Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dewitt Waller Ms

Public | 6-8 | 612 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 1, 2011

Some of the teachers are Excellent, but the few that are not make it very difficult. For example, the math teacher wants 5 assignments done by the end of the week, each after the other is completed to continue to the next.. But the thing is she wont take them up in class, after class she is "too busy". She doesn't understand that some students have activities before school. Had to call her at home to get her to take my child's assignment several times ! OH, but she has them file papers for her in class. Principle is no help getting a child out of a situation like this. My child was in advanced math before taking her class and then averaged a C !! Thats OK, because this year at a different school she is back in advanced making an A. Conduct and language of students should not be ignored, and it is.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 24, 2011

This school is the best JHS I've ever attended!! The teachers here listen to their students and are very nice to them. The work is hard and prepares you for high school. :) I was an eight grader in 2010-2011. There are lots of electives to choose from and please tell your kid to not enroll in Graphics Design. The teacher is perverted. lol He touches girls and pinches them when he talks to them. >< Best teachers: Mrs. Bowles, Mrs. Weber, Mrs. Herell, Mr. Herell, Mrs. Miller


Posted January 23, 2011

If others are going to post a comment about the school, then they need to learn how to spell! I cannot take a misspelled review seriously.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2009

I have two kids whom have went to Waller and they both really enjoyed being there and also my husband and brother in law also went there and they both stated it was a good school. It's not all the teachers fault, remember parents teach their childern how to act in school so you are the first teachers they have. So to have a better school and better community we must teach our children how to respect us, themselves and others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

Waller Is Not A good school, at all. The teachers are rude to the kids and do not listen to what they have to say. They pick favorites, and if you're not it, then They don't like you at all. Waller is the worst school, never inroll your child there
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2009

It has many extra-curricular activites as well as classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

I have had four kids at Waller and I have not had I of my kids who was happy their. The teachers are rude and are not able to teach because they treat the kids badly. I will say they deal with a few kid who have problems, but they need to have a better staff for the kids with needs. I rate this school a zero...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

The teachers at this school are childish, and unable to keep their class room in control with out making some child feel worthless.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

I have a daughter in 6th grade very shy - atleast i thought so . She felt like she was welcomed the first day - She has lots of buds - It is truly one of the best schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

146 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

145 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 60% in 2013.

146 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 77% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 65% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 59%
Hispanic 11% 14%
Black 6% 9%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 2%
Native American 4% 16%
Source: State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 155%N/A61%
Special education 217%N/A15%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Adam Beauchamp
Gender
  • Coed

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2604 West Randolph Avenue
Enid, OK 73703
Phone: (580) 366-7900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT