Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Capitol Hill High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 7, 2013

the teachers did not care about anything really and we're lazy. people ditch a lot
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 30, 2013

Capitol Hill High School is not that bad of a school, is very fun. I currently attend this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 28, 2012

A work going in the Right directions, it will be a great school when it get finished
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2010

I love this school because of its diversity of students, and the wonderful memories I have from attending there. Almost all, if not all, students Capitol Hill High School live in poverty. The school has very little resources, and is in dire need of assistance. These kids need to feel good about going to school, and in order to do that they need facilities that they can be proud of. Please join me in voting for Capitol Hill High School to give these kids a chance to succeed.


Posted July 3, 2010

my daughter attends capital hill highschool and will be a senior this, year she has been bullied by other students, and when bullied she gets suspended not the at fault student, also i have observed teachers giving students cigarets. lastly Many of the teachers do not care about the students learning carrer,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

i am a student at CHHS and i really enjoy it. CHHS is only a problem because the students have friends that have behavioral issues. if the student would have the right friends there would be no problem. i hang around the right students, so, so far my experiance at CHHS has been great. CHHS has really cracked down on having IDs and right uniform, we even have a truancy officer to stop the ditching, and tardiness. CHHS has made alot of improvements. they want to let the student have a great highschool experiance. CHHS is about to get re-modled starting later in the year, the whole campus will be done.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 14, 2008

I attended Capitol Hill for the entirety of my secondary education, and though the school has its faults I enjoyed my time on the campus. The office staff is very helpful, and mostly bilingual, the faculty is also very devoted to the success of the students. As 3rd generation Alumni, I hope to send my CHcschildren to C
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 12, 2007

It is important to note that a child's true education begins in the home. Capitol hill high school is plagued by many problems which are not experienced in other schools. Okc public school system must share some of the blame for largely ignoring issues that should have been addressed long ago. Schools can only progress with parental involvement.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 2, 2006

I attended this school or one year. Although I had fun with my friends, I didn't learn one thing. The teachers there do not care about the students.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 11, 2006

I believe the school has great intentions, however, he measures of disciplinary action taken on the students needs to improve. The rules that are set for the students do no good if nobody is doing anything to help improve the standards of education on a further level. The students attending this school need more than a few basic class from 7-2. They need more programs to build self-confidence and self worth. We all know kids who act up so rebelliously do it because they need a sense of fulfillment and want. Unfortunately in order to make a school work. The students,the parents as well as the administration need to work together. Which is a struggle we may never come to pass.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 24, 2004

This school does need inprovement.My children have been very happy there I haven't had any problens there. if I had to start all over I would still choose Capitol Hill High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

It's a shame that we send our children to school for them to just get by. I visit this school all the time and I always see students walking the halls, could this be a class in itself?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2003

Some of these teachers including the principal need to be let go. They don't care about these kids.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 84% in 2012.

166 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
43%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 77% in 2012.

112 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
13%

2010

 
 
38%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 79% in 2012.

106 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
46%
English II

The state average for English II was 88% in 2012.

130 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
60%
English III

The state average for English III was 92% in 2012.

108 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
58%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 87% in 2012.

145 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
54%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2009.

146 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2009.

171 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
44%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 77% in 2012.

96 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
37%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests End-of-Instruction (OCCT EOI) exams to test students in high school in several subjects. The OCCT EOI is a high school graduation requirement. The OCCT EOI exams are standards-based tests, which means they measure specific skills defined for each subject by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 65% 13%
White 16% 54%
Black 13% 10%
American Indian/Alaska Native 5% 17%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 5%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 92%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Track

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

500 SW 36th St
Oklahoma City, OK 73119
Phone: (405) 616-1210

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Grace Christian Academy
Oklahoma City, OK


Grace Christian Academy
Oklahoma City, OK


U. S. Grant High School
Oklahoma City, OK


Western Heights High School
Oklahoma City, OK




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT