Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jones Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 565 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 10, 2013

Jones is a great town. Jones school district is wonderful. The staff is all about the students and their safety. I love the principal for the elementary. Cindy Harrison has been there for many years, she knows the name of every student that walks through the door, and the kids love her! Teachers are awesome. I have no complaints. Go Longhorns!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2013

It seems like the older the kids get, the less the teachers teach. They are only worried about shuffling kids through regardless of how well they understand the material.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2013

This school is at the top of my list. It is a smaller school so they are able to get one on one and the teachers are very involved with the children on a independent level. The homework is just right and the topics focused on are right for the type of age group presented to. This is America and so the main language that should be focused on is English, very few Americans even know how to speak this right much less a second language. If a person is concerned with learning a second language then they should take it upon their selves to find the education out side of the school or wait until a higher education like middle school, high school (where it is offered), or college. As far as the helpfulness the old rule applies treat others how you want to be treated. They have always been more then helpful with me. I find that you usually are granted with helpfulness from people when you yourself are helpful. This remains true for any where you go school or other wise.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2012

Let me start off by saying, I now know why its rating is 4 out of 10. I give it less. Staff is not helpful at all. Teaching methods are below standard and awkward. No foreign language class. My child has been studying Spanish since Kindergarten. That stopped here. The only Spanish I have seen is a word or two in reading assignments. Science and History assignments are very weak also. Math and Reading seems to be the only subjects they are concerned about. I guess this makes sense, since they are below OCCT standards. My child will not be returning here next year. If you are considering sending your child here, think long and hard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2011

children have enough preassure and work at school. I feel that the amount of home work sent is just fine. two hours of additional homework is too much. spend some quality time with your child by reading for fun, or having family game night. lots of learning is still going on during these activities. don't stress your children out...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2010

Very little home work! Kids are not pushed very hard. I keep asking for more home work, but we don't get it. The kid's home work takes them about 30 minutes to do each night. Luckily my wife and I have our kids work an extra 2 hours a night on school type subjects. In today's world, babying the kids in terms of lack of home work is not doing them or any one else any favors.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2010

Wonderful staff of educators. Very envolved with students.


Posted March 3, 2009

So far, we have found the 3rd & 4th grade teachers to absolutely WONDERFUL ! ! ! The Assistant Principal does a MAGNIFICENT job. He actually does the job of the Principal but does not get the pay nor the recognition. My overall experience with the Principal is that she's just there for the paycheck. She doesn't appear to be involved with the kids much. She shows considerable favoritism toward teachers. Not what I would call a Professional. But with all that said, we really love the town, the people, the school spirit & the parent involvement. Oh, yeah, the Middle School Principal is the best I've ever met in my life. She knows each student, the student's parents, the student's assets & their liabilities & knows how to use those to her advantage to make positive behavioral & / or academic changes. SHE'S GREAT !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2008

Wonderful school very close and cares for each other. Wonderful teacher's!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2008

This is a very caring school with great teachers and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

I think Jones is a excellent school. This is my children's second year at Jones and the teachers are excellent. They really care about the well being of the students and their academic performance. I would definitely recommend Jones schools to anyone. They have plenty of after school activities and a tutoring program that really helps students get their work completed without bringing so much homework home. The parents at Jones are very involved and the school spirit at Jones is like I've never seen. I love Jones schools and when we move in the near future, we will make a point to stay in the Jones school district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2004

My daughter is in the trastional class. The teacher and the program are great! The principal is also a very nice and understanding lady. I think it it is an all around great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

The principal is always there when you need her and will always call back soon. The teachers have been rough on my daughter and that was hard. This year she has two great teachers! Overall it is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
84%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 77% in 2012.

63 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 66% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 59%
Hispanic 8% 14%
Native American 7% 16%
Black 5% 9%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Source: State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Special education 110%N/A15%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 258%N/A61%
Source: 1 State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 2:55 pm
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Cindy Harrison
Fax number
  • (405) 399-2897

Programs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

More from this school
  • At Jones Elementary, students have fun while learning. The staff and administration constantly motivate the students through various activities throughout the school year. The principal has been known to sumo wrestle, kiss a pig, be duct taped to the wall and even eat a fried worm...just to get her students to read!
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13145 Montana
Jones, OK 73049
Phone: (405) 399-9118

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT