Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Irving Middle School 5

Posted May 09, 2014
- a community member
I've been to many schools in Oklahoma- from John Marshall to Deer Creek. When I first moved to Norman, I didn't expect Irving to be decent. After my first WEEK there, I could see that I was wrong. I immediately made plenty of friends (without even getting that involved into clubs, sports, etc). Everyone is kind here, and not at all stuck up or "ghetto". It's a perfect school. Not at all cliquish. I have a hard time concentrating on what I actually should be learning, I usually concentrate on how the teacher teaches us. With this school, it was a completely different case. I learned so much in such a short amount of time. I also LOVE the extra curriculum options, so many. Also, just a little heads up, the Spanish classes are the best I've taken!

Irving Middle School 5

Posted November 24, 2011
- a parent
My daughter has been at Irving for a year and a half. She loves it there and has flourished. I can tell that she respects her teachers and thinks they respect her. I can easily check up in her grades. When she got off track with choices at school, I was contacted by teachers. We were able to steer her back and I felt the teachers were supportive of my daughter and myself. I would be comfortable to request a meeting with teachers at any time. My daughter is now involved with sports and I'm impressed with the coach. I have observed him emphasize character to his team, not just sports strategies. We're happy!

Irving Middle School 5

Posted December 14, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Irving Middle School 5

Posted January 26, 2009
- a student
this school is great all the teachedrs can become your best friends they have great curricular outstanding acheivments and more

Irving Middle School 3

Posted September 30, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Irving Middle School 5

Posted June 08, 2008
- a student
I am a student at this school and i absolutly love it. The teachers are very sweet, and care for each and every one of us. They all push as to do a good job. And when we do do are very best the reward us. I love it!

Irving Middle School 5

Posted June 04, 2008
- a student
I go to Irving and I think its a great school...it gives us(the student body) an opportunity to be a little more independent and not rely on our teachers so much. If a parent still must be involved they can sign up for parent connect that gives them constant updates on students grades, assignments, and activities. Irving is a great place to be and I can't wait till next year! Go IMS!

Irving Middle School 1

Posted December 25, 2007
- a parent
The school is not emotionally, or physically safe for middle school students. The teachers care a lot but the kids are left without enough supervision at recess, lunch, and in the halls between classes. They are left to their own resources, and are not specifically taught how to solve conflict respectfully. Instead when conflict occurs the school just 'puts out the fire' and moves on. This creates a very emotionally threatening environment for students.

Irving Middle School 4

Posted May 16, 2006
- a former student
Great Teachers who really care, well-balanced ciriculum, and many opportunities for students to suceed.

Irving Middle School 5

Posted February 08, 2006
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Irving Middle School
125 Vicksburg Avenue, Norman, OK  73071
(405) 366-5941
Last modified Irving Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Irving Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top