Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Norman High School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted June 28, 2016
- a community member
Dr. Beck has been a role model for my daughter and we have enjoyed the short time we have had with him. He is wonderful with his student body, is genuine and it shows. He should be very proud of what he has accomplished at NHS and what he will accomplish in the future. It should be exciting.

Norman High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 28, 2016
- a community member
I only had one instance with my son's spanish teacher but it was resolved and she is not longer at NHS. They respond to concerns and try to help solve the problems.

Norman High School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 28, 2016
- a community member
My kids used the library to get their homework done. Very little was brought home.

Norman High School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted June 28, 2016
- a community member
The school supports all of its students and try's to bring out the best in all of them. They have to want to be pushed to succeed.

Norman High School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted June 28, 2016
- a community member
Yes but respect is a two way street and there are a lot of children/students that are just awful people. The school can only do so much.

Norman High School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted June 28, 2016
- a community member
They try to teach compassion etc, but when they are not treated that way at home it is difficult to change them once they hit high school. The effort is made.

Norman High School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 28, 2016
- a community member
Absolutely. Both of my children were always treated fairly even when the decision was not in their favor.

Norman High School 5

Posted June 28, 2016
- a community member
I had two children graduate from NHS (8 years apart). The difference was incredible. They had different principles and it made a world of difference. Principle Beck is active with his student body and the respect he gives/gets is amazing. My son wishes he graduated with my daughter (2016). The teaching staff is a cut above the rest. NHS is the best high school in Norman.

Norman High School 5

Posted May 10, 2016
- a teacher
Norman High is student-centered school that exudes tremendous school spirit while focusing on citizenship, scholarship and integrity.

Norman High School 3

Posted August 11, 2015
- a parent
School is good and few staff members terrible!!!! Today enrolled my freshman and very upset on how I was treated!!! Very discouraging! If I am treated like this as a parent how are you treating my child?!!!!! Didn't have a utility bill but had my lease agreement, I.d. And other bills with current address. Told if I had a problem I can go across the street! This was either the principal or vice principal. Went to get an affidavit to show I live there because the lease with my name on it , wasn't enough. I told the secretary , "My fiancé is overseas and was there any other proof I could show?"She told me "I don't know what to tell you" and left. I don't understand why the staff feels it is okay to talk to parents in this manner!!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Norman High School
911 West Main Street, Norman, OK  73069
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (405) 366-5812
Last modified Norman High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top