Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Locust Grove High School

Public | 9-12 | 472 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 27, 2013

I enjoy this school so much. In fact, I wish I would have attended Locust Grove my whole life. I am glad I moved here though. I have encountered so many teachers that loved what they did, and cared about their students. Lori Helton, Sandy Pierce, Paula Reed, Cathy Welker, and Amy Conkling are the teachers that have made a huge impact on my life.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 11, 2010

I am a former student of Locust Grove Schools. I had a very good experience at this school. academics and otherwise . My complaint now is my daughter is in high school there the school focuses way too much on sports and not the other clubs and organizations. For instance my daughter is in FFA Mr. Green would rather close this organization. I'm sorry but the FFA has won the school way more recognition than their failing sports. They can't even win a football game.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2009

I Highly recommend Locust Grove High School cause the teachers dot here best to help the students understand the subject they are teaching!! The enviroment is very comfortable and safe!! The Athletic Staffe is very nice and they work hard to kepp the kids going with alot of encouragement and cheer!! So I think that this school is the best in the area!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 10, 2008

I had students in 3 of the four Locust Schools last year. I would have to say that they are by far the best school system in the area and I would reccomend them to everyone I know!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2008

My child really enjoys this school, they are helping her to really understand what she is trying to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2008

Great school system with caring, experienced teachers. I highly recommend the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2006

I personally am not not a parent of a student but an alumni of Locust Grove. The school system had its pros and cons, pros more so. I enjoyed it there. There was diversity among the students and this seems to have a negative impact on most schools but not here. There were also several 'grand' teachers that you could tell wanted to make a difference in their students life (Ma' Bell:)!!) There was a lot of hostility from some students that felt 'left behind', but there were alot of open doors for every genre and this is such of huge importance in a small school system. The cons would have to be the 'non' teaching of good study habits. The school does have several teachers that seemed to care less and this made it diffucult for myself later on in college. The school overall was well-balanced and memoriable.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 30, 2006

I am a former student and there were things that I both like and did not like about the school. The academics were not good enough to prepare someone for college. I was not really taught how to study or apply things until I got to college. It was hard, at first, but I had to adapt to the situation at hand without preparation from many of my teachers. Granted, there are a handful that truly care about the students and what they will do after high school. To that handful, I am truly grateful. I too think the music department needs a lot of help. The athletic department is slowly coming along...finally!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 20, 2004

I am not a parent but a former student of Locust Grove High School. I feel that the teachers do not pay enough attention to the students they deem 'less likely to succeed', and instead pay more attention to the 'jocks' and 'cheerleaders. I had one of those experiences myself. I had a Drama Teacher tell me that I couldn't be in the class, but yet all of the cheerleaders where in the class. Students should not be taught based on where they come from or what they look like most teachers never give some of their students a chance based on those facts alone.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 5, 2004

Although a great system, Locust Grove could offer more opportunity to music students. As the mother of a band/chorus student, I feel that the school system could offer more financial assistance to the program instead of depending on fund raising efforts by the BPA. Often parents are too busy working concession or earning money for the program to enjoy the music itself. The academic quality of the system needs some improvement. Many of the students are leaving the system unable to compete in the world of college academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 84% in 2012.

54 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
66%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 77% in 2012.

82 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
58%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 79% in 2012.

83 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
82%
English II

The state average for English II was 88% in 2012.

73 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
82%
English III

The state average for English III was 92% in 2012.

75 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
81%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 87% in 2012.

85 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2009.

117 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2009.

108 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
67%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 77% in 2012.

68 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests End-of-Instruction (OCCT EOI) exams to test students in high school in several subjects. The OCCT EOI is a high school graduation requirement. The OCCT EOI exams are standards-based tests, which means they measure specific skills defined for each subject by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
American Indian/Alaska Native 63% 18%
White 36% 54%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Hispanic 1% 12%
Asian 0% 2%
Black 0% 10%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 85%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Performance stage
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

509 North Wyandotte
Locust Grove, OK 74352
Phone: (918) 479-5247

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT