Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Little Axe High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 17, 2014

this high school is a slightly small school. it contains of two hallways, at least two bathrooms (for each gender), and there are offices on the ends of both hallways. this school is amazing because it is hard NOT to get lost!! the teachers there are amazing!!! they never give up on a single child and they dedicate 90% of their time to making each student succeed!! the teachers know every student there by name and when you are having a bad time all you have to do is ask for their help and they will get right to helping you!! i have never felt so supported academically before! the principal is a straight forward man, he will tell you the problems of this school right up to your face and he will tell you how you (the student body) and the staff can fix this problem. overall i would say that this school may not look like much at first, but the people there are very supporting!! the school is not funded very much so we might not have the text books from the past two years, but you know what? we make the best of it. without the dedication of these teachers, there would be no such thing as little axe high school GO INDIANS!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 14, 2014

All threes of my children have gone to little axe schools, and my youngest started in headstart and will be graduating in May following in his sisters steps.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2011

As a former student of Little Axe, I am greatly disappointed with the education I received. In comparison with other college students who attended larger schools, I feel that the quality of education offered at Little Axe fails to prepare students for college (I was in AP classes at LA, too.) After all, a school should prepare its students for the next step. I also think Little Axe offers a limited world view.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 14, 2010

My wife and I are divorced and after our divorce, our teen son had some adjustment problems to our break up. Some of those problems carried over to Little Axe H.S. The principal Mr. Steve Edwards was firm and upfront with our son on what he needed to do to stay out of trouble. And we worked with the school and Ms. Kimrey on helping our son thru this tough time. Mr. Edwards is a great principal. He helped our son and is doing a great job of leading our high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2010

Little Axe has wonderful faculty and staff. The educational value of the school is beyond words.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 17, 2009

I love this school. The teachers are amazing, the janitors clean during every hour, it's small enough that the principals and superintendent knows you by name, the teachers are forgiving. We don't have to worry about much because we're in the middle of nowhere and it's absolutely amazing. We don't have to switch schools every year and lose friends like city schools do. Anybody who thinks Little Axe High School is a bad school, this is coming from a student and it is the most amazing, it is clean, unlike most schools, and teachers don't have to worry about not remembering a childs name because there is only 25 kids in each class, almost always less, unlike having 50 compared to a bigger school. And the sports teams are awesome. GO LITTLE AXE!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 17, 2007

I have had 1 child that has graduated from Little Axe and another still there. Although I don't agree with some of the decisions of the administration, I do believe strongly that this is a wonderful school. The girls Fastpitch team went to state this year; winning our conference and districts. Furthermore, the girls Basketball team won districts and went to Area 1 game away from State. We have many wrestlers who go to state each year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2007

The H.S. is the newest building on the campus. Even tho I dont have a child in H.S., I do have a nephew there and I have been in the school many times. The building is very clean and its a very nice building. Little Axe H.S. has the same basic sports as any other school in Okla (Football, Baseball, Basketball, Softball, Track) and they also offer Tennis. You must keep in mind that this is a very small school and they cannot possibly offer every sport there is. If your child is interested in Soccer there are leages they can join near the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2007

The school is disgusting, they hardly clean. Some of the dress code rules are ridiculous. They don't even have any good sports. They have the basics, plus tennis. Which has like 6 people on the whole team, all girls. I would really like the school to have maybe volleyball or soccer at least. To all the schools I've seen in my day, this has to be the worst.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 87% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
78%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 81% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
47%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
77%
English II

The state average for English II was 91% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
84%
English III

The state average for English III was 96% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
91%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 89% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
84%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 81% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests End-of-Instruction (OCCT EOI) exams to test students in high school in several subjects. The OCCT EOI is a high school graduation requirement. The OCCT EOI exams are standards-based tests, which means they measure specific skills defined for each subject by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 59%
Native American 19% 16%
Hispanic 5% 14%
Black 1% 9%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Source: State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 163%N/A61%
Special education 220%N/A15%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2000 168th Ave NE
Norman, OK 73026
Phone: (405) 329-1612

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Bethel High School
Shawnee, OK



Life Christian Academy
Oklahoma City, OK





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT