Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Muldrow Elementary School

Public | PK-4

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 28, 2014

This has been one of the worse schools ever, they bully parents and do not take care of their special needs children. They do not put the needs of children first or have up to date training for apecial needs children through out the school. They use funds that should be for computera and education on other things. Its not a friendly or well run school at all. They treat parents like they are outsiders and not welcome in their childs education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2014

This school spanks children without parents permission, tells kindergarten kids they can't have breakfast if they don't remember a 4 digit code the kids themselves have to type in, gossip among the teachers talking about parents, and doesn't make their kids wash their hands after being outside before eating. There are other problems here too. Not what I expected at all!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

The focus is on education and the teachers are the best you could ever find. They truly treat the kids like their own, which I love.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

when my second grader started muldrow this year her entry level was that of K 9month, through all the dedication of her teacher,counselor, and the new RIT pilot program she ended the year as 2grade 5 month level her reading level was 21 words to 90 words a minute. we will forever be great full. we are looking forward to next year!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2005

I would rate Muldrow an 8 out of 10. My son has A.D.H.D and all the teachers or so helpful. They don't let him use this as an excuse, but they understand him and it makes him feel comfortable and his doctor say he is doing so well and learning to handle it without medication and he may get to come off the meds by the time he gets in middle school. I'd like to think that all the help he gets at Muldrow elementry school has helped him. My other children are all doing great. I love the preschool program. My five year old is learning spanish and has learned more them my nephew who is in a fort smith school preschool program. All the teachers in the preschool and headstart are all wonderful people and makes me feel comfortable with leaving my child with them. Thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2004

I have to agree with the last statement! You're not alone in believeing that. Mr. Watson is a terrific principal. He's worked with me and both of my kids, even though Mr. Michaels is tecnically over the younger one. I hope that Mr. Watson never changes the way he works. His technique is working wonders on all of the kids at Muldrow Elementary. His enthusiasim makes parents feel involved, and want to be more involved in their child's education. The teachers that I've met are terrific in all aspects, even the ones my children don't have, are awsome. I've been around the block a time or two and am proud to call Muldrow, home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2004

The 3rd grade Principal is wonderful. So helpful and encouraging to the children. The teachers are great, they really care about the children..and are friendly to parents as well. The only negative is the principle for the K-2nd grade...he can be real nasty...but if you can tolerate him then Mr. Watson, the other principal is the model of what a Principal should be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2003

'Muldrow Schools are wonderful. I have a child in the 4th and 5th grade here and they really love it here. My 4th grader is learning Spanish and my 5th grader is in beginner Band, Most child do not get these classes until they are in higher grades. We have moved 5 times in 2 years and have had to move our girls to differant schools each time . Compared to their other schools I would have to say for a small town I rate this school a 9.'
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 59%
Native American 30% 16%
Hispanic 6% 14%
Black 2% 9%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Source: State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 178%N/A61%
Special education 218%N/A15%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

301 South Main
Muldrow, OK 74948
Phone: (918) 427-3316

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT