Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Plaza Towers Elementary School

Public | PK-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 19, 2014

This school is amazing. My son went to Plaza Towers last year and his pre-k teachers not only taught him well but they saved his life May 20th. I can never thank them enough and I am beyond excited that my youngest will be there next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2013

A MESSAGE FROM GREATSCHOOLS: We are deeply saddened to hear about the massive tornado that tore through the community of Moore, OK on Monday 5/20/13 devastating homes, businesses and schools. Our thoughts and prayers are with the Plaza Towers Elementary School community. Out of respect for the families, teachers and school at large, we are temporarily suspending the publication of new comments submitted by the public about this school. You may still submit 'reviews' but please be advised that they will be held and subject to review by our editors for consideration at a later date. All reviews must adhere to our guidelines. Again, all of us here at GreatSchools send our sincere condolences and sympathy to those affected by the severe weather in Moore, OK and surrounding areas. And we salute the many people working to provide emergency assistance.


Posted August 16, 2009

I'm a parent and a certified teacher (though not a teacher at this particular school). My son is in the 4th grade now. He's been here all the way up. This is a school that serves kids from across the socioeconomic spectrum - from some of the poorest to some of the most affluent neighborhoods in the district. I have been very impressed with how the school creates success across the board. I love that my kid is *not* going to school with a bunch of rich white kids, but that he's getting a great education all the same. The teachers are experienced and dedicated - many have been at this school for ten or twenty years - and the principal and counselor are involved and accessible. The test scores were down a bit last year (2008) but rebounded this year (2009). It's one of the top-scoring schools in the district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2009

Not a terrible school,but diffinately has problems. Many, many bad kids and mean teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

This is an awesome school and my daughter loved it and all her teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2009

My son has attended Plaza Towers for grades 2 thru 4 and is in the gifted program. I have had dealings with David Moore and have always received a good response. If I email him, I receive a phone call within 10 min. during school hours and have never had him not to return a call. All of the problems that I have addressed about having a gifted child have been taken into consideration by every teacher that my son has had. The teachers that we have had are very proactive and will email or send notes home for a conference when there is a problem. My only complaint would be about the bullying that happens during recess and after school. (This is more of a parental problem than a problem with the teacher.)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2008

This is an awesome school. I've had nothing but fantastic interactions with the faculty here. The teachers seem to genuinely care about the students and always involve the parents. Two thumbs up to Plaza Towers and to David Moore for running a great program (Great Expectations) and a terrific school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2008

We moved to this school and hated it. there was one teacher that was just rude. I have talked with a parent over the weekend at the mall, that to our suprise had the same problem thank god I wasnt the only one!! We didnt even know this lady .She told us she was transfering her son asap!!The other teachers would sweep everything under the rug!!!Like it never happend!!!This teacher was a total -----.I also would talk with David guess what the same thing!!!I would not recommend this school!!Bullying never stops!!!good luck to you all who decide this one!!!youll need it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2007

I've had an overall positive experience with Plaza Towers, although I'm a bit frustrated with the number of students that are held back. I enjoy the small school environment and my child always has a smile on his face. On the other hand I feel a Gifted/Magnet Program would be beneficial for students that are above grade level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2005

My son has attended Plaza Towers from 1st through 6th grade. I have had constant contact throughout the school years with all of my son's teachers. The teachers express a genuine concern in my son's abilities and have gone out of their way to help him in every way possible - whether if it was to help him through a struggling period or to praise him when he excelled at something. Luckily, I haven't had to deal with the principal too much, but he is a wonderful principal and is always there with a smiling face to greet you. My daughter will be attending Plaza Towers in 2 years and I look forward to it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2004

Plaza towers is a school which i have highly recommended to anyone moving within the school's vicinity. In regard to the school's api (academic performance index) score, which was 1401, plaza towers was 1st in the moore district, and 15th in the entire state of oklahoma. In conjunction with the above, mr. David moore is an outstanding principal. As a parent, i have never had to wait longer than 20 minutes for a return phone call from this gentleman. He is very efficient, and exudes a genuine devotion toward every student in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2004

From the outside, it is by far not the shiniest schools in the district. The 3 teachers and the Principle Mr. Moore are the only faculty I have dealt with. Plaza Towers School surpasses my expectations for a schools boundary that encompass large swings in socioeconomic areas, as do most of old Moore does. The kindergarten curriculum is tough; it will set great habits for the rest of my children s school life. Mr. Moore and the kindergarten teachers expect attention, respect and learning. This is a gem of a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2003

I have two boys attending Plaza Towers Elem. My youngest son of whom has Autism has just finished his Kindergarten school year. I rated 'Teacher Quality' as a 3 (out of 5 possible) due to the fact that while my youngest son's teachers were very effective in helping him to succeed, a few teachers of which my oldest son has come into contact throughout the years have not been totally up to par as to what I would expect from professional educators. As far as special education educators, there have been a time or two where the teachers had not been trained properly concerning a certain learning system. I do not place blame onto the teachers, for this is something the district should have provided as far as adequate training. Concerning the school's Principal, I have experienced nothing less than effective communtication, and a genuine respect toward me as a parent.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 77% in 2012.

46 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
98%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 66% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 59%
Hispanic 16% 14%
Native American 6% 16%
Black 3% 9%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Source: State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 169%N/A61%
Special education 223%N/A15%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

852 SW 11th
Moore, OK 73160
Phone: (405) 735-4430

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Briarwood Elementary School
Oklahoma City, OK






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT