Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jackson Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 19, 2014

My son has gone to Jackson from pre-K through 4th (presently). This is a great school and has some very dedicated and caring teachers. Dr. Stevens is driven to ensure that the educational standards are at their highest and students have a open and caring environment to thrive. There is not enough amazing things that can be said about Jackson or its staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2013

Jackson elementary has an amazing staff. Mrs. Magee and Mrs. Terry are AWESOME kindergarten teachers. I have had children in both classes and these teachers are so caring and loving. My children can be a handful but this teachers lovingly handled them. The relationships will last forever. The entire school is full of great teachers and students. the cultural diversity makes it an amazing place to learn!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2012

Great teachers--especially Mrs. Magee and Mrs. Wheeler--they really cares about the students. The principal is nice but I think he could be more involved in making Jackson great. We have lost some fantastic teachers in some of the upper grades over the past few years. (Mrs Leader and Mr. Tally) The new addition is awesome but it makes the rest of the school look dingy. The administration should look into painting the "old" school and removing mold from exterior. Also, there are still modular classrooms even with the addition. We have a lot of English second language children -with two great teachers, however given the population we could use two more. We also need more Reading Specialist. Parents at this school, for the most part, are fantastic--very involved. Several substitute teachers are parents of children at the school. The PTA is awesome and the teacher liason for the PTA is very active. The children at the school are taught to be respectful of others and are exposed to children of all backgrounds. The library is well stocked, however, I think it would be nice if the librarian could do actual lesson plans.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2012

My son started attending this school last year. (2010/11) We were all very unhappy with his 4th grade teacher. We actually considered transferring him out of Jackson but, we are so happy we stayed. His teacher is Mr. Tally and he is amazing. My son is a whole new kid who loves school now. I couldn't be happier with this teacher. All of Jackson s office staff, principle, counselor, librarian, etc are very pleasant to deal with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2011

My son is moving into 2nd grade, and so far the staff including the principal has been fantastic. We are looking forward to sending our younger boy in 2012.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2010

I have had children in several schools in Norman, and this staff is spectacular!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Focus's on creativity and serving the community
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2009

This is an awesome school! My daughter is now at Alcott MS but started going to Jackson when she was in the second grade. My son has gone there since he was in K and is now in 3rd grade. I would reccomend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2008

We are quite pleased with the school. Our child is in the 2nd grade now; he began attending in the 1st. His teacher, Mrs. Bruton, was great. She dealt with whatever concerns we had, yet was unbelieveably calm and in charge no matter what. Same with Ms. Dickinson this year. From what we can see, they are all great, though. Same with 2nd grade. Seems like most of the teachers have been there a while. The office staff is friendly and helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2008

My daughter attended through 1st grade. Pre-k was wonderful and i love her first grade teacher.( Mrs. Brunton)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2007

My daughter attended Pre-K last year and Kindergarten this year. My son is in Pre-K this year. This school cares about the kids in it and actively involves the parents in every aspect possible! The teachers are wonderful and genuinely enjoy what they do. The staff is always friendly and willing to stop and chat. They have music or PE every day, as well as interactive centers to foster creativity and learning. My kids have learned so much in such a short time! I would definitely recommend Jackson to anyone moving to Norman!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2006

Jackson is a wonderful school! We couldn't be more pleased. The teachers really care and it is amazing how much my 6 year old has learned this year. Mrs. Magee and Ms. Sides are amazing. The principal and office staff are very personable. They have PE and music everyday which my daughter loves. The parents are very involved. They are in the classroom constantly. We are transferring to this school for next year and plan to attend all the way through fifth grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
83%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 77% in 2012.

53 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 66% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 59%
Hispanic 27% 14%
Black 7% 9%
Native American 5% 16%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Source: State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 163%N/A61%
Special education 216%N/A15%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

520 South Wylie Rd
Norman, OK 73069
Phone: (405) 366-5884

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT