Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Norman North High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 21, 2011

I graduated with the NNHS class of 2008, and I'm now an "A" Sr at The University of Oklahoma, taking a double major in Film/Video Studies and American History. I could never say enough great things about this school. I credit the faculty and staff for my success at OU, as well as my confidence to, pardon the cliche, "spread my wings and fly." The teachers, save for a rare few, are interested and play an active part in your child's education. The AP classes offers students a chance to challenge themselves, the Speech and Drama Department provide excellent skill building opportunities, the Athletics Department is becoming known across the state (T-WHAT?!), and the list goes on. Also, of course, I have to mention that Norman North High School has been named a "Blue Ribbon School" by the U.S. Department of Education? I am who I am today because of my time at Norman North. It's an excellent school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 15, 2011

As a parent of a child who is a B+ average student, NNHS is strictly a C+ average school from an academic point of view. It's a large school with over 2100 kids from grade 9-12 and the quality of introductory math & science courses are very dependent upon the teacher. Many of these teachers have many kids to teach and must ensure that the child passes the End of Instruction (EOI) exam mandated by state law. In the process of doing so, the child learns how to do well in standardized testing because all class tests are multiple choice, which has value for the SAT & ACT, but it is questionable if the student actually learns the material where they can think independently and apply what they've learned for more advanced courses in math & science. There are many intelligent kids at NNHS, but they do well not because of NNHS instruction, rather it is because they study the subject outside of school. The counselors are of little help since the only way a student can get attention is to be in trouble or is a National Merit Scholar candidate. Good, hard working and honest students will be short changed in their education and not be ready for college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Norman North High School is known for fostering academic excellence and it has one of the most outstanding orchestra programs in the state. All three of my children have attended there (I have one child still there) and the school is just fabulous!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2009

I am pleased with the education my child is receiving at Norman North High School. As with any school, there are a few teachers who seem to not be there for their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2008

Extremely happy with most of the faculty. I am impressed with their dedication to my kids education. I do wish they had a better system new and transfer students into the district. We moved from IL and my son had a diffuicult time in the beginning of his first year there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2008

My son excelled. He had many classes that challenged and kept him motivated. He can get bored easily. He liked his stats, media and pre-engeneering teachers. They challenged him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2008

This school is amazing. Yes, it may be big, but the teachers are wonderful and there is a fantastic ballance of education and sports. If you want a good high school, I highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 29, 2007

My step-daughter moved here from China over a year ago and began attending Norman North as a scond semester freshman. She has adjusted remarkably well due to their Linguistics program that helps students more quickly master the language and cultural barriers. Her mother and I are very happy with the teachers we have met and our daughter has improved her grades every semester and always has only good things to say about her classes. Norman being largely a university town values education and the community is very supportive of all their schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2007

Just like everywhere very few good teachers, that are willing to go beyond what's expected to help kids. Do not send kids to N.N. for that sport. Sports are not a very big item at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2007

I am attending Norman North right now. It is my sophomore year, as well as my second year at North. I absolutely love it here! I would not want to go to any other high school. The school spirit is amazing! The teachers are wonderful and I know I will have a successful life and will owe a lot of thanks to North for it. Parents on here complaining about kids hanging out with the wrong crowd, how is that norths fault? Its not. And as for adults on campus, I know i have never seen one that didn't belong. Go TWolves!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 29, 2006

I went to Norman North from 97-01. I was not pleased with a couple things. I would not recomend this school or any Norman schools. Due to funding, some teachers, and mostly administration problems. Out of 6 stars I give this place a zero, it's that bad.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 3, 2006

I graduated from North in 2002, and have a cousin enrolled there and a brother about to go there. This is a fantastic high school and I would recommend it to any parent. The faculty/staff are helpful, friendly, and willing to devote the time needed to helping students succeed. Building a rapport with faculty/staff will only help you and your child through high school (good adivce through life). North, like many schools, has over 2,000 students enrolled, and safety and discipline are a priority. Parents should also talk to their kids about proper school conduct. Anything can happen, and it's not North's job to play parent. Teachers are educators, parents are disciplinarians. Overall, no need to worry- it's a safe school. There are many extracurricular activities for your child to get involved in, so kids put yourself out there! And the PTA is amazing. Great school!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 3, 2006

I attended North, and in response to the posts about the 'difficult' office staff, it is just not true. Everyone is nice to you if you are nice to them. In my four years there I never had a problem with the office- frankly, I loved them. My brother is now attending North and the office has proven to be thoughtful, helpful and caring. I was always taught to treat others the way I want to be treated, and whenever I'm nice, they are nice back. Be really rude, and they might be rude back. What's fair is fair. And parents, it is not the school's responsibilty to make sure your child is not hanging out with the 'wrong' crowd; it's yours! Get involved in your kid's life, then you won't have to blame the school.Besides there aren't a lot of bad kids at North. Great School!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 4, 2005

Norman North High School is the best High School you can go to in Oklahoma. They take academics very seriously and care about the students learning. they have great extracurricular activeies for kids and have music and art as a option. Parents are involed in everything the student goes throght and is contacted about good and bad things.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2005

My daughter is a freshman at NNHS. I have to agree that the office can seem difficult, but people need to realize how many students are serviced at NNHS. I feel that my daughter is getting a quality education. It is my responsibility to make her understand who and who not to hang out with, not the schools. She is involved in extracurricular activies. She has a 3.5 GPA and to be honest she is just a regular student. She complains about some teachers and raves about others. Getting a good education must start at home. NNHS offers many opportunities for parents to become active in their child's life. Parents need to quit blaming schools for their own child's failure.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2005

I attended Norman North from the first year it was opened as a freshman to my senior year. I loved my time there and could not imagine a more pleasant high school experience. The school is full of teachers who not only wanted me to succeed academically, but truly cared about me as a person as well. I was also a member of the pom squad and found that a wonderful way to get involved, meet amazing people, and support the school. If you care about your education and about the people you surround yourself with, Norman North will be a wonderful place. As for the parents who mentioned that their kids were getting involved with the wrong people...it is not the school's responsibility to make character choices for your children. That says more about the child than the school. I completely support Norman North!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 19, 2005

My daughter attended Norman North as a freshman last year. The security and safety of the children were compromised with the lack of staff control. Adult strangers were able to enter on to campus to mingle with students. My daughter was able to cut classes and was tardy often that her education suffered. Trying to speak with the office staff or principal was no help with their lack of concern and respect to parents. Sometimes smaller schools are better for some students than a larger one without control.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2005

I've been going to Norman High School since the ninth grade, and will soon complete the eleventh. Its a great school, if you don't get involved with the wrong types of people. The teachers, for the most part, are very nice and understanding and the administration is very helpful. I've never had any problems with anyone. I would recomment NHS to anyone looking for a good school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 19, 2004

I am very disappointed in Norman North High. I pulled my daughter out of this school because she was getting involved with the wrong crowd of kids. The teachers, as well as other staff, have very little control over the students and the students have very little respect for the staff. As a parent, it was difficult to talk with most of the teachers and as someone previously wrote, you are either dismissed or are not respected when you go into the school office. I also had a big problem with the ability of strangers (adults)to come on campus without the school being aware and 'hanging out' with the students. This actually happened with my daughter. That was one of the many reasons why my daughter no longer goes to this school. I wouldn't recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2004

I am very dissapointed with North. My oldest has already graduated and I have one who is now a sophomore. From what I have experienced, the administration views all students as 'bad' and all parents as stupid. We are not listened to nor respected. Teachers are often not in class and are not receptive to student questions, problems, or ideas. Granted, there are some wonderful tachers there but your children may not get them. And don't bother to try and get your child moved to another class where they might actually learn something. I've tried. There is a new principal there now and it has gotten worse.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 87% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
93%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 81% in 2013.

336 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
90%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

375 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
87%
English II

The state average for English II was 91% in 2013.

429 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
English III

The state average for English III was 96% in 2013.

350 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 89% in 2013.

362 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 81% in 2013.

15 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests End-of-Instruction (OCCT EOI) exams to test students in high school in several subjects. The OCCT EOI is a high school graduation requirement. The OCCT EOI exams are standards-based tests, which means they measure specific skills defined for each subject by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 59%
Hispanic 8% 14%
Native American 6% 16%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 2%
Black 4% 9%

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 32%N/A61%
Special education 17%N/A15%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1809 Stubbeman
Norman, OK 73069
Phone: (405) 366-5954

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT