Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Eisenhower High School

Public | 9-12 | 1387 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 3, 2013

My two sons attended here. Through the extensive AP offerings, they earned enough college credit to skip one year of college. This school was the National Math and Science Initiatve School of the year due to their success in advanced placement results. Great for students who want to earn an education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2013

Our boys attend IKE, this school was like family to them especially the football team and the coaches. Faculties are very nice and helpful when they have any difficult situation in class. We are not from Lawton, but its through the military were here. We heard a lot of negative comments about this school, not true! Our boys attend this school since 9th grade ti'l now our oldest son is a senior and our other son is a sophomore. Both are honor students and they have no regrets! GO IKE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2012

My daughter went to this school for a year and a half and loved it! Especially the JROTC program! She is a 4.0 GPA student and a member of the National Honor Society so they must have done something right!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 25, 2011

DO NOT send your child to ANY lawton public school! Eisenhower is the worst! If your child has any kind brains this school is NOT the place to send them,Both of my childern are gifted and this place will hold them back in education and the thug,trash that goes there is what runs that school,I sold my house and moved so my two would not go there,If you have to send your kids to this place,I feel sorry for you and your kids,go to this school before you send your kids there,you will think twice!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2011

This school is a disaster. It's not just Eisenhower though, all three of the Lawton Public High Schools are horrible. There is a major issue with gang problems and the staff all seem to be afraid to deal with the situation. Lawton police department can't even get control of it. The gangs run the town and the schools. I wouldn't recommend living there or sending any of my children to their high schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2010

Eisenhower is a great school :)...the violence have toned down since last year and plus it's more mellow than last year...the school defaneltly got better academic scores than most of the schools in Lawton.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2008

This school is terrible. Classes are overcrowded, advanced children are often stuck into the same classes with belligerent, lower-level kids who refuse to learn, and discipline is inconsistent and highly biased. Individuality is squashed in lieu of conformity, and yet the administration expects us to have school spirit. How depressing. My only happiness is that I'm a senior -- escape is nigh!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 16, 2008

This school has enormous class size very little organization teachers and principals do not seem to care or enforce the rules that they print in syllabus or published throuth the lawton public schools. I sold my home and moved just to get out of this school district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2006

The academics at Eisenhower are very good. Yet, the leadership is HORRIBLE. The faculty/students have no respect for the leaders and their day to day actions speak volumes to this fact. The Athletics program is a JOKE. It is the most politcally motivated school in the State. The system is setup for failure. Eisenhower has more talent than anyone in the State, the number of College Football players from Ike prooves it. However, it's Unbelieveable but they can't even beat the local city schools.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 8, 2004

Eisenhower also has an excellent academic program. It consistently outnumbers the other Lawton schools, to include private schools, on AP exams and National Merit students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

Eisenhower is a good school. It has good extracurricular activities and the football team is outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 87% in 2013.

154 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
73%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 81% in 2013.

186 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
72%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

232 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
71%
English II

The state average for English II was 91% in 2013.

246 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
91%
English III

The state average for English III was 96% in 2013.

236 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
87%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 89% in 2013.

202 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
75%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 81% in 2013.

237 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests End-of-Instruction (OCCT EOI) exams to test students in high school in several subjects. The OCCT EOI is a high school graduation requirement. The OCCT EOI exams are standards-based tests, which means they measure specific skills defined for each subject by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 40% 54%
Black 36% 10%
Hispanic 12% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 6% 17%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 2%
Two or more races 2% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 40%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5202 West Gore Blvd
Lawton, OK 73505
Phone: (580) 355-9144

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT