Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Norman High School 3

Posted August 11, 2015
- a parent
School is good and few staff members terrible!!!! Today enrolled my freshman and very upset on how I was treated!!! Very discouraging! If I am treated like this as a parent how are you treating my child?!!!!! Didn't have a utility bill but had my lease agreement, I.d. And other bills with current address. Told if I had a problem I can go across the street! This was either the principal or vice principal. Went to get an affidavit to show I live there because the lease with my name on it , wasn't enough. I told the secretary , "My fiancé is overseas and was there any other proof I could show?"She told me "I don't know what to tell you" and left. I don't understand why the staff feels it is okay to talk to parents in this manner!!!

Norman High School 3

Posted June 30, 2014
- a parent
Overall NHS is a good school. There is a problem with Special Education. There is little support for students with Emotional/Behavioral Disabilities. These students are placed in Special Education classes with students who have learning disabilities when they are disruptive in the general education setting. Administration will not support SpEd teachers when these students become disruptive during class. SpEd teachers are reprimanded for not keeping their classes "in order".

Norman High School
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
My oldest child is now in the midst of a very demanding sophmore year at NHS, but with caring and excellent teachers, she is holding up well and learning lots. Go NHS Tigers!!

Norman High School 1

Posted August 21, 2009
- a parent
Care only about getting kids 'ready' for college and little about real learning and education. Principal and her staff only understand students they see as 'normal' (which means ones that are like their own children). We will be glad to be done with this school.

Norman High School
no rating

Posted May 15, 2009
- a parent
This is a very good school. One bad thing..hallways are crowded. Security is mediocre, and my son has went there for two years and I have never on one occasion have even been able to speak to a principal. The principals never deal directly with problems.

Norman High School 5

Posted February 08, 2008
- a student
I went to highschool there and I absolutely loved it! The teachers help you and guide you more than any other school I have been to - Just try it you'll love it too!

Norman High School 4

Posted March 08, 2007
- a parent
This school provides a laundry list of AP and advanced classes, as well as superb AEGIS honors programs. The student body is usually cohesive and spirited, but this sometimes causes problems with the school's cross-town rival, Norman North. Band, orchestra, choir, and other fine arts are well represented, and the students have the opportunity to produce multiple capble television programs. The clubs range from Bike Club to Young Republicans to the Black Student Alliance, so there are many extracurricular pursuits available. On balance, the administration is receptive to parent concerns, but the student body is still working to find a voice. As far as funding and red tape go, NHS is a good example of a quintessentially public school, but not so much so that kids aren't able to prosper. This school consistently churns out National Merit Scholars, Academic All-Staters, and other high achievers.

Norman High School 4

Posted July 06, 2006
- a parent
The one thing that stands out is the quality and quanity of courses offered. With budget cuts, most schools are limited to the courses they can offer. So I really feel that is a plus for Norman. As for sports and activities, they are on target. I think most parents are actively involved, but there are few that should get more involved in their students academics and activities. As for the leadership, they are quick to respond and follow policies and procedures.

Norman High School 4

Posted August 12, 2005
- a parent
We moved from out of state in the middle of last year. Our daughter, then a freshman, was thrilled with her new school. We have found the faculty and staff to be knowledgeable, professional, and caring. The courses offered are challenging and varied. The entire school embraces and celebrates diversity and has provided our child with an excellent learning environment.

Norman High School 5

Posted August 22, 2003
- a student
I'm not a parent. But I was a student at Norman High. I know for some, high school is a traumatic experience. But, I must say that I enjoyed my high school years at Norman High. The community is so involved in the school, & there is a huge level of caring teachers & staff. I'm blessed to have such fond memories.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Norman High School
911 West Main Street, Norman, OK  73069
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. (405) 366-5812
Last modified Norman High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top