Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Emerson Elementary School

Public | 1-4

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 31, 2013

My child used to attend Krebs but now attends Emerson & loves it! She's had great teachers every year since she's been there. The principal is very caring & involved w/the students. I've witnessed it personally. Myself, I don't know how she remembers so many names, but I've heard her tell them good morning & call them by name many times. You can't possibly expect the staff to memorize each vehicle the students get into. They call out the # because it's a # that's hanging on the rearview mirror. My child is picked up in several different vehicles. We just hang the # in whichever one we're taking that day or give it to whoever's picking her up that day. The pick up system is much safer for the children than it used to be. You have to be a little patient, but it's worth it for the safety of the kids. I am very pleased with the academic level, the kindess of the teachers/staff, everything about Emerson. Moving my daughter to Emerson was one of the best decisions I've made for her and her education. If a child being called by a # once a day when it's time to pick them up is the only complaint, I'd be pretty greatful of the school system. Sincerely, Kimberly Dorsey
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2013

The principal has been in this school system for 30+ years. Not only is she well respected by her peers and coworkers, she has an excellent reputation with the public. While still a teacher she was nominated for Teacher of the Year SEVERAL times. The school she was at before Emerson flourished under her and raised its scores. Before this principal, students were made to wait BY THE ROAD while parents parked up to 4BLOCKS surrounding the school. This caused traffic jams and parents were illegally parked. The new system has students safely off the road and cuts traffic in half! The pick-up system before took 40 MINUTES. Now it takes 15. The numbers assigned to each student go with each parent's car. This allows the workers to quickly identify the student's car and move traffic more quickly. Also, it lets the worker know if the student is getting in a safe car with the correct person. As for the not calling the students by name, there are 300 students in that school. You claim each teacher knows their students and so should the principal. This in itself is illogical OF COARSE the teacher knows her students. She only has 25 and spends EVERY DAY WITH THEM. The principal has 300 students


Posted February 10, 2012

the school has a high student to teacher ratio. they could have a better plan to reach the kids better. i would like to see more work done at school. and less homework.. if they were to have less than 20 kids a class room it might be better for both students and the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2011

Emerson has slowly became to crappiest school in McAlester thanks to a new principle that cares for nothing but the paycheck shee is getting. Since the first of the year I know that she has gotten several complaints concerning the safety in the pick up line but all she will say is, "It is getting better." BULL!!!! Then there is the number issue, She calls our children by numbers not there name. For example if you have the #10 in your car window your child is called #10 by the principle if he/she is spoken too by her. A TRUE principle would know the child by their GIVEN name. If you can take the time to memorize the child's number then by george memorize their names. I don't think the pr inciple would like to be called #0. So don't call our kids by a number.Oh and as far as parent involvement she is NOT allowing it unless she is just taking money from you but even then your opinion don't matter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2011

Last year this school was awesome. This year I feel this school has hit rock bottom. What kind of principal refers to the student as a number rather than by their names given at birth? Teachers on the other hand are wonderful. They take the time to know each child's name not only in their class but as well as the other classes and grades. Even the school secretary gets to know the name of each child. On another note, what is the point of the PTO if there aren't meetings monthly to keep the parents involved. This is the only elementary school in the district that does not have monthly PTO meetings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2009

Emerson school is the best elementary in McAlester. It is mid-sized, hosts fun events and has a caring staff. The schools counselor helped our family tremendously!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2008

Emerson has given my child the extra help he has needed and I feel the staff really cares about the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2008

I have seen all kinds of schools, but Emerson stands way above the rest. The kids get a great staff, a great education, and most importantly, they learn self-worth. They care! enviornment.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

35 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
82%

2009

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2012.

35 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
68%

2009

 
 
83%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2012.

43 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
63%

2009

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2012.

43 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
63%

2009

 
 
85%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Two or more races 42% 5%
White 36% 54%
Hispanic 15% 13%
Black 7% 10%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 17%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 88%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

301 East Van Buren
Mcalester, OK 74501
Phone: (918) 423-6465

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Washington Ec Center
Mcalester, OK






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT