Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Truman Elementary School

Public | 3-5 | 620 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 21, 2011

Nothing but great things to say about Truman Elementary. All the teachers we have had have been involved and caring. Fabulous PTA involvement. And now that the school is divided into two buildings, the parking issues have been significantly reduced.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2011

I was a former student who went here from Pre-K to 1st grade and, despite the good ratings, I never fit in to the school that much. The staff did all they could to help me, and I didn't really clique with any of them except the secretary, PE teacher and aide, and Speech Therapist. Currently, I go to an accredited Christian school and it is far better for me. I understand myself more, get better grades, and the staff and student body are good friends. I am sad I didn't get to experience Truman like that personally. My deceased brother had a better experience, and excelled more than I did. I was proud of him and his accomplishments at Truman.


Posted December 4, 2009

Great teachers. The school location is not good at all. If you want to pick up your kid, prepare yourself forTraffic Jam and irresponsible parents drivers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2007

Overall great school. The environment is conducive for learning and the staff care about the students. I do have a concern with the mathematics curriculum being used in the Norman Public Schools. Everyday Mathematics falls short of traditional math programs. There is no textbook for the student, rather a consumable workbook. Traditional drill until mastery is replaced with a spiral method whereby the students see one or two problems and then move on to another topic, only to 'spiral' back to the topics at a later date. Additionally, many of the accepted algorithms for multiplying and dividing are replaced by less efficient algorithms that only work in certain instances. Fortunately, I've been able to circumvent this curriculum by supplementing it with additional work at home for my son. While Truman is a great school, I'd caution any parent to understand the math curriculum leaves a lot to be desired.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2006

Outstanding place to learn! The teachers really take the time to get to know each student and parent. They want parental involvement and I believe that having parents there to help out makes for a better school. At Truman, the emphasis is on the kids. You'll be glad your kids are at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2004

Regarding the individual who rated the school on april 2003: doesn't the fact that your daughter was so far behind tell you something about truman and the distinct honor for the state of oklahoma as the worst state in the union for education? Congrats!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2003

This is a wonderful school, my daughter went there for 3 years, and we loved it. We just recently moved, and having problems with the her new teacher. The new school is so far advanced, so my child is having to do work she has never done before. It has really been hard for her, and us trying to adjust.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 77% in 2012.

93 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
83%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 66% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 59%
Hispanic 14% 14%
Native American 7% 16%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 2%
Black 3% 9%
Source: State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 132%N/A61%
Special education 217%N/A15%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

600 Parkside Rd
Norman, OK 73072
Phone: (405) 366-5980

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT