Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Union Baptist Christian Academy

Private | PK-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Lawton

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $95,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $580.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 7, 2010

I am a former student of UBCA and I also hated the school. Th eteachers were mean and the school lacked money so I think that is why the food was so gross. The building was old at first and it was not organized. Other than that I learned African-American history and great songs.


Posted November 5, 2007

When my daughter was 4, I enrolled her at Union Baptist because this was the only school at the time that had a full time Pre-K program. During her attendace, she learned to write her name, read over 200 sight words.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2007

Before Union Baptist Christian School of Lawton, my son had attended other private Christian based schools. His reading and math skills were not reflective of such, until our experience with the staff of Union Baptist. My child had improved 2 reading levels in his first two months of attendance. I strongly recommend this school to every military family in the Lawton/FT. Sill area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2006

Personally, I think this school is awful. I, myself attended this school. I didn't see what was so horrible about the school when I attended. But, now I do. The food was disgusting. The administrators were mean and rude most of the time. Especially the teachers. But this is just my opinion. Also, good music, art, and physical education programs are definitely out of the question. All around the school is horrible.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 16, 2006

We have been with UBCA for six years. I use the term 'we' because this school is very family oriented. My daughter has been attending UBCA since the age of four and I have been a very active parent along with the many other very active parents for the same amount of time and have enjoyed every minute of it. I am very satisfied with the level of intelligence, respect, courtesy, and education that my child has acquired while attending UBCA. There is no other place that I would rather be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2005

I think this is the best school in Lawton. If it had a high school curriculum my son would still be there. I have seen kindergardeners reading books 3-6 months after starting school at Union Baptist. They have a strong math curriculum. The teachers and administration are former Lawton public school teachers, with a love for teaching and for the students. The atmosphere reminds me of my days as a young student at Dunbar Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2005

this is the best elementry school there is i have 2 daughters that have been going there for 4 years and they are honor roll students. The teachers are the best they get a lot of one on one time from the teachers and they are also encouraged to go to college. they help them academically and emotionally for the public schools to be out by there seves. my kids have improved alot in their work from the teachers. the teachers do care alot about their students.i wouldnt take my kids anywhere else but here. i give this school a perfect score on teaching. the teachers are the best in this city never seen any teachers care as much as they do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2005

I truly can say that this is a bad example of a Christian school. I have never met an administration so rude, unprofessional, and verbally abusive in all my days. I saw the signs in the beginning and I ignored them. I would not recomend this school to no one except those who have problem children. This school is lacking a good physical education program, art program, and computer lab. I have personally witness the administrator gossip about other parents. Academically, because of the wonderful teachers, their work is outstanding, I rate them an A plus, that is if you can endure the administration's attitudes. Several parents have left because of this problem and also teachers, good ones. This is my children last year and I refuse to look back, I will try every private school in Lawton before I even think of returning.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1531 S Charles W Whitlow St
Lawton, OK 73501
Phone: (580) 355-0764

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT