Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sadler Arts Academy

Public | K-8 | 364 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 17, 2014

Wonderful school. So glad my grandchildren go to this. Fine school. Best teachers and. All. Staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

Sadler is a wonderful school that helps students thrive. I wish I could have gone to Sadler when I was a student!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 6, 2012

what is so fantastic and awesome about the first four grades test scores below the state average?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2012

We waited 3 years to get our kids in Sadler. Completely worth it! Faculty is top notch and the kids are immersed in arts and culture..things most other schools lack. Anytime we have needed assistance the staff has been more than willing to help out. The teachers are not zombified by years of being under appreciated. The teachers really make the school awesome. Fantastic learning field trips the best stage performances I have seen in a school ..When is the last time you saw an elementary version of nutcracker where the lead role actually danced on pointe? Sadler teaches kids that culture and art surpasses petty things such as drugs and violence. I really think this school will make the difference in our communities youth and how they percieve their abilities in the future. I will be very sad when my kids age out and go off to high school. Too bad M.H.S doesnt follow the Sadler curriculum ! Sadler is the best choice in Muskogee..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2010

the school started out good for my children, then teachers and administration turned on my children, my children were wrongly accused and lied on. worst experience we have ever had.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2009

this school is fun and exciting and they make learning fun
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 5, 2009

I had four children attand Sadler in all of the grades from K-8 and have nothing but positive to say about the teachers and staff. The kids learn in a loving environment, but are not taught to just take a test but learn so many different things about the world and life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2009

My daughter is finishing up her kindergarten year and she loves the school. We as parents haven't had any problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2009

i have been going to sadler ever since i was in kindergarden but and it is a fantastic school
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 11, 2009

Sadler is wonderful. My daughter is in the 5th grade and this is her first year there. I just can not believe the activities and the education my daughter is getting. The teachers and the staff are a wonderful blessing to her and Muskogee
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2008

Sadler is the best school I have ever seen. The kids get to involve the arts in every subject. Every year there is a production of 'the nutcracker' which is performed by the students. Plus the principal is the kindest, most wonderful woman. She is never to busy for anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2008

I love sadler! It lets me be what I want most of all! To be a creative kid! I don't have pressure to act all grown up, when I'm not!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 29, 2007

Sadler is a wonderful school. I love the fact that it incorporates different learning styles through art. Teachers are awesome and they take pride in their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2007

Sadler is a model of excellence. I currently have three children attending Sadler. They are magnet students, meaning that we chose Sadler over our very popular school district. The quality of educators is outstanding and the expectations for students high. Sadler's recent test scores were very high and all three of my gifted and talented children are challenged daily in their classrooms. Sadler provides a safe and caring environment where all children can learn and excel. Each child's strengths are brought out in exciting ways as instruction is embedded in an active arts curriculum. Every child is a shining star at Sadler!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2005

This school is great. Anytime I want to speak with a teacher or gather information, someone is always there to assist me in a friendly and effecient manner. My daughter excels at this school. The arts that are available here gives my child a wonderful insight into what she can achieve and helps her grades as well. I would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2004

I am impressed with the teachers and the overall atmosphere at Sadler. I can always go to the principal or teacher if a problem arises. There is a caring invironment that the children respond to. The curriculum is challenging and rewarding. Good work,Sadler!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2004

I love this school and my children do to. If I ever have a problem the staff are always willing to help.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
93%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 77% in 2012.

30 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
86%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 66% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
87%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 89% in 2012.

19 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

11 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

11 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 60% in 2013.

11 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 77% in 2012.

15 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 65% in 2013.

12 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 47% 59%
Black 23% 9%
Native American 20% 16%
Hispanic 10% 14%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Source: State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 166%N/A61%
Special education 28%N/A15%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ronia Davison

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

800 Altamont Street
Muskogee, OK 74401
Website: Click here
Phone: (918) 684-3820

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT