Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Swinney Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 221 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 28, 2008

Outstanding educators who work hard everyday with our future leaders! I love the way I am greeted in the hallway each day by teachers, administration, and support staff! Way to go Swinney!!


Posted November 3, 2007

My son is in the fifth grade this year at Swinney. He has been there for six years. This school should not be rated only a four. It is a wonderful school and has awesome teachers. The principal is terrific. It is a very 'homey place to send your child. They are cared for and have a great educational background. I am a proud Swinney Jet parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2007

As a substitute teacher for Lawton Public Schools, I get a chance to work at a lot of different schools. Swinney is definitely my favorite of all the elementaries. The teachers and the principal are very encouraging and supportive of the students. Safety is stressed constantly, whether it be on the playground, in the building, or at the bus stop. Bullying of any kind is not tolerated! The teachers take pride in being teachers. They enjoy their jobs and you can tell. They go above and beyond to make the students experience stimulating and challenging. Swinney also has an awesome Special Ed. department. I would highly recommend this school to anyone with grade school children.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 17, 2005

The quality of education my child received while attending Swinney was paramount to any other. Swinney was his third school to attend while in Lawton for only two years. The other schools dismissed him as having a behavioral problem. While attending Swinney, he received the attention he needed and excelled far above his peers. The teachers are determined to do what is best for each individual child and the principal supports them 100%. Mr. Schraner, the principal, is very understanding, supportive, and cares for the well being of every individual student. He truly runs the school with the students well being in mind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2004

I am writing as a former student of Swinney Elementary School - good memories, and because of the excellent teachers there at that time, I was able to be helped (have a moderate hearing problem) and I am presently teaching special education in this great state. Thank you!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 26, 2003

My son has attended Swinney for 3 years. The staff and teachers are among the best I have seen. My son has attended 4 schools since we returned to Lawton. Only the staff at Swinney was able to help me determine my childs educational needs and they have played a large role in helping him to excell in his education. Prior to attending Swinney the other schools stated he was a problem student or a discipline problem. Since attending Swinney, we have had no problems and in fact recently he was tested and the results showed him to be of above average intelligence with reading levels much higher than other children his age. He has excelled in everything due to the support and incouragement of their staff. I feel blessed that we located this school and these people when we did. The majority of the staff has been there for the long hall. They have a low turnover of teachers and are lead by a wonderful principal who is very interactive with the children and is highly regarded by the children and parents. I would recommend this school to any parent who is wanting the best in their children's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

20 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
32%

2009

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2012.

20 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
45%

2009

 
 
84%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2012.

10 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
53%

2009

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2012.

10 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
53%

2009

 
 
96%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

13 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
61%

2009

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2012.

13 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
67%

2009

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 91% in 2012.

13 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
89%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 77% in 2012.

13 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
61%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

11 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 37% 10%
White 33% 54%
Hispanic 18% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 5% 18%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Asian 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 81%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1431 NW 23rd St
Lawton, OK 73505
Phone: (580) 353-7899

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT