Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Northmoor Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 448 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 28, 2012

I think this school has very good teachers and staff. They act as if they really care for the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2012

Best School in the district!! Mr Randall the Pricipal is great!!!! The Pre K teachers are wonderful!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2012

Love this school! My children have been going there for the past 6 years and they love it! Top notch teachers! We have waited to move just so our kids can finish out @ Northmoor .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2011

My daughter loves this school. I have to say I agree. Very pleased with the teacher and most of all principal. I really think he knows all the kids names. One of the things that impressed me the most is how the principal greets each student by name. He is also very easily approachable. My only regret is that we will be having to move this summer and cannot take the principal and teachers with us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2011

My son went to Northmoor for pre-k and his teacher was AMAZING! Mrs. Trent was so down to earth and patient with my son, and all of the children. Her classroom was neat and very organized, and my son always had wonderful things to say about his day at school. Her teaching assistant was also the most wonderful woman! My son grew to love both of them. He loved going to school and learned a great deal while in her class. Now my oldest son had the exact opposite experience in his kindergarten class. He was bullied, not only by his teacher but also by another child in the class. He never had homework, and the teacher REFUSED to speak with me about my son's progress. Little did I know he was behind in reading, which has continued into 1st grade, and she never EVER made me aware of this. She behaved as if the children were irritating her, and that she hated her job. I had a discussion with the principal and another teacher about her and they both agreed she was a stain on this wonderful school's image! I hope that she is fired and isn't allowed to ruin any other childrens kindergarten experience! If you can send your child somewhere else for Kindergarten, PLEASE DO!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2009

I have been a Northmoor All -Stars Parent now for 3 years! I have been extremely pleased with the teachers, staff and principal. They have always been very responsive to the needs of students and families. They have a great PTA---I only wish I could be more invovled. Keep up the good work and thanks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2009

Before attending Northmoor all we heard about was what a great school it was and how nice and friendly everyone is and we have not been disappointed. The Principal greats every student by name at the front door everyday. The teachers are children have had have been wonderful and by looking at the test scores they seem to have high academic standards. This is truely a great school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2006

Northmoor is a great school. Every teacher my daughter has ever had is caring, patient, and willing to help. They have all been very good about keeping the parents informed about my childs progress and she has learned more than i could have ever expected. Keep up the good work teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2005

My family is very happy with this school. We are a militay family so it is hard for kids to move to a new school, but northmoor has made it easy. They made my fifth and sixth grader feel right at home. I am informed regulary on their progress. We could not have asked for better teachers or school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

Northmoor is fantastic. The Reading program is very energetic, keeps the kids wanting to learn more. Teachers have high expectations of themselves as well as the students. My Granddaughter is exceeding with the knowledge of the teachers. And with the family atmosphere that is in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

37 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
83%

2009

 
 
98%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2012.

38 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
71%

2009

 
 
98%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2012.

52 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
77%

2009

 
 
97%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2012.

52 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
77%

2009

 
 
97%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

36 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
89%

2009

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2012.

36 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
87%

2009

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 91% in 2012.

36 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 77% in 2012.

36 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
89%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

36 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

38 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2012.

38 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
86%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 54%
Hispanic 13% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 11% 18%
Black 5% 10%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 0%
Asian 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 54%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

211 NE 19th
Moore, OK 73160
Phone: (405) 735-4420

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT