Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
26 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 42 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sunset Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 11, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Holland is wonderful and truly helps develop her students. She is considerate and patient and builds individual relationships with her students as well. My son loves her and I know will continue to run and give her hugs as he gets older and continues attending this school.

Sunset Elementary School 5

Posted May 11, 2016
- a parent
My son began attending Sunset for Kindergarten this past fall and has done wonderfully. He loves his teacher and his classmates and loves going to school in general. The principal and vice-principal are very involved and all the kids loves them. I was a little wary due to the previous bad reviews but they are from years ago and the school seems to be getting better and better. We are very happy there!

Sunset Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted February 29, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Cook is amazing. To see the way she interacts with the students and faculty you can tell she is great at what she does. Activities in the classroom always go smoothly.

Sunset Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted February 29, 2016
- a parent
His teacher this year is the Teacher of the Year. She is amazing with the kids and has great help in her assistants. She communicates well with the parents and from the times I have been present in the classroom during the lessons she truly deserves the title of Teacher of the Year.

Sunset Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted February 29, 2016
- a parent
Weekly homework and a monthly special assignment seem to be the perfect amount for pre-k. Its a simple 1 page homework that my son can now complete without any explanation. He knows on Monday when we get home the first thing he does is his homework and he now starts without any prompting. On the monthly special assignments he is getting more creative each time.

Sunset Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted February 29, 2016
- a parent
Having a consistent teaching style and schedule helps young students develop these skills. Knowing that we are going to do homework on Monday nights, the first thing my son wants to do is finish his homework so he can do something fun. He asks questions about his homework that make me feel like he truly understands what he is learning.

Sunset Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted February 29, 2016
- a parent
All children are treated equally and so the students are expected to treat each other the same. There are obvious friendships but from the times I have been in the classroom there is never anyone that feels left out.

Sunset Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted February 29, 2016
- a parent
I believe that the parental and family influence plays a larger part of developing these Pre-K is really early to develop those skills but I know my son has built new friendships and relationships in his first year. He has donated books to his classroom to read and has asked me to send extra money in for the days when they have a special treat and get to buy snacks.

Sunset Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted February 29, 2016
- a parent
The school is very consistent in their teaching. All students are treated fairly and encouraged to know and follow the school and class missions.

Sunset Elementary School 5

Posted February 29, 2016
- a parent
My son is a pre-k student at Sunset for the 2015-2016 school year. He loves his teacher and looks forward to going to school every day. He knows what is expected of him and does his weekly homework without complaint and even looks forward to the special projects that comes home. He is excited to do the nightly reading and sometimes even adds an extra book. The faculty and staff at the school are great and I know my son is in good hands every day. I am a very involved parent and wish more parents would get involved with their students but overall our first year at Sunset has been amazing.

Nearby schools

Sunset Elementary School
400 West 8th Street, Edmond, OK  73003
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. (405) 340-2990
Last modified Sunset Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top