Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Elgin High School

Public | 9-12 | 608 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 31, 2014

I graduated last year (2013) and in my experience of this school it is very mediocre. I've been to 4 different schools and I attended Elgin the longest. If education is what you're after you won't find it here. You will find a great social environment, if you can in a high school that is. As long as you don't mind a low education high sports and socialization level school this is a place for you


Posted December 2, 2013

The school itself isn't very bad, however many of the teachers are very out of touch on proper methods to inform students what to do and seem to be more focused on assigning them things in order to pass, and less so in order to teach them and help them understand. There are definitely some better teachers, but most seem to be very poor. There are not very many opportunities for students with advanced capabilities to enroll in classes ahead of others. Teachers seem to be either unsure of what to do for problem students and tend to apprehend even innocent ones. The community is close together and teachers are more than not friends with the students, but this creates an aura of biasity as many students receive more help and support than others. Being a foreign student entering here, i was severely disappointed with the help i received calculating my credits, i was enrolled in classes which would not help me and frustrated with poor opportunities to change what was going on. The staff seems to be too casual to be a professional school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 6, 2013

Having gone to Elgin through middleschool and to my sophmore year of high school, it has seemed to me the education you get is very high class. Keep you busy, engaged, adn overall a wonderful learning experience. My time there, however marked by my predjudices it may be, is that is a bit of a tense atomosphere, everyone is a bit more open for better or for worse, so there will be good students and jerks. Overall, a great learning experience if very tense sometimes due to other students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 11, 2013

Elgin high school. I would rate math dept low and coaches run school by bulling students and yes I am reporting to superintendent. I use to rate it very high about 6 years ago but no longer can I recommend this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2013

I rated the Elgin Middle School very low and was pleasantly surprised when we had a child in the Elgin High School. It is completely different. The teachers are engaged with their students, the education is very strong, the various projects and events for the kids keep them busy in a good way. There is age appropriate oversight provided for the students. If you had a negative experience with the Middle School but are now looking at High School options, this is a very good choice that worked well for my family. There is still no PTA available or allowed in this district for all grades - K-12.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2012

EPS has been a wonderful experience for my three children. I have two in the elementary school and one in the HS. Being military and transfering from out of state, we were welcomed, informed and immediately part of a community. To date, I have enjoyed each of my children's teachers. As a teacher, parent and mother of two with IEP's and one with a 504 plan, I've found all provisions for my children's schooling and needs completely met and fulfilled. I have never had a problem with communication; a newsletter comes home each monday with both of the elementary school children and I email the HS if there is ever any questions on assignments or grades.The HS's honors programs are challenging and I'm impressed to see so many of the upper classmen taking additional classes at the local college.I actually did a district transfer to get my children into this school district. If you ever get a chance... attend the weekly Monday morning Rise and Shine Presentation in the Lower Elementary. I've never seen so much positive reinforcement and positive energy, anywhere! The children leave feeling pumped, positive and successful to for starting their week!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2012

I agree with an earlier comment about the H.S. feeling "clickish." My kids enjoy the school ok, but the website is RARELY updated (6 months or more behind). You have to be very proactive to get updated school information. It has been very frustrating for my wife and I.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2012

They have a new principal, I hope is good and really cares abut children and not politics like the other one. Now they just need to get rid of the superintendant. He is out of touch and has been there too long.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2008

Elgin schools is a safe, wonderful learning environment for all ages. As a parent and a teacher in another district, I am confident that my children are receiving a well rounded education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2008

I recently moved from Elgin Public Schools to another state. If you are moving into this school district you may want to view the curriculum. Just because they do well in standardized testing at the state level you may want to look at actual classes. If your student is in athletics, the practices are during the school day, which takes away from electives that a student can take. The class counts as a PE but because it is not a graded class will not transfer with the student. My sons math test were on a computer not a written test at a desk. The school system is very cliquish and tough to fit in...especially in the athletics. The elementary is extremely kid and parent friendly. The only issue is with the PreK which is out in BFE. If you are interested in Elgin you may want to look at
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2007

Elgin does have a good curriculum program, and many of the teachers are very helpful to the students. However, the administration of the school could not be more arrogant. They have absolutely no idea how to deal with the students, whether they are a problem student or not. Students are often undeserving of punishment, and when they do something that calls for discipline, the discipline they recieve is far harsher than it should be. It's a good place for students to learn, but other than that, it's not really a good place for them to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2007

I moved my children to Elgin Public Schools 3 years ago. I did my homework on the curriculum, staff, and general atmosphere of Elgin to make this big decision. I can honestly say I have no regrets with this decision. My teenager complained that the subjects were harder here, but I told him that he would have to work harder. Since 3 years ago his academic progress has really improved! Since my son is no 'A' student this progress was really exciting. My daughter has done very well too. The teachers know all the kids since the classroom ratio is so low, and they really get involved with the students. The extra curricular activities are growing all the time too. This school system has truly been a blessing to my family. Hope this helps someone make an informed decision if you are moving to the Lawton/Ft. Sill area in Oklahoma.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2004

This is a great school. Most of the teachers are very active and care a great deal about their students. There are the few instances when things could be better, but that is no different from any other school in the nation.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 9, 2003

This is one of the best in schools in Southwest Oklahoma area for the kids to attend. The teachers care about not only the job they do but the students also! I support the school 100%!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 87% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
85%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 81% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
74%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
79%
English II

The state average for English II was 91% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
90%
English III

The state average for English III was 96% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
88%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 89% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
84%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 81% in 2013.

146 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests End-of-Instruction (OCCT EOI) exams to test students in high school in several subjects. The OCCT EOI is a high school graduation requirement. The OCCT EOI exams are standards-based tests, which means they measure specific skills defined for each subject by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 59%
Native American 13% 16%
Hispanic 8% 14%
Black 4% 9%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Source: State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 133%N/A61%
Special education 29%N/A15%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

520 K Street
Elgin, OK 73538
Website: Click here
Phone: (580) 492-3670

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT