Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hugh Bish Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 337 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 4, 2014

This is my daughters first year at Hugh Bish and from day one she was put in a class where the teacher is absent for more then half the year. When we questioned this we were told there is nothing they can do about this no they can not hire a perminit sub or teachers aid. She spent most of the school year being bullied by other students. And has asked to go back to cyber school next year since she feels she has not learned any thing new and what little they have done was a review of her previes years in cyber school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2013

My son has attended Hugh Bish since January and I have seen a huge transformation in him. He love his new school and teacher. It's amazing to see. I couldn't be happier. As a military child, it hard to fit in after every move, but Hugh Bish staff and teachers have welcomed him and he is happy. I am so thankful we found this school....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2012

Great school, Great teachers. I have 2 sons enrolled in Hugh Bish ad they absolutely love it. They look foward to going to school everyday and the school administration are very helpful and supportive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2011

i do not like the new princilple mr.smith he yells im my childs face and made my child cry.a few times.submitted by fields.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2010

Programs like PTA and Booster Club (sports program) are run by parent volunteers. A volunteer is someone who cares enough to spend their personal time doing something nice for FREE. We are lucky to have the volunteers at Hugh Bish who are so dedicated to their kids! I know of parents who would rather complain about a football coach or c omplain about what kind of snacks are allowed in class than actually help their kids with reading or math! If you don't like something, step up and become part of the solution!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2010

I give Hugh Bish a giant thumbs up! Hugh Bish is the best school in Lawton that any parent can ask for. Everyone is treated fairly, with respect, and I am proud to wear the orange & green with pride. My experience at this school is one I will never forget. I have one who has graduated and one still enrolled at this time. Being a military family it is hard to find a school that is worth trusting and your kids are happy to attend everyday.My child would wake up each day and look forward to going to school.Why you ask? Between the great teaching staff, wonderful principal and the outstanding PTA they have made our experience here the greatest. I recommend HUGH BISH ELEMENTARY to any family moving to the Lawton area. This school is well rounded with teachers who strive for perfection. PTA pres.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2010

an elementary school should not be ran like a prison. I know a few parents who have withdrawn there kids and put them in different schools. The sports program well lets just say booster club needs a little support but they need to help support the coaches as well as the atheletes.Last teachers say they dont favortise but step back and look the kids can see it. so if your going to teach dont favorties certain kids embrace them all becauser so many of them have great qualities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

Hugh Bish is a great school. All of the teachers are highly motivated, well-educated, and are always striving to be the best. Hugh Bish is a Model school for Great Expectations and with that Hugh Bish has high expectations for all of the students. Each student is regarding as special and is treated with respect. Hugh Bish is the best school in Lawton, Oklahoma. It is the best school in the state. It is the best school in the U.S. Any child who enters Hugh Bish will be given the best education possible.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 31, 2009

i am very pleased with hugh bish elementary. the amount of time my daughters teacher spends with the children is remarkable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2008

I am very happy with the education my child is receiving at Hugh Bish. My daughter loves going to school and is a great student with the help of the great teaching staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2008

Hugh Bish is a great school. When my son was having trouble with his grades, his teachers never gave up on him, or me. When ever I had questions or concerns they were always willing to listen and take action. They also taught me to be a more active parent, and that in order for my child to be able to reach his full potential I have to work with him at home as well. Although the schools have limited resources the teachers are always willing to send home extra worksheets and math packets or summer and winter breaks. Ask and you shall recieve should be the motto at Hugh Bish, because that is all you have to do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2007

I had the opportunity to complete part of my student teaching at Hugh Bish Elementary. I have since taught full-time or as a substitute at no less than 20 schools nationwide. Hugh Bish is one of the finest schools that I have seen. The principal is outstanding and personable, the teachers are concerned with student growth and achievement, and the students seem to enjoy attending there.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 26, 2006

Hugh Bish is a great school. My children have accelerated to great heights. All of the teachers are excellent and personable. They encourage parents to come anytime and help or observe. They have high expectations for all of the students. The music, art and P.E. activities are spectacular. The students at Hugh Bish are receiving an excellent education. Of course, the parents and teachers must work together for their children to achieve the greatest potential.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 1, 2005

not very happy with the teacher quality there & the communication with the parents
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2005

I am glad that my son is not in this school anymore. I guess it is a lot easier to just say he has to stay behind than to help him.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
97%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 77% in 2012.

31 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
89%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 66% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 45% 59%
Black 23% 9%
Hispanic 22% 14%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 2%
Native American 4% 16%
Source: State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 150%N/A61%
Special education 216%N/A15%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5611 Northwest Alan A Dale Lane
Lawton, OK 73505
Phone: (580) 248-2244

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT