Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 35 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Orvis Risner Elementary School 1

Posted February 17, 2016
- a parent
Inconsistent leadership, inconsistent rules, inconsistent discipline, combined with the fact, that in my experience.I had my kids moved to this school about 4 months and my older kid was on 3rd grade. In those 4 months he got into fights and it wasn't he faults. because he stand up for the bullies and got suspended the first times was one day and the second times two day. From his previous school never have any problems at all. but at this school I feel like they are not try to prevent the bullies from happening and if you stand up against the bullies by response with the self defense then you are wrong. Even know those kids put their hands on my kid first and my kid still got suspended, no wonder why in 5 years they've replaced 4 leaders.

Orvis Risner Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted July 06, 2015
- a parent
I do actually feel this school just might excel at developing persistence, grit and determination in it's students, although, I feel guidance in an appropriate direction is severely lacking. With the leadership disorganization a student will quickly learn nobody is on their side and if they want help they must learn to help themselves by whatever means capable. Sadly, this would primarily apply to negative student behavior in an effort to get what they want in an educational environment lacking structure and supervision. On the other hand, if you have a child who is unaffected by difficult peers, disorganized leadership, and the proper examples are being set at home I do believe such a child will gain superior experience in persistence, grit, and determination compared to most peers.

Orvis Risner Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted July 06, 2015
- a parent
Absolutely not. Inconsistent leadership, inconsistent rules, inconsistent discipline, combined with the fact, that in my experience, an adult is very rarely an eye wittiness of issues regarding disrespect. I believe the opposite is encouraged due to the lying of students in an effort to avoid getting in trouble or defend their friends.

Orvis Risner Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted July 06, 2015
- a parent
Unstable leadership with a revolving door for principals and teachers alike. If I may be frank here, the outcome of student disciplinary problems is clearly biased. If the student your child has a problem with is on an IEP for behavior problems due to a disability. Your child will be receive some sort of discipline which does not appear to follow increasing steps of severity, whereas, the other student will simply be removed from the class setting back to a small class setting where an entirely different set of disciplinary standards are allowed. When you are called in to speak with the school regarding the issue the story is generally one of the students started it and the other reacted incorrectly but which one did what exactly is usually unknown (how convenient). In my experience, arguments, fights, injuries, bullying, etc. are rarely witnessed by an adult and this creates a huge flaw in fostering honesty, integrity, and fairness regarding students, in my opinion.

Orvis Risner Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted June 07, 2015
- a parent
I believe this school is so distracted by their efforts to maintain classroom control and still manage to teach students effectively that matter in which disciplinary issues are handled are done so in such a rushed manner that compassion, caring and empathy slip through their grasp entirely. However, I also am of the belief that all aspects of these questions I am asking begin with the proper example being set at home.

Orvis Risner Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted June 07, 2015
- a parent
Just as in every school there are great teachers, as well as, those who are not so great. I do not believe it would be fair to lump them into one group so as a whole I would say "somewhat effective". Although, in my experience alone I would say "very ineffective".

Orvis Risner Elementary School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted June 07, 2015
- a parent
This school overall does not give homework at all unless a parent insists and is persistent enough to physically appear to pick up the requested homework. However, there are a number of older, highly experienced teachers who did give homework but not a single one of them that I am aware of remained teaching at Orvis as of last year.

Orvis Risner Elementary School 2

Posted June 07, 2015
- a parent
We have had a total of seven years experience, having children at Orvis Risner. During our time here we have seen four principals and countless teachers come and go, most for good reason but sadly also many of their most experienced, dedicated, and successful teachers have chosen to depart from Orvis Risner. New programs have come and go and some have reappeared under various names. While the written school policies remain consistent this is not generally apparent in regards to the actions taken by school officials from a parent's perspective. I believe this inconsistency is due to the high turnover rate of principals and teachers, consistency requires stable leadership. There is a small group of parents who are extremely involved in the PTA and their dedication is priceless. However, as a parent who once wanted to become extremely involved in the PTA at Orvis I must admit this parent group is run as an exclusive club and is difficult to earn the respect of the other moms. In their defense I am certain this fact is due to the overwhelming abundance of parents who are less than vigilante when it comes to their children. There are a great number of students at Orvis who have little respect for adults, authority, and fellow students. If your child is a leader and not easily swayed by the other students or distracted by lacking classroom control or rules that remain consistent year after year then your child will do just fine attending Orvis. One of our children excelled wonderfully every year but our other child has also had many new or inexperienced teachers, as well as, a group of unruly students who are leaders that consistently keep the school, parents, and their peers on their toes. The past five years this school has been a nightmare for my family.

Orvis Risner Elementary School 2

Posted April 10, 2014
- a parent
We have had a total of six years experience as two of my boys progress through school. My oldest never had a single problem, got along well with students and teachers, made fantastic grades and friends. However, my youngest has had a nightmare experience for 3 out of the 4 years he has attended Orvis. Last year he tested on grade level, behaved in class, and there were zero problems. Every other year he has had a teacher either new to teaching, new to the district, or little experience with children in general. Orvis Risner is going on the fourth principal in five years. Parent/Teacher communication is seriously lacking and from my perspective teachers are afraid to discipline students for fear it may negatively impact their reputation as a good teacher. DICIPLINE is an enormous issue at this school. Furthermore, every year except that perfect 2nd grade year my student has complained about other students being loud, out of their seats, and the teacher being too busy to answer questions. Teachers must have control of their classroom first and foremost and I am in the process of transferring my child.

Orvis Risner Elementary School 5

Posted November 22, 2013
- a parent
This is an amazing school. The staff is wonderful and so focused on helping kids achieve.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Orvis Risner Elementary School
2801 South Rankin Street, Edmond, OK  73013
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. (405) 340-2984
Last modified Orvis Risner Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top