Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Houchin Elementary School

Public | PK-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 2, 2014

I was once a student here from 2003 - 2010 and I loved it here. The principals and teachers were really nice and made learning fun! I wish I could relive my elementary school days. They were a blast! -Nathan


Posted January 24, 2012

This is an awesome school! First of all the staff is so excellent & friendly it makes me happy to have my child here. He is in 2nd grade & has been here since Kindergarten. I also love the fact safety is a very high priority. My son loves this school & the staff definitely works hard to keep the kids excited about learning. I would definitely recommend this school. Love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2009

Excellent before/after school program, Camp Bulldog, my son enjoys it so much that he gets upset if I pick him up early. The teachers are the best and my son is very lucky to be in a school with such wonderful people. The whole staff is excellent and friendly. Thank you, Angelo and Yuri Gonzalez
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2008

I love this school. My son started Kindergarten at this school and then we bought a house and moved out of the district. I am so sad about this, the Teachers and the Principal are so amazing, I miss them so much, we don't have that with our new school. Any parent who is looking to get their child/children into the Moore School District should really consider Houchin, it is a TOP NOTCH School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2008

I love the Before and After School Program at Houchin. The Camp Bulldog staff plans alot of fun activities.. The teacher on Friday afternoons is extremely friendly and professional. My child hates for me to pick them up early.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2005

My son has been going there for the past 2 years, and I would have to say that the 1 on 1 involvement that the teachers have with the kids is outstanding. They have done wonders with my sons reading ability. I really like the way that the Mr. Romines gets down on the kids level. Most of all I love the way the teachers keep me informed about whats going on in the classroom. This is my sons 3rd school and its absolutely wonderful. Thank you so much Mr. Romines and Staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2004

I have Three kids there and they make sure that the children and the parents have all the applications that we need to enhance our childrens learning. Thanks
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2004

My son attended kindergarden at Houchin last year, Mrs Cason is amazing! He has shown unbelievable progress in his reading and computer skills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2004

In the six years our son has been there I have never had a problem or concern that was not taken care of with care. We have never seen a pricipal like Mr. Romines. He keeps the atmosphere light and expectations high. He knows how to balance it out to get the most from the kids. He is a awsome pricipal. We can't say enough positive things about this school. We have seen what they have done for our son's education, and now our daughter has started Kgtn. there. We can't wait to see how far she can go. Thanks to all the staff at Houchin!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2003

I have to say since Mr.Romines has been the principal at the school, things have been more fun for the children. Their special ed teacher Mrs. Patterson is awesome with the kids!!! They have followed my sons IEP and hasent tried to ignore any of my concerns. Thanks!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
98%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
90%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 77% in 2012.

40 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 66% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
97%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 54% 54%
Hispanic 18% 13%
Black 9% 10%
American Indian/Alaska Native 8% 17%
Two or more races 8% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 78%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3200 North Webster
Moore, OK 73160
Phone: (405) 735-4490

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Sky Ranch Elementary School
Oklahoma City, OK




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT