Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Community Christian School

Private | PK-12 | 665 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Norman

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $171,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $700.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 21, 2014

*has attended....not had. So sorry for the typo and for not proofreading my work before submitting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2014

After 3 years of my son being bullied and constant communication with the Noble school district and school vice principal, principal and numerous others, I moved my son to CCS. It was remarkable to see his not wanting to be in school change to wanting to be in school. He is way behind and the school is working with him daily to get him back up to speed. This is a remarkable school. I have referred 2 of my personal friends. Which one of them enrolled her children there and is having the same success. Best of the best
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2013

I attend this school, and I've been here since 2nd grade and I am in 10th grade now! At the beginning it was my parents making me go here but then they hog ace me to opportunity to go to westmoore or southmoore! I chose to stay here, I will graduate from here this school has taught me so much and love the teachers... The teachers are very stern but they will teach you so much!! I would ignore all the bad reviews due to the fact there are always those parents that don't care about there children's future or don't know what's right


Posted September 13, 2013

I do not recommend this school. My son has a peanut allergy, which I specifically informed the school of...yet, they gave him peanut butter. These people are NOT Christians. They do not keep children safe. The Principal and Teacher took no responsibility nor offered a solution to prevent this in the future. If you're happy with snotty stay-at-home mom types, who don't use correct grammar, and have no educational qualifications, then this is the school for you! Oh, and the place looks like a dungeon, with the saddest, most socially awkward children you'll ever see.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 13, 2013

My grandson attended this school. After three weeks the teacher expelled him. They said he is academically ready, but he whines too much. They charged for a full month of tuition and did not return all of the fees. They gave one day of notice and it was difficult to find a new (but better) school and daycare program. The teacher sent grammatically incorrect e-mails to report his progress. Bottom line: I do NOT recommend this to anyone. The teachers would not meet the certifications for public school so please don't waste your money!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2012

I moved my child here after a bad experience with her last school. Excellent structure and very well run. My daughter is hard at work to catch up because of the poor studies at the old school. Very impressed and happy about the move thus far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2011

If you desire you child to know the word and to have a biblical based education along with respect for authority, then this is your school. If you desire you child to excel in school and to be a hard worker and be academically driven then this is your school. If you are a a sensitive parent and have attacks every time your child is reprimanded or have problems with other people disciplining your child (does not included spanking) then this is not your school. If you want your kid to be the center of attention and be and for them to have special treatment this is not your school. My two kids have been attending here for four years and they love it ... you have to know that they are strict but always for the benefit of your child. You can't be over protective ... just let them do there job .... this is not a school for parents who baby there children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2010

Definitely not worth it. Both teachers and staff show no real genuine interest in the students. The teachers are very old with no real energy for the kids, plus the student teacher ratio is way too much, 25:1. How can 1 teacher handle 25 preschoolers?? They are very expensive and do not povide the appropriate care and attention for the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

My kid go here and I am shocked with the contrast in great and awful teachers. It's like night and day. the difference in education,professionalism,genuine loving teacher care that teachers show toward kid. My daughter had one awesome teacher out of the four years she has been there the others shouldn't have been even teaching they had anger, and patience issues. This school needs to screen teacher not for age or time of service but for heart along with education some teachers are just taking up space without really genuinely caring for the student .It like gambling at this school you never know if your kid will have to suffer with one of their horrible teachers or if maybe they will get a gifted one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2010

My youngest son graduated from CCS. He attended there 10th thru 12th grade and he absolutely loved it! So glad that we made this choice...the faculty and staff are just like family! I would highly recommend it to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2009

I tend to be a critical person, but I really love CCS. I currently have a pre-k and a 2nd grader attending CCS. (The 2nd grader has been attending CCS for 2.5 years. ) With CCS, we reap the benefits of caring Christian teachers, high academic expectations, structured and disciplined environment, well-behaved peers, and strong encouragement on parental involvement . Considering all we receive, the tangible and intangible, the tuition is a great value. T.W.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2009

I have had two daughters graduate from CCS and the third will graduate this year. CCS is like our family. It is more than just school. The staff cares about the kids, loves them, and seeks the best for them. I wouldn't have my family anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2008

Both my boys will graduate from CCS. We have been very pleased. I have two excellent young men. They are both very intelligent. They are a pleasure to be around. I'm glad we made the investment. it has paid off academically, socially and in their character. My boys will make a positive contribution to te community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2007

This school has beautiful bathrooms with elegant uniforms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2007

My daughter has been attending CCS since 4th grade and is now finishing her 8th grade year. Academically the school is very sound. Each year the graduates receive thousands of dollars in scholarships to colleges based on their ACT and SAT scores. You can see this information on their website, www.communitychristianschool.com. Athletically, the volleyball and basketball prgrams are top notch. There is also band, football (8 man), baseball, softball (slow pitch), cheerleading, and golf. Soon they will be adding track and fast pitch softball. In addition, the students participate in state contests such as the spelling B and math olympics. I love the teachers and the Christ centered education. My only issue with the school is the strict dress code, but I consider this minor compared to what my daughter is getting academically and athletically at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2006

My daughter has been at CCS since K4 and she is now a 4th grader. CCS pushes the children hard and some parents, especially of younger children believe they are pushed too hard. But I can guarantee you that the children are succeeding and are gifted academically because of the challenge CCS presents to them. My daughter reads and does math at a college level at 10 years old! She is also safe, secure, protected, and is receiving an excellent Christian education which is of the utmost importance. CCS is strict with dress code and discipline but I believe that only adds to my daughter's overall growth, maturity, and morals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2005

My daughter has attended CCS for 2 years now. 1st and 2nd grade. I believe it is one of the best decisions I have ever made. The teachers are warm and wise. Mrs. O, the principal, is tough. But I really believe that she only has the best interests of my daughter at heart. the children are expected to do a lot and be responisible and accountable for a lot.... but I really believe it works. You'll here the word obediance but you will also hear many, many...words of praise and be proud of what and how much your child is learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2004

I have a Senior and an 8th grader. It is the only school they have ever attended. I believe the school has helped mold my children into wonderful young men. It has been a very good investment. However, I feel they are a touch to strict with many of their rules. Still I feel it is the best school for them. I know they will both graduate from CCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2004

I have had two children in the K4 program and found it to be more than wonderful. I now have a 4th grader. She loves school, her teachers and is reading 10th grade level. The school is very structured but is not too rigid or strict. Both of my children have loved every teacher thay have had. My only complaint is the lack of parking! I have nothing but wonderful things to report on CCS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2004

I had my 4 year old in the pre-k 4 class for 3 weeks, and found that is was to rigid and strict. There was only 1 teacher handling 24 (4 year olds). I am sure the school is great for older children, but I do not recommend it for there lower level classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 58%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 17%
Black 2% 10%
Hispanic 2% 13%
Two or more races 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACTS

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3002 Broce Drive
Norman, OK 73072
Phone: (405) 329-2500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT