Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Emerson Elementary School 5

Posted July 31, 2013
- a parent
My child used to attend Krebs but now attends Emerson & loves it! She's had great teachers every year since she's been there. The principal is very caring & involved w/the students. I've witnessed it personally. Myself, I don't know how she remembers so many names, but I've heard her tell them good morning & call them by name many times. You can't possibly expect the staff to memorize each vehicle the students get into. They call out the # because it's a # that's hanging on the rearview mirror. My child is picked up in several different vehicles. We just hang the # in whichever one we're taking that day or give it to whoever's picking her up that day. The pick up system is much safer for the children than it used to be. You have to be a little patient, but it's worth it for the safety of the kids. I am very pleased with the academic level, the kindess of the teachers/staff, everything about Emerson. Moving my daughter to Emerson was one of the best decisions I've made for her and her education. If a child being called by a # once a day when it's time to pick them up is the only complaint, I'd be pretty greatful of the school system. Sincerely, Kimberly Dorsey

Emerson Elementary School 5

Posted July 31, 2013
- a community member
The principal has been in this school system for 30+ years. Not only is she well respected by her peers and coworkers, she has an excellent reputation with the public. While still a teacher she was nominated for Teacher of the Year SEVERAL times. The school she was at before Emerson flourished under her and raised its scores. Before this principal, students were made to wait BY THE ROAD while parents parked up to 4BLOCKS surrounding the school. This caused traffic jams and parents were illegally parked. The new system has students safely off the road and cuts traffic in half! The pick-up system before took 40 MINUTES. Now it takes 15. The numbers assigned to each student go with each parent's car. This allows the workers to quickly identify the student's car and move traffic more quickly. Also, it lets the worker know if the student is getting in a safe car with the correct person. As for the not calling the students by name, there are 300 students in that school. You claim each teacher knows their students and so should the principal. This in itself is illogical OF COARSE the teacher knows her students. She only has 25 and spends EVERY DAY WITH THEM. The principal has 300 students

Emerson Elementary School 2

Posted February 10, 2012
- a parent
the school has a high student to teacher ratio. they could have a better plan to reach the kids better. i would like to see more work done at school. and less homework.. if they were to have less than 20 kids a class room it might be better for both students and the teachers.

Emerson Elementary School 1

Posted September 14, 2011
- a parent
Emerson has slowly became to crappiest school in McAlester thanks to a new principle that cares for nothing but the paycheck shee is getting. Since the first of the year I know that she has gotten several complaints concerning the safety in the pick up line but all she will say is, "It is getting better." BULL!!!! Then there is the number issue, She calls our children by numbers not there name. For example if you have the #10 in your car window your child is called #10 by the principle if he/she is spoken too by her. A TRUE principle would know the child by their GIVEN name. If you can take the time to memorize the child's number then by george memorize their names. I don't think the pr inciple would like to be called #0. So don't call our kids by a number.Oh and as far as parent involvement she is NOT allowing it unless she is just taking money from you but even then your opinion don't matter.

Emerson Elementary School 1

Posted September 14, 2011
- a parent
Last year this school was awesome. This year I feel this school has hit rock bottom. What kind of principal refers to the student as a number rather than by their names given at birth? Teachers on the other hand are wonderful. They take the time to know each child's name not only in their class but as well as the other classes and grades. Even the school secretary gets to know the name of each child. On another note, what is the point of the PTO if there aren't meetings monthly to keep the parents involved. This is the only elementary school in the district that does not have monthly PTO meetings.

Emerson Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted June 08, 2009
- a parent
Emerson school is the best elementary in McAlester. It is mid-sized, hosts fun events and has a caring staff. The schools counselor helped our family tremendously!

Emerson Elementary School 5

Posted July 25, 2008
- a parent
Emerson has given my child the extra help he has needed and I feel the staff really cares about the students.

Emerson Elementary School 4

Posted June 28, 2008
- a parent
I have seen all kinds of schools, but Emerson stands way above the rest. The kids get a great staff, a great education, and most importantly, they learn self-worth. They care! enviornment.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Emerson Elementary School
301 East Van Buren Avenue, McAlester, OK  74501
(918) 423-6465
Last modified Emerson Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades 1-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Emerson Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top