Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Mary's Catholic School

Private | PK-8 | 160 students

We are best known for academic excellence centered on the Person of Jesus.
 
 

 
 

Living in Lawton

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $95,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $580.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

My son has attended St. Mary s kindergarten class for the past school year, and we have been very impressed with the academic strides he has accomplished. The teacher challenges her class, and they have risen to her standards. We love the small class sizes and the one-on-one attention they allow. The school offers twice weekly physical education, library, and art classes, as well as once-per-week Spanish and technology classes. My son LOVES these specialty classes, and all of the specialty teachers are engaging and fun. Students attend Mass once per week, learning the Catholic prayers and blessings in class. The administration is very supportive, and my husband and I have been very thankful as they have gone above and beyond our expectations during an ongoing health issue with our son. The school leaders are very good at communicating with the parents through email and phone messages, and I like that parents are encouraged to walk their children into the school and volunteer regularly, therefore encouraging parental interaction with each other and the staff. Also, with locked doors and a video security system, I feel like my son is as safe. This is a wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2012

I have read some comments here and I can give my word that St. Mary's PreK and Kinder are constantly challenged with learning experiences including moving to different classrooms and participating in weekly mass. The mass is for the community but the emphasis is in teaching the children how to participate including singing, it sound like angels when they do. They all have Spanish, Technology, Art and Physical Education enrichment classes. They are not sitting all day. They do have 2-3 times of recess during the day including quiet time or short nap. They also participate in all school activities and do plenty of hands on activities. As a parent I have experienced being a volunteer there and I have seen their routine more than twice a week.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2012

I absolutely would recommend St. Marys, and I do quite often. I have nothing but praise for the staff and parents of this school. There is always great support and involvement. It is a welcoming, close-knit community. Small, but resourceful. My child has been attending since we moved here in 2009 and is now part of the high school program. I am thankful everyday for the hard work that led to the high school option once again at St. Marys. It's an unrivaled education and prepares each student for success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2012

Very dedicated teaching staff which enjoys great student/teacher ratios in all grades. Has a surprising amount of technology resources for a smaller school. Lots of parent involvment and support.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2012

Great School! We are Military and we love this school. Excellent academic program and wonderful teaching staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2011

St. Mary's has a small student to teacher ratio. Our experience was with the pre-K and Kindergarten programs. The children spent all day sitting, with only one 15 minute recess. We have since moved to another state, and have found to our dismay that our child is severely behind in reading. The math curriculum was good, as was science and social studies. Homework took up too much of our family time. St. Mary's needs more tactile and hands-on instruction as well as collaborative projects and less worksheets and rote memorization. The school's weekly 'kids' mass was just a regular mass, with the sermon worded on an adult level, and the kids were not even allowed to take communion. It seemed more like a church deterrent than an opportunity for the kids to worship God. When we left St. Mary's and Oklahoma, our child didn't like school and hated church. Since arriving in Washington state, she likes school again and loves attending church. We have seen her go back to the God-loving little girl that we know and love. If you are military, I would suggest the school on post. We heard nothing but good things about it. We would not enroll our kids at St. Mary's again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2009

I am so impressed with St. Marys. The teachers are very caring and they challenge the children to do their very best. I am especially grateful for the leadership from the new principal. He has a wide background of knowledge and leadership. He has made some very positive changes in the school, both from a physical standpoint and he has brought a warm atmosphere through his gentle manner. Mr. Dulcamara is a principal with vision for the future. He is very focused on bringing state of the art technology to St. Marys. This school is the best alternative to public school. The teachers are certified, and the school is accredited.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2009

This is my second year teaching at St. Mary's. As a new teacher, the other staff members have given me a great deal of support and guidance. I look forward to coming to work every day. I have a great group of students to work with, in a Christian atmosphere. Our new principal and secretary are joys to work with, and take the security of the school and our students very seriously. I would recommend St. Mary's to anyone.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 13, 2009

I have been a parent at St. Mary's for over 10 years. My children have always received an excellent education in areas of live educational, emotional, and spiritual. Since I have been associated with have had three principals. Our current principal in my opinion is doing an excellent job. He only wants what is best for our students and sometimes change is not only necessary, but on opportunity. I suggest that anyone who is interested in private education in Lawton should stop by St. Mary's and see not only the only state certified school, but the best school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2009

This school year begins the fifth year my famy has been involved with St. Mary's. School began only a few days ago and the new teachers are as fantastic as the returning staff. The leadership that former principal John Mizelle showed during his five years there was amazing. He was a dedicated leader with his heart always focused on the children. The new leadership at St. Mary's has implemented many changes already. The family atmosphere has been challenged. Any new parent should seek to be welcomed by other families rather than the Administration. They are now all business. It's still the beet school Lawton has to offer, but it was better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2009

I have two grandsons who attend St. Marys and as a grandparent I couldn't be more pleased. It is not only a school that excels in academics (the only accredited private school in Lawton) but its focus of building character and values in each child to become quality people who care about others is to be especially valued. Mr. Mizelle the departing principal is to be commended for the incredible leadership he has given and for his firm but always fair treatment of the students. St. Marys is a better school because of his stewardship. I totally recomend St. Marys for your child. All faiths are respected.


Posted October 21, 2008

hey yall. i attended St Mary's 2nd through 8th and i miss it so much...it wuz a great school academic wise and i loved the religion advantages we had there.now im in highschool, i graduated 8th grade last year.the teachers are amazing and the principal is also =D the students are good.- God Bless,,, Sarah Skiles<3
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 20, 2007

My children attended St. Mary's for more than four years. They received an excellent education. The teachers are very caring and and devoted to their children. Most class sizes are 9-15 students. Excellent school. The only accredited private school in Lawton.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2007

My boys started attending St. Mary's Catholic School in January 2006. Scholastically, they had a lot of catching up to do, but we worked hard to get them where they needed to be. My oldest had been through some tough times in public school, but he had a very special teacher at St. Mary's who took him under her wing and helped him build up his self-confidence. For that, I will never be able to thank her enough! The teachers at St. Mary's work hard to challenge the students and keep them interested in learning. All of the children participate in art class, Spanish, computer class, library, PE, and religion. They also attend mass once a week, whether they are Catholic or not(We are not Catholic, but going to a Catholic school has not presented any problems). St. Mary's is the best school you could ask for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2007

St.Mary's is the best education you can get for your children in the Lawton/Fort Sill community. They treat all children as if they were gifted and talented, yet no one is left behind. One of area of improvement is with Middle School 'social and sports' Just recently St.Mary's has developed a soccer team for Middle School and they are very successful. St. Mary's is working to have a Middle School basketball team- this summer their are plans to redo the gym to meet the needs of more Middle School activities. For special needs children, St. Mary's does have a speech teacher that works with students.Parents are very involved. Even working parents seem to make it to events.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 57%
Hispanic 13% 10%
Two or more races 13% N/A
Asian 4% N/A
Black 4% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 23%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Tagalog
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • #2 in state for First in Math (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Clubs
  • Cooking club
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:20 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 4:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Paolo Dulcamara, MSEL, M.Div., S.T.B.
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (580) 355-4336

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Honors track
  • Virtual school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Broadcasting

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog
Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Archery
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Archery
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Cooking club
  • Gardening
  • Girl scouts
  • Student council/government
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • For the first time in nearly a half century, St. Mary's again has High School. In cooperation with CSK12, St. Mary's is proud to offer a fully accredited Catholic virtual High School experience in our school that includes on-site supervisory teacher, tutoring help, extra-curricular activities and a Christian Service Program.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$3000 - $4000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

611 SW A Ave
Lawton, OK 73501
Website: Click here
Phone: (580) 355-5288

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT