't get me started on the teacher.. One page front and back homework once a week? Oh please, my 3 year old daughter is challenged more at headstart than my my son at this sorry excuse for a school. My son learned more in headstart alone than he has this year so far. I wouldn't send my worst enemy here! It's sad to know that home schooling has been thought of as an alternative.. pathetic!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2012

I have had several kids go through this school and I have never had any issues. Every single teacher seems to love what they do and my kids have enjoyed all of their various teachers. This is also the only school in Edmond that offers chess club which is supported by the teachers and parents not the school. When my last child is gone next year I am really going to miss the staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2011

I am a teacher at this school and an active member of the staff and school community. I will say that, although we may not have all of the resources, perfect test scores and parental involvemnet that we would like, we always strive for what's best for the children in our classrooms. My number one priority is to educate and encourage the lives of those around me! I do know, that as a staff, we are continuing our education as well, so that we can make Ida Freeman the best place to be. I'm not speaking for everyone but I do feel that the teachers need a voice and I am doing just that! I am happy to be a part of such a caring team of educators! And to the parents, thanks for trusting and sharing your children with us.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 3, 2011

My daughter has ben well taught this year in Kindergarten. Ida Freeman is one of the few in Edmond that provides full-day kindergarten, and our family has seen the benefit. My daughter loves school. The children in her class are well-behaved and her teacher is excellent. I can fully recommend Ida Freeman at least for Kindergarten.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2011

My daughter's 1st grade teacher has done an exceptional job this year. I would not have let my daughter stay at this school otherwise. Outdoor recess is seriously rough. I have seen full out ground and pound fights in the 1st grade and the "recess monitors" turning a blind eye. I believe in part because they are tired of trying to discipline some of these children. I am going to put my daughter in private school after this experience. The vice Principal has also not fulfilled our expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2011

As a Parent, I was appalled to hear from my child how her 2nd grade teacher, "Mrs. Crouser" treated a little boy in her class with disabilities in the beginning of the school year. Since this then I have learned from my daughter that the little boy has been removed from the class but also isn't in the school. My daughter told me that her teacher told the class, she forced him to leave. Is this the same Mrs. Crouser listed below as a 1st grade teacher? I will say though, that working with the secretaries, and the principals is like working with best friends, you can tell they all have the best interest if the students at heart, well except for 1 teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2010

I currently have a child attending Ida Freeman and have 2 older children that attended. My favorite principal was Mr. Evans, I do not like the current principal. My daughter had great difficulty with her 1st grade teacher, Mrs. Crouser, I would NOT recommend her to anyone. Having said the 2 negatives overall we have been very happy with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2007

My second grade child has attended Ida Freeman since kindergarten. My husband and I have been very happy with the school. It's faculty has always been helpful and friendly. I love that it's a smaller school, with a homey atmosphere. The principal is wonderful. She was very supportive of our requests to make my child's learning experience the best it could be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2007

I have been so relieved to find a 'home' in Ida Freeman. My children have blossomed since coming here. The support from administration and staff is outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2006

If you Child is having any difficulty, do not expect the Principal or a majority of the Teachers to help in any way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2006

I Really love this school, Teachers are great , Office staff very friendly and helpful. The teachers are really understanding to your child's needs ( First Grade Mrs.Crousers is wonderful). I would Highly recommend this school to anyone
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2006

I have two children that attended and attend this school. There is not a lot of extracurricular activities other than chess which is not school sponsored (the chess coach is great and that program is great!). I have not seen over the years much opportuntiy for parent involvement because of the lack of activities. My son still is attending the school and I hope there is impovement overall. -Parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2005

My child went to school at Ida Freeman for his Kindergarden year 2003-2004 and we were vere dissapointed w/the teachers and staff attitude and the new woman princaple who seemed very inexperinced. We put our son in another public school in the Edmond district the following year because we felt that our son was not getting a good education at Ida Freeman. Our thoughts on the school were correct because now that our son has changed shools he is now challanged more and learning more. If I ever had to put my son back in Ida Freeman I would pay for him to be put in private school before he was ever placed back in that school. I rate this school at a sad 4 on a scale from 1 to 10.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2003

My children attend this school and we love it! Mr. Evans is a great principal and he has helped us get our oldest into the right direction.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

53 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
79%

2009

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2012.

53 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
77%

2009

 
 
81%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2012.

47 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
57%

2009

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2012.

47 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
64%

2009

 
 
96%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

43 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
85%

2009

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2012.

42 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
88%

2009

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 91% in 2012.

42 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
90%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 77% in 2012.

42 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

41 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 54%
Black 14% 10%
Hispanic 9% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 18%
Asian 3% 2%
Two or more races 2% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 57%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

501 West Hurd
Edmond, OK 73003
Phone: (405) 340-2965

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT