Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
33 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 41 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Norman North High School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted October 11, 2015
- a student
AP teachers- mostly all are very good. Non AP- a good amount VERY BAD and ONLY care about being a sports coach or don't do anything to challenge students. People who only take non-AP classes graduate with minimal knowledge and are not prepared for higher education.

Norman North High School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted October 11, 2015
- a student
No gender equity resources, uses money to invest in not in academics, but TVs in the hallways. Not enough minority representation in student government. Also, during its big donation week, SPUD week, is designed so only very wealthy students can participate alienating many students from participating.

Norman North High School 2

Posted October 11, 2015
- a student
I graduated from Norman North in 2014 and am now out-of state. This school definitely had opportunities such as a decent amount of AP classes to take. Many of my AP teachers were very much interested in seeing their students succeed. However, the classes I took that weren't AP, I had mostly AWFUL teachers in them. A good amount were sport coaches that did not care about the material and struggled to teach it. This school was majority caucasian and had mostly only caucasians in their student government, which isn't good because even though diversity was low at this school, it still existed. One year, my entire junior class of girls was made to go to the auditorium to be told my local police officers to take a self defense class. This is fine, however there never was a lecture for all the boys not hurt girls and women. The school didn't offer sexual education or any gender equity resources. My experience living in Oklahoma and from this high school motivated me very much to leave the state. I am fortunate enough that Norman North gave me some opportunities so I could leave Oklahoma.

Norman North High School 5

Posted July 21, 2011
- a student
I graduated with the NNHS class of 2008, and I'm now an "A" Sr at The University of Oklahoma, taking a double major in Film/Video Studies and American History. I could never say enough great things about this school. I credit the faculty and staff for my success at OU, as well as my confidence to, pardon the cliche, "spread my wings and fly." The teachers, save for a rare few, are interested and play an active part in your child's education. The AP classes offers students a chance to challenge themselves, the Speech and Drama Department provide excellent skill building opportunities, the Athletics Department is becoming known across the state (T-WHAT?!), and the list goes on. Also, of course, I have to mention that Norman North High School has been named a "Blue Ribbon School" by the U.S. Department of Education? I am who I am today because of my time at Norman North. It's an excellent school.

Norman North High School 3

Posted January 15, 2011
- a parent
As a parent of a child who is a B+ average student, NNHS is strictly a C+ average school from an academic point of view. It's a large school with over 2100 kids from grade 9-12 and the quality of introductory math & science courses are very dependent upon the teacher. Many of these teachers have many kids to teach and must ensure that the child passes the End of Instruction (EOI) exam mandated by state law. In the process of doing so, the child learns how to do well in standardized testing because all class tests are multiple choice, which has value for the SAT & ACT, but it is questionable if the student actually learns the material where they can think independently and apply what they've learned for more advanced courses in math & science. There are many intelligent kids at NNHS, but they do well not because of NNHS instruction, rather it is because they study the subject outside of school. The counselors are of little help since the only way a student can get attention is to be in trouble or is a National Merit Scholar candidate. Good, hard working and honest students will be short changed in their education and not be ready for college.

Norman North High School 5

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Norman North High School is known for fostering academic excellence and it has one of the most outstanding orchestra programs in the state. All three of my children have attended there (I have one child still there) and the school is just fabulous!

Norman North High School
no rating

Posted May 20, 2009
- a parent
I am pleased with the education my child is receiving at Norman North High School. As with any school, there are a few teachers who seem to not be there for their students.

Norman North High School 5

Posted September 16, 2008
- a parent
Extremely happy with most of the faculty. I am impressed with their dedication to my kids education. I do wish they had a better system new and transfer students into the district. We moved from IL and my son had a diffuicult time in the beginning of his first year there.

Norman North High School 5

Posted September 16, 2008
- a parent
My son excelled. He had many classes that challenged and kept him motivated. He can get bored easily. He liked his stats, media and pre-engeneering teachers. They challenged him.

Norman North High School 5

Posted August 17, 2008
- a student
This school is amazing. Yes, it may be big, but the teachers are wonderful and there is a fantastic ballance of education and sports. If you want a good high school, I highly recommend it.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Norman North High School
1809 Stubbeman Avenue, Norman, OK  73069
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 41 reviews. (405) 366-5954
Last modified Norman North High School is a Public school that serves grades 8-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top