Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

As an employee of Crosby Park Elementary I believe this is one of the best learning environments that Lawton Public School has to offer. This is my 29th year working for LPS and it's actually my 7th school. I am constantly amazed by this group of people being led by Ms Moore, our principal. This is certainly a great place for children to receive an education. The staff hits the ground running each and every day making sure "NO Student IS LEFT BEHIND." They are constantly working together to make this school one of the BEST in Lawton, Oklahoma. Crosby Park Elementary is a GREAT place to be a kid.
January 24, 2016

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
29 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (7 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (7 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (7 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (7 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (7 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (7 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 85 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Crosby Park Elementary School 5

Posted February 02, 2016
- a community member
The teachers, counselor, support staff, and principal all work together to make sure students are successful academically, as well as socially. They show their longhorn spirit! Crosby Park is a school that gets involved with their community.

Crosby Park Elementary School 5

Posted January 25, 2016
- a community member
The staff at Crosby Park have taken their slogan "Crosby Strong" to heart in everything they do. In August 2014, Ms. Resa Harvick, the principal at Crosby Park for 11 years, passed away suddenly. It was such a difficult loss for the staff, students, alumni and as well as for the Lawton Public Schools family. The new principal, Mrs. Moore, was a friend of Ms. Harvick ' s and helped the teachers, students and families deal with the loss of their friend, mentor and leader. Although, Mrs. Moore and Ms. Harvick have very different backgrounds and experiences, it has been a wonderful transition. Change is difficult and this was such a difficult change for everyone involved. Throughout last school year and the current year, Mrs. Moore and the staff continue to honor Ms. Harvick ' s memory and strive to keep academic excellence at the core of their activities. Crosby Park has truly stayed Crosby Strong and rises to the occasion when it comes to serving the students and families of their community. Crosby Park continues to receive great test scores (even though school is so much more than just a stupid test!) and they have received Great Expectations Model School for 4 years. They were selected this year to pilot the Project Lead the Way ' s LAUNCH program which is part of the STEM initiative. Although, the school does have a very high free and reduced lunch population of students (68% of the Crosby Park students qualify for free and reduced lunch) it is not a Title 1 school. This means they must do more without the tremendous resources that identified Title 1 schools have. There have always been teachers who volunteer to tutor and work with their students to get them where they need to be. However, this year, 3 of the intermediate grade teachers took on the responsibility of creating an "Early Birds" math program that is offered free of charge for students who would like to participate. Once again, they show how much they care about their students! There is also a large population of special education students at Crosby Park. It is uplifting to see how hard the special education teachers work to help their students succeed. They work so closely with the regular education teachers to ensure that all students are provided equal opportunities to learn and grow in a simply amazing school. I am proud to share about what an awesome school Crosby Park is!

Crosby Park Elementary School 5

Posted January 25, 2016
- a community member
Crosby Park has wonderful teachers who truly care about the children they teach. Every member of the staff goes the extra mile for the students and it is much appreciated by the parents and community! Thank you for all that you do to create a nurturing environment for our children to learn and grow.

Crosby Park Elementary School 5

Posted January 25, 2016
- a parent
Crosby Park is a great school. The teachers and staff go above and beyond for each student. My children can't wait to go to school each day.

Crosby Park Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted January 25, 2016
- a parent
I want to say thank you all the teachers at Crosby Park. I know them all and they care a great deal about all the children and strive to provide a positive learning environment for all.

Crosby Park Elementary School 5

Posted January 25, 2016
- a parent
This school has received numerous awards for excellence. I have found that everyone there for the past (5) years has been great for the students as well as the parents. The teachers create an outstanding learning environment. They have extended day as well as many other activities for the children during and after school. The teachers are committed to excellence. I'm very happy to have my child enrolled at Crosby Park for the past (5) years. This school is not in my district and I was lucky enough several years ago to get my child enrolled there. If you want your child to learn and do well select Crosby Park.

Crosby Park Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted January 25, 2016
- a community member
Mrs. Hatch is an awesome music teacher. I know that she works closely with Mrs. Mullenix to create the morning assemblies. Both of these ladies are great at organizing a wonderful way for students and faculty to start their. It's not just an assembly, it's like a giant family meeting to celebrate successes and learn something new each day.

Crosby Park Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted January 25, 2016
- a community member
All of the teachers at this scool are amazing and go above and beyond for their students!

Crosby Park Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted January 25, 2016
- a community member
Crosby Park is a Great Expectations Model School. The values of honesty, integrity and fairness are taught and practiced ever day at this school. A shining example of a Model School!

Crosby Park Elementary School
Grateful to: Student

Posted January 24, 2016
- a school leader
I would like to say "THANKS" to our student council at our school. These children are so willing to help LEAD the school and to always LEND a hand when you need absolutely anything. They represent our school very well and I'm proud of them! Crosby Park Longhorns Student Council ROCKS!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Crosby Park Elementary School
1602 Northwest Horton Boulevard, Lawton, OK  73505
(580) 353-7107
Last modified Crosby Park Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Crosby Park Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 85 reviews. Top