Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Charles Haskell Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted July 19, 2016
- a parent
I would say about 1/4 or more are excellent, and just a handful are terrible.

Charles Haskell Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted July 19, 2016
- a parent
The homework amount varies from teacher to teacher, but most of the teachers have a good reason for the amount they give. We've had one teacher who gave random amounts, but she was a new teacher.

Charles Haskell Elementary School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted July 19, 2016
- a parent
My children have never, ever been complimented for their determination, but they've got plenty of it.

Charles Haskell Elementary School 4

Posted July 19, 2016
- a parent
The school is getting worse every year, and from what I can tell it is based on demographics. More and more of the surrounding neighborhoods are letting in Section 8 people. CH still seems to be well run; the principal not my favorite but she knows what she is doing and works hard. Most of the classroom teachers are competent or better, and the "specials" teachers are good. The school is a B minus now, and it is never going to be an A again. You can hire a Harvard educated poofer to run the school, and it won't change the children coming in the front door. If my children were starting over in kindergarten, I wouldn't start them out at CH.

Charles Haskell Elementary School 2

Posted May 05, 2015
- a parent
There is so much wrong, it takes more than 1200 characters, but i will start with a few. The new principal has run this school to the ground. What once was a top 3 elementary school is now a consistant C. There was a time when you couldnt transfer in, now there are at least 4 of us trying to get our kids OUT! So sad to see what the school has gone too. Everything fun is gone and the safety of the children is now in question. If the transfer doesnt go thru, I will consider homeschooling next year.

Charles Haskell Elementary School 5

Posted December 17, 2014
- a parent
Mrs.Hamilton is 1 of the best principals ever, she always has a smile on her face!! My kids went to Mid-Del schools and we were heart broken when she left to go somewhere else. My daughter started Going to Edmond 2 weeks ago and I am so excited to know that Mrs.Hamilton is here!!!

Charles Haskell Elementary School 5

Posted August 12, 2012
- a parent
We love Charles Haskell! Great teachers and great parent involvement! This is our 4th year at Haskell and have been very happy overall.

Charles Haskell Elementary School 2

Posted April 20, 2012
- a parent
The school is very clean and has a good feeling. I think the principal is great and they have good teachers. However, they lack some basic grammar skills and have actually "corrected" my daughter when in actuality, the teacher was incorrect. This happened in 1st grade as well as Kindergarten-- so pretty basic stuff. In addition, it is a very large school. It is difficult for the child to get individualized attention. For some children that may be ok, but for others it can be detrimental. Charles Haskell has been extremely rough on my daughter's self esteem. She feels her teacher's do not like her.

Charles Haskell Elementary School 5

Posted September 04, 2009
- a parent
Having just moved here from Canada less than a year ago and never having any prior experiences with my children in a public school, I am very pleased with my and my children's experience at Haskell thus far. There is alot of parental involvement and volunteer opportunities. The school though older, is clean and bright. The teachers seem caring and competant. If ever unsure about anything the front office staff are always friendly and helpful.

Charles Haskell Elementary School 5

Posted April 03, 2009
- a parent
This year there a new principal started. She is doing a great job. She is very hands on with the students and is very 'present' at the school. I think she is much better than the previous principal in many ways. I have not had a conflict or anything where I really saw her in action, but in the day to day running of the school, things are good. The faculty really care about the students, the school is amazingly clean and well-maintained (thanks David!), and the students are generally very well-behaved. I will have a fifth grader next year who has been there since kindergarten. My daughter will be in first grade. We moved to another district school's area, but I hoping that my kids will get to stay at CH. It is a great place for kids and parents.

Nearby schools

Charles Haskell Elementary School
1701 Northwest 150th Street, Edmond, OK  73013
(405) 340-2945
Last modified Charles Haskell Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top