Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Steed Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 29, 2013

I was a student at Steed in the 06-07 and 07-08 years. There was not really much learning. The last year I was there I was asked to skip a grade because I was literally helping to teach the class. Worst school i have ever been to.


Posted May 12, 2013

This school is horrible. They have a couple good teachers at the school that really need to leave the school ASAP. The principal Ms. Tucker is an embarassment to principals. Allows students to get bullied or inappropriately touched by other students with no disciplinary actions. She thinks by moving them to another class, all is taken care of. Receptionists are incompetent. Pick up and drop off are insane. I'd urge anyone that has a child getting close to school age, don't send them to Steed. Ms. Tucker if you read this, I hope one day you decided to humble yourself and take your job as a school administrator more serious. If kids can't go to your school without fear of other students, how do expect to raise your well deserved pathetic score that the state handed you.....?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2012

I have 4 children attending steed this year. The transfered over from solider creek. iI like steed alot better then solider creek. The principle (Mrs. Hamilton) shows love to all the children she is well connected to them. All my kids have caring teachers that push them to learn more and to go above the norm. my children are in Pre-K, Kindergarden, 2nd and 3rd. So i would love to give all these teachers a teacher of the year award for all that they have done for them. Mrs. Case/Mrs.McKnight (pre-k) my son loves them to pieces he is a activite child but they have handled him wonderfuly. Mrs. Richardson (kindergarden) how had alot of patience also but has taught my son so much. He comes home excited about what he ahs learned at school that and the fact that he can read like his older silbilings. Mrs. Swanson (2nd) has given my daughter a new out look of school that she had lost the previous year, but i am glad to see it back.And she has improved a great deal. Mrs. Cahill (3rd) is wonderful teacher also she has taken time of her mornings to help students in need of extra help.My loves her even when he is wrong. He has accomplished so much with her also. Love steed
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2011

My first Substituting job was in this school. It was a 3rd Grade Class. It was great, good lessons, great well behaved kids. It is a great place to go.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 6, 2009

My son loves going to school everyday! His pre-k teacher, Mrs. Case is wonderful!! Steed has made great improvements and is striving to do more everyday for the children and their education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2009

Everyone has room for improvement. The only thing that I see is wrong with Steed is there are not enough awards being passed out to the children. They do these awards once a month, one child per class, and you can't tell me that only nine children the whole school year were worthy of those character awards. If they're low on ink and paper I'm sure the parents would gladly donate just so no child is forgotten about. How sad is that to make good grades all year and never get into trouble and not be acknowledged? I saw alot of stuff these last few years that really bothered me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2009

I love love love working at Steed! Our principal is very supportive and has really brought Steed to a different level. I have never seen a staff that got along and worked together as well as the staff at Steed.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 27, 2008

My name is Ariel Craft, and my daughter attends Steed. This is her second year and we just love it! Mrs. Hamilton is a wonderful principal and she has a wonderful staff. I love Charger Connection and the positive attitudes, and behavior that it promotes. The school is great, the staff is great. having to leave Steed is the only thing that I'll hate about leaving Oklahoma.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2007

I had three kids go through this school and it is one of the best that Mid-Del has to offer.Over the years the schools ethnical cultural has changed thanks to the AF Base close by, but I think its better for the kids because the world has gone global.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2007

I believe Steed is a very good school, after the change in principal. I believe that the current principal is very caring, hands on with her students and will make Steed a top school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2006

My olders daughter attened Steed Elmentary 5 years ago. The 6th grade teacher at that time seemed to do things to bring down the self esteem of my daughter. That experience left a very bad taste in my mouth, but I thought that maybe it was just that teacher not the entire staff. Well, this past year my 7 and 9 year old children attened Steed. I had a problem with my son (2nd grade)being bullied. My son came home from school several times asking me and his father not to send him to school because this bully told him that he would bring his big brothers gun to school. My husband and I were furious. We went to talk to the principle. The outcome was that he told them to stay away from each other. That was very scary for me and my family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2006

I think that there are some great teachers there but when you get those hateful kids that don't want to learn just want to cause problems with the kids and teachers than it's hard for the children to learn anything.There are tinmes the staff could supervise the kids better though.Parents should learn disipline a little better and kids wouldn't be the way they are these days.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2005

I have had 2 children graduate from this Steed Elementary and one in the 6th grade this year. Throughtout the years I have seen many changes in in the school atmosphere both bad and good. I have to agree with the PTA meetings, I feel they are worthless, I don't need to know about the budget, what I am really interested in is what is going on to improve my childs education. However, what I can say is that my children have received a wonderful education and have been remember thoughout the years. All I have is good words to say about Mrs. Dunaway and Mr. Porter. These two teacher go out of their way to give positive reinforcement to the students. Most of the teachers that I have had the pleasure of working with have been positive infulences on my children. Keep up the good work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2005

I love the Pre-K program! Steed has a young dedicated teacher in this program who is willing to work with the children on their level, whether they need a little extra help or they are more advanced. I appreciate her willingness to work with my son in small groups to encourage his accelerated learning curve. Thanks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2005

The teachers seem to really care about the students and do their best in a challenging environment. Care must come with discipline however and the kids' behavior is often out of control from the bus ride to school to the bus ride home, making learning more difficult than it should be. More attentive supervision is required.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2005

My children have attended Steed for 4 years. Prior to enrolling at Steed, they attended an Oklahoma City school and a school in Moore. Steed far surpasses those schools in the availability of extracurricular activities. Mr. Porter's sports programs and Mrs. Dunaway's choir and grade level performances give kids a chance to excel outside of the classroom. Mr. Hinton's leadership is unsurpassed. He cares deeply about Steed and each of the students. Drive by Steed any evening and you'll see Mr. Hinton's vehicle in the parking lot. Stop by and he will always make time to talk to you. There is room for improvement in the parental involvement area. I challenge any parents who are disappointed in this area to become involved. Volunteer. Join PTA. Get to know the people who educate your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2005

I've been at this school for 10+ years, and I am a parent, not a teacher or administrator. This school has its share of problems. But it also has its successes. They try hard in getting what is needed, whether it is another teacher, workbooks or the like. The school staff encourages everyone. They have problem students, sometimes more than their fair share. In my opinion, that is due to the enrollment explosion over the past two years. The student population is expanding quicker than the school can handle it. Budget Cuts- Blame them. Parent participation is minimal- you have a few good seeds trying to do the work of all parents, so the parents that DO the WORK, get exploited. It's the same in any school I have ever been. You cannot MAKE people care about their school or children. You do the best you can, and so do they.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2005

My daughters experience for 1st and 2nd grade here was horrible. The classrooms are out of contol. It is very unproductive when class time is spent correcting behavior and colorful language instead of doing academics. The children were violent all the teachers could say is that it is how the children are allowed to behave at home. Parent involvement is minimum and the PTA meetings don't address any real issues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2004

It seems that many classrooms, children and teachers alike, are out of control on a frequent basis. To many people turning their heads to what is going on around them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2003

Steed is a great school. I have two children attending there. The principal is the best!!! Although our budget is bad he still finds ways for our kids to have fun! Mr. Hinton should get principal of the year! Jennifer M
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

55 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
58%

2009

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2012.

56 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
58%

2009

 
 
82%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2012.

50 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
58%

2009

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2012.

50 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
47%

2009

 
 
79%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

40 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
71%

2009

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2012.

40 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
62%

2009

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 91% in 2012.

38 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
79%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 77% in 2012.

38 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
71%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

41 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 50% 10%
White 31% 54%
Hispanic 10% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 17%
Two or more races 3% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 80%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2118 Flannery
Midwest City, OK 73110
Phone: (405) 739-1686

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Harvest Life School
Midwest City, OK



St Philip Neri School
Midwest City, OK



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT