Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Muldrow High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 6, 2014

As a parent I am outraged that a public school will not provide textbooks to my child. How are they expected to learn anything? The principal and councilor will not return a phone call so forget trying to communicate with them about your child. Worse school ever!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2013

Very happy that they removed the Ten Commandments from the school walls. This is a public school, and paid for by taxpayers (who may not be Christian). Also, that whole Constitution thing... Hey, let's throw that out the window. When you want to post texts from the Quran or other religious texts, not to mention Atheists & Agnostics, and when the Constitution is deemed nullified, then go ahead and post the 10 commandments. Use logic, people.


Posted September 12, 2008

I just think it's great that my kids can go to school in a moral and safe environment where learning is top and school spirit is waaay up there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2007

This school has gotten too strict with all their rules!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2007

My goodness, what are we parents coming to if a school is strict and holds the students accountable for their actions and morals? How dare a school try to keep its campus and learners clean, uplifted, full of good U.S.A citizenship and do its best to instill good character traits and morals? That's the problem with the youth of today.... Parents don't back our schools, they just want to criticize because their Little Johnny got in trouble. All of us at one time or another have done something that may deserve a punishment. I see no reason to discredit a school for trying to point students in the right direction. Mother of a Senior 2007
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2006

My daughter is a senior at Muldrow High, and I am very supportive of the school system. This year they have implemented an online gradebook system so that parents can check out their own students grades, assignments, and even absences in each class. The teachers are available not only during school hours but most tutor outside of school as well and hold extensive study groups near end-of-instruction testing time. The extracurricular department isn't the best in the nation, but when compared to the surrounding area it isn't lacking. They offer basketball, football, baseball, softball, quiz bowl, cherokee quiz bowl, dance team, cheerleading, and many service organizations that provide students with an opportunity to get community service hours for college scholarships. They take academics seriously, and I hope my child will come back and raise her children in this school system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2005

I have two children in Muldrow school system and I believe the school in an over all is pretty good. It does need an internet access for the parents and the students so they can go and find out about there grades and any work they might still have out that is due. I have my children bring there grades home every Friday and I understand sometimes this is alot for the teachers, but as I stated before if there was a web site I could go to and check the grades for myself I would not need to bother the treachers. I believe we should be informed sooner if our children are having trouble in a class or they are just being lazy. I do not believe that it should wait until the have a D or worse.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2005

This is the first year at this school for my children. i was very disappointed to find out that there is very little to offer my children in the extra curricular activies. unless you play football baseball or basketball, there is nothing else. they do offer marching band, but lack in the strings,orchestra, soccer,tennis, rock climbing, plays, dances,swimming, jazz.see where i am going? if there were more out there to offer the students, there would be very little time to get bored. everyone has their talents and passions, it is hard to shine here. the learning is great tho. very giving teachers in the learning department . my hats off to them for that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2005

this school is the best as far as academics in the surronding area but there athletics program has a lot to be desired.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2005

I think the corporal punishment rule is wrong and I disagree with it, and I think this school is too strict on the students. I have a daughter in the tenth grade at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

I have had two children graduate from muldrow high school I slso have one in the tenth I think it is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 87% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
71%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 81% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
85%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
77%
English II

The state average for English II was 91% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
87%
English III

The state average for English III was 96% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 89% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
83%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 81% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests End-of-Instruction (OCCT EOI) exams to test students in high school in several subjects. The OCCT EOI is a high school graduation requirement. The OCCT EOI exams are standards-based tests, which means they measure specific skills defined for each subject by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 51% 54%
American Indian/Alaska Native 32% 17%
Two or more races 7% 5%
Hispanic 6% 13%
Black 2% 10%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 65%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

801 West Shawntel Smith Blvd
Muldrow, OK 74948
Phone: (918) 427-3274

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Central High School
Sallisaw, OK





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT