Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Nichols Hills Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 469 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 26, 2013

This school is the best school and the teachers and principle are great. My children attended this school and it was such an awesome experience. The staff here are very patient and kind and they are always looking out for the best interest of each student. A very nurturing environment
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2013

My son like the school that's tells every thing,no word more than to see your kids run to school every morning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

We did a lot of research, visited the school during the summer etc...felt confident we could move our son into a public school for the first time. NH Elementary is rated the highest school in the entire city. His first day I waited at the door after school and watched his class walk by without him. No one knew who he was or where he might be. 10 minutes later I found him wandering lost down a side hallway. He had gone to the office for help because he was lost and was scared back into the hallway because an irate parent was yelling at the staff and "grabbing his daughter roughly". The office secretary confirmed this for me. We moved my son two days later. The school nurse called me three weeks later. "Your son is just fine, you don't need to come get him...I just need his shot record or he will have to be dismissed from school." I had filled out the paperwork to withdraw him three weeks before. Unbelievable. We moved from out of state and chose the area of Nichols Hills specifically because of the rave reviews the school received. While we do love the area and feel fortunate we found an affordable house the school simply does not live up to our expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2013

NHE is a fantastic school with caring teachers and great parental involvement. My children absolutely love their school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2011

My brothers and I really loved going to this school back in the late 1960's and early 1970's. The teachers like Ms. Maney and Ms. Booze and Mr. King were great and we learned alot. The school later closed for several years and then has been reopened for the last ten years to great success in the neighborhood. Even though it has been quite awhile since have been back to the school, I still get great nostalgic memories of the place and would love to take a tour to see how the place has changed since our days playing kickball and four square during recess and playing with the neighborhood children. A great place growing up.


Posted October 12, 2010

great teachers, outstanding leadership, our kids LOVE going to school every day, they make learning fun
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

Great school, great teachers, great principal and staff! They really care about the students and expect parents to be involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2010

I,m a grandparent and have two grandchildren. One graduated from Nichols Hills elementary and one who went to a private school after 2nd grade. The first child got such a fine education at N.H. that she was put into advanced math. The 2nd child did nothing but fall back two grade levels. Because of this we are going back to N.H. for 4th grade. The the private school wouldn't offer after school help when we needed it. N.H. teachers always offered help for as long as my granddaughter needed it to understand a concept. We now know that N.H. offers a much finer education for free, than the school that charged a tuition. BESIDES ALL THIS, the principal and the dedicated teachers are the finest found anywhere.


Posted October 7, 2009

I have two grandsons attending Nichols. My children went to private schools, however I have to say the quality of education equals or even surpasses their education. I give full credit to the principal and talented, dedicated teachers.


Posted May 22, 2009

This will be our third year at Nichols Hills Elementary. I attended private schools as a child and feel that the education my children are receiving is superior to that of many private schools. I am amazed every day at the skill and dedication of our NHE teachers and staff. Each child is valued as an individual and is granted respect for his/her beliefs. We highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2009

We moved in from out of state and have been VERY pleased with the inidividual teachers that we have had at NHE from K-2nd grade. They have all been very involved and genuinely care about their students. The administration, however, is poor. The prinicipal is uninvolved and does not show the leadership that one would expect in her role.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2009

NHE is a WONDERFUL learning environment, with dedicated teachers who truly want our kids to suceed. A great principal who supports her teachers and is very involved with parents. Has one of the best PTA's! Nearly half of the students/families are here through transfer...which speaks loudly. Highly involved parents. GREAT school! We are so blessed to be a transfer family at NHE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2008

I have had children at this school for several years and nieces and nephews at this school since it reopened in the nineties. For years, I would say it was the top school in the district but it seems to be losing its focus. The principal gets the school involved in a lot of programs but doesn't seem to support them well. Discipline problems are becoming more evident as leadership in the building slides. Test scores are dropping. I still believe the school is in the top ten in Oklahoma City, and I believe that it could be number one again with strong leadership. It has amazing parental invovlement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2008

My son has attended this school, and my daughter is now attending. I wish I could take this school with us through highschool !!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2008

Great for most children, but there is no enrichment program. No accountability from principal on providing more challenging material, so an enriching learning environment is really hit or miss. I like the curriculum, but it's too easy, and there's not enough science. Our school should not be comparing itself to other schools in our city as a measure of excellence--that seems very short-sighted to me. We should be comparing ourselves to the best schools in the country.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2008

This school is wonderful!! Im a grad this year and it is very very sad to be leaving. This is the most loving caring school in this world.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 28, 2007

My daughter loves learning, playing and socializing at school. Her teacher is great, feedback is sent home weekly, and there is a lot of parental cohesion and involvement, which always produces more interested, involved students. Removing our daughter from private school was very frightening at first, but we're so blessed to have located an excellent equivalent - perhaps even better - school! She absolutely loves the afterschool care program, too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2006

We moved here after a lot of research on schools in the area. This elementary school is one of the best schools in this area. My son loves learning and his teacher is very caring and always gives us feedback on his class work. All the parents and staff we have met are very nice. We especially love their SHARE program and the fact that no child is excluded just because they can not afford certain materials.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2006

Excellent Primary Grade School. Involved teachers and staff. Strong Parent participation. Blue Ribbon School. Very cooperative with regard to providing special education services to children with need. Education based in core knowledge. The school promotes an atmosphere of excellence in learning and social responsibility. Lovely campus. Safe neighborhood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2006

I am not sure what school the parent below me is referring to, but it is not the same one that my children currently attend. The principal and staff members are very focused on the children both in and out of the classroom. This includes many programs in which all children are involved and made to feel special. For example, an Arts Festival where every child had several pieces of art on display, a Book Fair where every child is allowed to choose a book of their own, and a uniform closet where students who can't afford uniforms are provided with new and used uniforms at no cost to them. There are also outstanding 'extras' such as plays, choir, student council, and peer mediators (to name a few). I have never seen teachers and staff members work so hard and care so much about students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
95%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 77% in 2012.

49 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 66% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

10 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

10 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 58% 59%
Black 25% 9%
Hispanic 11% 14%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 2%
Native American 3% 16%
Source: State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 135%N/A61%
Special education 26%N/A15%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1301 West Wilshire Boulevard
Nichols Hills, OK 73116
Phone: (405) 587-2583

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Britton Elementary School
Oklahoma City, OK



Johnson Elementary School
Oklahoma City, OK




Casady School
Oklahoma City, OK


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT