Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mcalester High School

Public | 9-12 | 7 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 9, 2009

This School is awesome. We have one of the best bands in the country. Our band does well at all of the competitions that they travel to. The football team is awesome. We have been to the playoffs several times over the past few years. We have a softball team that is ranked number 2 in the state. All of the sports do extremely well. The teachers are very determined to help us reach our full potential. The English department especially prepares you for college. Most of the students that attend here go on to college and earn a degree. There are also several Advanced Placement classes offered here at mcalester. Advanced Placement classes are college level classes that you can take during high school. Also here at mcalester, you have the opportunity to take college classes at the Eastern Oklahoma Campus here in town.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 10, 2008

Mcalester is a wonderful school! They offer advanced classes that challange the students mind. Most of the teachers are wonderful and have a high education. Even though they don't get like they should, they still care about their students. The coaches are excellent and they lead their players to victory. The band staff is the best I have ever scene. They bring out the best in their students and develop some of the worlds greatest musicians. If you are new I would highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 20, 2008

I've had the pleasure of working with Mr. Allen Wadsworth, Mr. Randall Peters and now Mr. Randy Hughes, they are all excellent principals, very easy to talk with, tough when they have to be, but they form a special way with the students. I've had one son graduate this past May and another enter as a freshman this year with one more waiting in the wings at Puterbaugh. I've worked with nearly all of the teaching staff and I haven't met a rude one yet, tired as though they may be. They do their very best to keep the parents informed while pushing them to their fullest potential. The extra cirrcular activities here are among the best I've seen and the classes prepare them for the world. MHS rocks! I didn't grow up in this town either, but I jumped in, when you meet the staff halfway, it goes a LONG way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2007

I've been really happy with the school system. The band program is wonderful. I can't say enough about it. Mr Steidley is a excellent director, and has a good staff. The punishments most of the time seem to fit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2007

I think that MHS is the best school I have been to here in Mcalester. If you are looking for a new school this is the school you have been looking for. We have a football team that has made it to the play offs,are cheer and pom are very good, and for the band we have one of the best in Oklahoma. When we went to are marching contest we got 4th place at one and 2nd at the other. Are band dirctors are the best. I love working with the band we are just like a family of a 110 kids. But if you are unsure about MHS come and check it out.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 25, 2007

The people in this area are poorly educated and have low paying jobs. The students and their parents are not very open to outsiders. More troubling is the almost certain expectation that students will not go on to college, with OU being the best school to which they can aspire. The teachers run the gambit; there are a few excellent ones, several average to good ones, and a few terrible ones. They cannot get rid of the bad ones either because they have been there a while or because they cannot get another teacher to move to southeast Oklahoma. There are few extracurricular activities other than sports. This school would rate near the bottom in Dallas and I hope it would be near the bottom in Tulsa. The only redeeming factor is that the surrounding rural schools are even worse.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2006

This a Wonderful School! I have no idea about the first post. The principal is a wonderful man. The teaching is above par and when your child graduates you know that they are ready for college. I should know I've put five of them through this wonderful school. Mr. Wadsworth I thank you sir.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2004

Just like all schools, there are good and bad points to McAlester High School. However, the favorable things far outweigh those that aren't. Administration is fair and concise, the classes are much more advanced than the surrounding communities (especially the English department as a whole and the science departments), the extracurricular activities allow for all different interests, and the small community feel provides the chidren with a safe environment. If parents and/or guardians want a better school, perhaps they should stop trying to find their children the easiest out and make them actually work for something.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 12, 2004

There is a lot of favoritism at this school, the teachers are rude as a whole, and pity the poor student that did not grow up in this town! I have never experienced a place like this, and am sorely disappointed with this school district. Terrible!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 87% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
81%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 81% in 2013.

156 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
78%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

158 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
86%
English II

The state average for English II was 91% in 2013.

183 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%
English III

The state average for English III was 96% in 2013.

150 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
89%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 89% in 2013.

148 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 81% in 2013.

154 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests End-of-Instruction (OCCT EOI) exams to test students in high school in several subjects. The OCCT EOI is a high school graduation requirement. The OCCT EOI exams are standards-based tests, which means they measure specific skills defined for each subject by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 54%
American Indian/Alaska Native 20% 17%
Black 8% 10%
Two or more races 4% 5%
Hispanic 2% 13%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 49%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1 Buffalo Dr
Mcalester, OK 74501
Phone: (918) 423-4776

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Haileyville High School
Haileyville, OK


Hartshorne High School
Hartshorne, OK


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT