Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Whittier Elementary School 5

Posted February 03, 2016
- a community member
An exemplary school to the fulliest. Clean, efficient,caring school. This school is a role model to the other schools in Lawton!

Whittier Elementary School 5

Posted August 09, 2015
- a community member
Despite the ridiculous state grading system, Whittier is an A+ school. Children are not expected to fit into a cookie cutter mold. In fact, they are encouraged to pursue their individual gifts. Staff has always been professional yet warm and caring. I cannot think of any place I would send my children.

Whittier Elementary School 5

Posted May 16, 2015
- a parent
I have a son that attended Whittier Elementary a long time ago he is now 28 year old. When he was there it was a great school then and that has not changed except it got even GREATER than it was back then. Teachers come and go over the years, but what that school stands for doesn't. That is for the way that school has been ran that helps out for the care those teacher give the children. You have to have a strong teachers to do what they do everyday and it really helps to have a very strong principle like Whittier has in Melanie Nungesser. Now how I know that now is because I have 2 grandson yet again that going to Whittier and one going to being there in a few more years. Mrs. Nungesser and all of the teachers that I have been in contacted with and seeing all of the other teachers that haven't had contact with yet are the most caring, loving and they want what will be best for each and everyone of the children that attend Whittier and even after they leave and move on to middle school and high school they try to keep tabs on them to make sure BEST! From: A Loving Grandparent & Parent

Whittier Elementary School 5

Posted April 07, 2015
- a parent
My daughter is in her 3rd year at Whittier Elem. School. I have always heard wonderful things about the staff at Whittier and the children who graduate from Whittier. My daughter is a transfer child. (Our home is out of Whittier school area) I am so pleased that my daughter attends Whittier and she enjoys going to school everyday! The teachers and staff are so friendly, and the loving attention that is given to each child is apparent for everyone to see. I volunteer frequently at the school and enjoy the time spent with students and faculty. The children that attend Whittier are proud, caring, supportive, smart and talented students. The opportunities to learn a musical instrument and/or read music are given. The children are praised for their academic achievements and attendance is applauded by everyone. To be apart of the Whittier team is a privilege and I know that my daughter will have a brighter future for being apart of it!

Whittier Elementary School 5

Posted February 26, 2015
- a teacher
Whittier is a child centered school. When you walk in the halls you can feel the warm, friendly atmosphere. It's been a Great Expectations Model School the last 10 years. The annual Arts for Small is a tradition like no other. The staff provides hands-on experiences to make learning FUN! Whittier is amazing!

Whittier Elementary School 4

Posted September 05, 2014
- a parent
I love this school! My sin attended two years for first and second grade. This school was like a second family to him. It's a tight knit community. It is a Great Expectations model school making the classroom and school wide management absolutely amazing. Children really do learn to love and respect each other. All in all it really is an amazing school.

Whittier Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 22, 2009
- a parent
Whittier is the greatest school in Lawton! We have amazing teachers and involved parents. We are a Great Excpectations school, too!

Whittier Elementary School 5

Posted February 12, 2009
- a parent
This is the best, most child- oriented school I have ever had the pleasure of being a parent with. I have two thumbs up, wonderful community!

Whittier Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 28, 2008
- a parent
My daughter's teacher could communicate more with the parents but the over all impression of the school and staff is very good.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Whittier Elementary School
1115 NW Laird, Lawton, OK  73507
(580) 355-5238
Last modified Whittier Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Whittier Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top