Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Longfellow Middle School 5

Posted August 28, 2013
- a community member
During the last 3 years this school has gone from good to excellent. Last years 6th grade class was the highest performing 6th greade class in the Norman district. The students are getting a quality and improving education. Care and safety for the students well being is a high priority of the principal and teachers. The building remodle completed last year has taken a building that is over 100 years old and turned it into a modern facility. Both of my children went through Longfellow and got a quality education. Go visit this school if you have any doubts.

Longfellow Middle School 4

Posted August 11, 2010
- a parent
Our son is starting 6th grade at Longfellow, and we have been very impressed already with the lengths they have gone to in helping the children get acclimated to the new environment. We have already been working with both teachers and administrators to insure all of our 6th graders have every advantage so they may be successful both socially and academically. I am frustrated when a school gets termed "ghetto" because of its diversity of students. I went to a "ghetto" middle and high school, and I received a top notch education that garnered scholarships from out-of-state schools - all while preparing me socially to enter the real world.


Longfellow Middle School 3

Posted June 22, 2010
- a parent
Probably an average middle school but people refer to it as the Norman ghetto middle school. Most of the teachers are wonderful but administration leaves alot to be desired. Lots of low income familes and parents that don't really care which leaves pta without much to work with, Academics are probably above the norm.

Longfellow Middle School 5

Posted April 16, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Longfellow Middle School 5

Posted February 19, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Longfellow Middle School 1

Posted January 28, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Longfellow Middle School 4

Posted April 21, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Longfellow Middle School 5

Posted November 02, 2006
- a parent
I have twins at this school so I get to experience both cores. My children love this school and the teachers are easy to talk to. How many 8th graders look forward to going to school? This is a great school.


Longfellow Middle School 2

Posted June 29, 2006
- a teacher
The administrators of this school really lack the backbone that it takes to make the school run effectively. The students are running wild without any consequences. Teachers are working hard but they lack the administrative support to make any head way with the student discipline problem that is quickly escalating.

Longfellow Middle School 5

Posted August 25, 2005
- a parent
My son had Mr. Millican as a teacher last year, and he was wonderful. I was a little sceptical because he was so young, but he was excellent! My son actually likes history now! I would highly recommend him to other parents.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Longfellow Middle School
215 North Ponca Avenue, Norman, OK  73071
(405) 366-5948
Last modified Longfellow Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Longfellow Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top