Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Locust Grove High School 5

Posted October 27, 2013
- a student
I enjoy this school so much. In fact, I wish I would have attended Locust Grove my whole life. I am glad I moved here though. I have encountered so many teachers that loved what they did, and cared about their students. Lori Helton, Sandy Pierce, Paula Reed, Cathy Welker, and Amy Conkling are the teachers that have made a huge impact on my life.

Locust Grove High School
no rating

Posted March 11, 2010
- a parent
I am a former student of Locust Grove Schools. I had a very good experience at this school. academics and otherwise . My complaint now is my daughter is in high school there the school focuses way too much on sports and not the other clubs and organizations. For instance my daughter is in FFA Mr. Green would rather close this organization. I'm sorry but the FFA has won the school way more recognition than their failing sports. They can't even win a football game.

Locust Grove High School 5

Posted May 21, 2009
- a student
I Highly recommend Locust Grove High School cause the teachers dot here best to help the students understand the subject they are teaching!! The enviroment is very comfortable and safe!! The Athletic Staffe is very nice and they work hard to kepp the kids going with alot of encouragement and cheer!! So I think that this school is the best in the area!!

Locust Grove High School 5

Posted September 10, 2008
- a parent
I had students in 3 of the four Locust Schools last year. I would have to say that they are by far the best school system in the area and I would reccomend them to everyone I know!

Locust Grove High School
no rating

Posted May 06, 2008
- a parent
My child really enjoys this school, they are helping her to really understand what she is trying to learn.

Locust Grove High School
no rating

Posted January 12, 2008
- a parent
Great school system with caring, experienced teachers. I highly recommend the school.

Locust Grove High School 4

Posted April 20, 2006
- a student
I personally am not not a parent of a student but an alumni of Locust Grove. The school system had its pros and cons, pros more so. I enjoyed it there. There was diversity among the students and this seems to have a negative impact on most schools but not here. There were also several 'grand' teachers that you could tell wanted to make a difference in their students life (Ma' Bell:)!!) There was a lot of hostility from some students that felt 'left behind', but there were alot of open doors for every genre and this is such of huge importance in a small school system. The cons would have to be the 'non' teaching of good study habits. The school does have several teachers that seemed to care less and this made it diffucult for myself later on in college. The school overall was well-balanced and memoriable.

Locust Grove High School 3

Posted March 30, 2006
- a student
I am a former student and there were things that I both like and did not like about the school. The academics were not good enough to prepare someone for college. I was not really taught how to study or apply things until I got to college. It was hard, at first, but I had to adapt to the situation at hand without preparation from many of my teachers. Granted, there are a handful that truly care about the students and what they will do after high school. To that handful, I am truly grateful. I too think the music department needs a lot of help. The athletic department is slowly coming along...finally!

Locust Grove High School 2

Posted August 20, 2004
- a student
I am not a parent but a former student of Locust Grove High School. I feel that the teachers do not pay enough attention to the students they deem 'less likely to succeed', and instead pay more attention to the 'jocks' and 'cheerleaders. I had one of those experiences myself. I had a Drama Teacher tell me that I couldn't be in the class, but yet all of the cheerleaders where in the class. Students should not be taught based on where they come from or what they look like most teachers never give some of their students a chance based on those facts alone.

Locust Grove High School 4

Posted May 05, 2004
- a parent
Although a great system, Locust Grove could offer more opportunity to music students. As the mother of a band/chorus student, I feel that the school system could offer more financial assistance to the program instead of depending on fund raising efforts by the BPA. Often parents are too busy working concession or earning money for the program to enjoy the music itself. The academic quality of the system needs some improvement. Many of the students are leaving the system unable to compete in the world of college academics.

Nearby schools

Locust Grove High School
421 Broadway Street, Locust Grove, OK  74352
(918) 479-5247
Last modified Locust Grove High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top