Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Muskogee High School

Public | 9-12 | 1641 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 31, 2012

I am proud of my Rougher family! We have came so far, and we continue to grow academically and environmentally. We have an amazing staff, principal, and our student leadership is without a doubt above the best of the best. We have room for improvement as does any school; the difference is we are not afraid to admit it, and then work dilligently to solve it!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 5, 2011

I graduated from Muskogee High School in 2009. I was in the top 15% of my class. School is what you make it. The teachers were okay,some cared,some didn't. I really enjoyed Mrs.Owens,she teaches English,and AP English,which is the class I was in. I never had any disciplinary problems,but from what I seen,I felt that the school handled them the best way they could. I do agree with the poster about the school spending too much on the football team,which was below average,in my opinion. I feel that some of the teachers let the football players have a pass when it came to their schoolwork just because they played football,and that goes for other students who played other sports as well. I wish they that would have given more recognition to the students with good grades and attendance than to the students who played sports. Overall,this school was satisfactory. I don't think that the classes prepared you well for college unless you took AP classes,if you didn't,then you probably wouldn't have been prepared for college. But I did enjoy the effort that the College Center put into providing resources for college bound seniors.


Posted May 25, 2011

I am responding to the parent who cannot spell "ridiculous". Her comment about academics is ridiculous. Muskogee High School is not only a "Best Practice" school but was recently named a "National School of Character", one of only three in the Nation. I graduated from Muskogee High and now I get to teach here. That's the coolest thing.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 26, 2010

As a parent of 3 children who graduated from MHS and a 4th who is currently a student, I can say that MHS has improved greatly over the past 4 to 5 years. There has been a lot of improvement in the social climate (including relationships between students and teachers), academics, extracuriccular offerings, and pride and morale. As a parent who is there quite a bit I see great changes and ex-pect it to get even better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2009

'We' my son, his dad and I have not been happy with MHS, with some teachers, classes, discipline and Soccer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2008

Muskogee High School Was named to Oklahoma's Best Practice Schools. It has great facilities, great teachers and great students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 18, 2008

Muskogee High School is not a great school. It doesn't have good punishment system. It also doesn't have a good academic program. My daughter dropped out of band and choir because it's just so rediculous.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2007

This school is no more then a place to house our children during the day. They are not preparing our young adults for entry into a citadel of higher education. The teachers do not teach, nor does the administration appear to be capable of completing the task that they have been employed for. This school is reminiscent of the poor efforts that are indicative of a public school in low income metropolitan cities in our country.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2007

When kids don't get the grades that mom and dad think they should its easy to point a finger of blame at the teachers or the school. Remember when you point a finger of accusation or blame, four fingers simultaneously point back at you. Parents are you sure that you are doing everything you can to support not just your children but also the teachers and school. Don't wait for a note from the teacher, or semester grades get involved on a daily basis with your children's education, become involved at the school and see for yourself how 'together' we can make this a better learning experience for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2007

I'm not sure what the other users are talking about because Muskogee High School is an amazing school! This is coming from a 2006 graduate that is now attending an Ivy League School, Dartmouth College. Our 2006 class had National Merit Scholars, Gates Millennium Scholars, and Advanced Placement Scholars! These are some of the highest awards that can be given to students in a high school education. You won't find students with these awards at Hilldale or Fort Gibson. I'm not the only member of my class that left for college. We had another student that went to MIT while the majority of our students attended great undergraduate schools like the University of Oklahoma, Oklahoma State University, and Northeastern State University. I can not tell you enough about the educational quality that Muskogee High has to offer. Oh yeah, Muskogee has one heck of a football team!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 21, 2006

my four children attented this school. All which said they had diffuculties in their college classes. i do not think this school prepares your children for higher education. i would not send them to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2005

Muskogee Public High School is in need of some good quality teachers. This isnt a parent, this is a prior graduate (2005) and who better to hear it from than, someone who went? The school went through several principals all within 4 years, several different teachers, and changed programs. After school programs are good, very good. I will say that, their are tons of clubs to get invovled in. Sports are decent. Definitly average. Parent involvement really only comes from the most popular, or richest student. Our academic programs suffer because we let go some of our best programs to budget all the money we are spending on our average football team.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 84% in 2012.

168 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
56%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 77% in 2012.

216 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
48%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 79% in 2012.

311 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
67%
English II

The state average for English II was 88% in 2012.

309 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
84%
English III

The state average for English III was 92% in 2012.

287 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
82%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 87% in 2012.

296 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2009.

327 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2009.

290 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
71%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 77% in 2012.

258 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests End-of-Instruction (OCCT EOI) exams to test students in high school in several subjects. The OCCT EOI is a high school graduation requirement. The OCCT EOI exams are standards-based tests, which means they measure specific skills defined for each subject by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 34% 54%
American Indian/Alaska Native 33% 18%
Black 25% 10%
Hispanic 7% 12%
Asian 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 73%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3200 East Shawnee
Muskogee, OK 74403
Phone: (918) 684-3750

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Fort Gibson High School
Fort Gibson, OK





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT