Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Moore Christian School

Private | PK-12

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Moore

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $119,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 26, 2013

My son went to school here a few years ago, then he was in high school, I can tell you that it was not good, I found out that the first 2 years of high school the music teacher was teaching them and letting my son sleep and just giving him grades even though he was not teaching him, my son had ADHD and they knew that and did nothing to help him if they couldn't teach him they should have said so, after that the music teacher got fired, the school is a joke don't waste your money on it your kids deserve better, what a joke of a school they should be shut down!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2013

My daughter's class went through 4 teachers in one year. I use the term "teacher" loosely. After the first teacher left, the office secretary taught the class, then a short-lived sub, then the class spent the entire second semester with a cafeteria lady teaching. The After-School program was ran by older high school students with little to no supervision until several parents complained.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2012

My daughter attended this school for Pre-K in the 2011-2012 school year. I was extremely happy with the progress she made while attending this program. When I was told that she would be reading by the end of the term; i was in disbelief.....however it was true! My 4 year could read and she had not even been to kindergarten yet! The staff was very friendly and accomodating! My daughter had excelled not only in academics but also in her faith.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2012

I was very happy with this school. My son attended junior high here and is doing great since transferring to the public high school. I am very grateful for the education that he received. I am also grateful for the spiritual reinforcement that he received. Great teachers. The school is small but that gave my son a lot of individual help that he needed. There were a couple students who got in trouble but I have seen a whole lot worse. I have friends who had their daughter in kindergarten and they said the younger grades are really great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2012

Majority of upper grade students are moved to this school because they were ejected from public schools. The upper grades are out of control, do as they wish most of the time. There are some great teachers at this school but they are under paid and overworked. Moved my kids and they are completely behind at the new school and are working from the time they get home to about 11pm when they had to do very little to make good drades at this school. Moving them in to the same classes at the new school and they found out the things taught at this school for the class are the preface of the book at the new school. I feel I was paying for them to go to school with the kids that were kicked out of the public school I was worried about them attending. This school needs much work on structure for the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2012

This school is increadibly disorganized. The safety of the students are at risk. I would not send my child back. They are not accredited.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2011

Recentlyl,we found out that this school is NOT Accredited by the North Central Association of Oklahoma Department of Education and the Oklahoma Seconday School Activites Association.In other words,my sons classes that he took as a freshman DO NOT transfer to the public high school,he is having to redo his freshman year,We where not told nor did we think to ask,Non-accredited school are funded soley by the parents,it gives the school free reign to do what ever they want with your money, including hiring teachers In accredited schools they receive money fron the state and federal goverement,they have to follow guidlines,and they have to pay for the acredited tittle,MCS does not do this,The MPS states in the homepage that they are accredited,I learned a lesson Do your homework,these schools will not tell you but they will tell you how much you need to give.I sent my son there because he was frustrared with school,now he is back in the public school and he is again a freshman,because the school wasnot accredited,and now I am back to square one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2010

I am so glad that we had our two daughters in school at MCS... both the K-3 and the Kindergarten programs are wonderful and they have learned so much this year!! Truly a Great School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

Our daughter is in the pre-k 3 program and has surpassed our expectations. Her faith and educational growth continue to amaze us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2010

The school is very small so cannot provide enrichment classes or the 'extras' like a larger school. The curriculum is ABeka, so I know my child is getting great material. The building is rather old and needs updating. It is kept fairly clean except for the gym. My child has enjoyed her first year at MCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2010

This is the first year for our son to attend this school. He is thriving in this environment! He loves his teacher and the other kids! It has been a wonderful experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2007

This school is wonderful and the children learn a lot. I do not worry about my child not getting a great education. I also do not worry about my child not being safe.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2007

Needs a little work, somewhat outdated and in need of new classroom supplies and playground equipment. Also the teachers need assistants when they have more than 8 preaschoolers by themselves. I think the children would learn more if they had actually teaching supplies and things for the kids to play with and learn with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2006

Love it here. Both my children are enrolled and have learned so much in this school year. Teacher to student ration is great. Academics are wonderful and the staff is very nurturing to the children's needs. The tuition is very affordable for a private school. A. Rapson
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 58%
Black 8% 10%
Hispanic 8% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 7% 17%
Two or more races 6% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

836 North Eastern Avenue
Moore, OK 73160
Phone: (405) 794-0434

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT