Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
6 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 7 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Truman Elementary School 5

Posted August 21, 2011
- a parent
Nothing but great things to say about Truman Elementary. All the teachers we have had have been involved and caring. Fabulous PTA involvement. And now that the school is divided into two buildings, the parking issues have been significantly reduced.

Truman Elementary School 2

Posted January 20, 2011
- a community member
I was a former student who went here from Pre-K to 1st grade and, despite the good ratings, I never fit in to the school that much. The staff did all they could to help me, and I didn't really clique with any of them except the secretary, PE teacher and aide, and Speech Therapist. Currently, I go to an accredited Christian school and it is far better for me. I understand myself more, get better grades, and the staff and student body are good friends. I am sad I didn't get to experience Truman like that personally. My deceased brother had a better experience, and excelled more than I did. I was proud of him and his accomplishments at Truman.

Truman Elementary School 1

Posted December 04, 2009
- a parent
Great teachers. The school location is not good at all. If you want to pick up your kid, prepare yourself forTraffic Jam and irresponsible parents drivers.

Truman Elementary School 4

Posted July 17, 2007
- a parent
Overall great school. The environment is conducive for learning and the staff care about the students. I do have a concern with the mathematics curriculum being used in the Norman Public Schools. Everyday Mathematics falls short of traditional math programs. There is no textbook for the student, rather a consumable workbook. Traditional drill until mastery is replaced with a spiral method whereby the students see one or two problems and then move on to another topic, only to 'spiral' back to the topics at a later date. Additionally, many of the accepted algorithms for multiplying and dividing are replaced by less efficient algorithms that only work in certain instances. Fortunately, I've been able to circumvent this curriculum by supplementing it with additional work at home for my son. While Truman is a great school, I'd caution any parent to understand the math curriculum leaves a lot to be desired.

Truman Elementary School 5

Posted February 22, 2006
- a parent
Outstanding place to learn! The teachers really take the time to get to know each student and parent. They want parental involvement and I believe that having parents there to help out makes for a better school. At Truman, the emphasis is on the kids. You'll be glad your kids are at this school.

Truman Elementary School
no rating

Posted November 09, 2004
- a parent
Regarding the individual who rated the school on april 2003: doesn't the fact that your daughter was so far behind tell you something about truman and the distinct honor for the state of oklahoma as the worst state in the union for education? Congrats!

Truman Elementary School 5

Posted April 21, 2003
- a community member
This is a wonderful school, my daughter went there for 3 years, and we loved it. We just recently moved, and having problems with the her new teacher. The new school is so far advanced, so my child is having to do work she has never done before. It has really been hard for her, and us trying to adjust.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Truman Elementary School
600 Parkside Road, Norman, OK  73072
(405) 366-5980
Last modified Truman Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades 3-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Truman Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 7 reviews. Top