Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Newcastle Elementary School

Public | 2-5 | 570 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 3, 2012

We been in the Newcastle Public School System for 4 years now. We are very pleased with the overall quality of the school. Our son continues to make gains in his overall developement. I highly recommend Newcastle if you are looking for a new school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2009

I have had four children go through the Newcastle Public School System. The teachers, administration, and community work together to make this a great school system. Every effort is made by the administration and community to give the students and teachers the very best as far as the buildings, technology, curriculum, and supplies-so that students can succeed. Parents also play a key role in supporting the school system and teachers. Those parents who are active in their child's learning development, and supportive of their teacher will see nothing but success in their child's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2009

We just moved here from the OKC Moore area and we love it. My kids are doing outstanding and we love the teachers! This may be a small town but the schools surpass any system I have ever been involved with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2009

My son has attended Newcastle Elementary School for two years and I have been very pleased with the progress that I have seen in his education. We have had only positive experiences with his teachers as well. You can tell that the teachers at Newcastle love the children that are in their classrooms and are interested in helping them succeed. I have been in other school districts and am very pleased to say that my children attend Newcastle Elementary School. From the principal and teachers to the bus driver on my sons school bus, thank you for all that you do to make my sons feel welcomed and loved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2008

My daughter has attended this school for less than 1 year. She is in second grade and way behind what she learned in first grade at her previous school. This is my first experience with an Oklahoma public school and I am not impressed. Private school is very expensive, but if you want your child to learn, it is the only way to go.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2008

Newcastle is a great school in many ways. we have had children attending for a number of years and have worked with many teachers. There are some areas we would like to see improved; more stress on academic achievement, less on athletics, more hiring of qualified educators, more money put into programs such as drama, music,art, along with gifted programs in all areas(not all students play football) It would be great to have principals who not only love their work, but show they love the children and are efficient in motivating teachers to be the best they can be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2006

We have had children in Newcastle Schools for 10 years now and have had several positive experiences. However, there have been a few draw backs. The principals are not very parent friendly and one negative of going to a small community school is that there are not nearly as many oppurtunities as larger schools, i.e. drama, debate, more than Spanish as foreign language, etc. For the most part the teachers have been great although there are several that are tenure teachers that administration has made clear will not be going anywhere because of how long they have been there and by who they are related too. Another draw back to small town schools - the good ole'boy system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2004

I have a child that goes to our school, he has had very good teachers and a strong leadership. With the addition of a new principal I think things will only get better. I am from newcastle and am proud to raise my child in this school system. I beleive there are and will be very good opertunities for not only mine but all the childern in this system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2004

My son attended the first two years of school in Newcastle. Mrs. Steen is the best! Any child would be lucky to have her. I was not impressed with [another teacher he had]. She hated her job, it was evident by the way she treated the children. I did not think it was funny that the children called her the meany. My child left that class hating school and crying not to return. But I know that if we would have stayed in Newcastle, my son would have been blessed with many great teachers in the future. The 2nd grade staff was wonderful. I believe all of the problems in the building could have been solved with stronger leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2004

My family moved from the Mid-Del School area to Newcastle in January of 2004. My son attends Pre-K at Newcastle Elementary. This school by far has the best teachers and facility in the metro area. Not only has his teacher taught him how to read, write, count, spell, and ryme in the few months he has been there, she also tutors his cousin and other children after school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 77% in 2012.

113 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
89%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 66% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 59%
Native American 27% 16%
Hispanic 8% 14%
Black 1% 9%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Source: State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 131%N/A61%
Special education 214%N/A15%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Terri Scott

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

418 Northwest 10th Street
Newcastle, OK 73065
Website: Click here
Phone: (405) 387-6474

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT