Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

CHHS was one on the lowest performing school in Oklahoma, 6 years ago -rated F. Today, it is a "C" school with 2 academies within the school, Academy of Engineering and Acdemy of Fine Arts. Enrollment increased from 750 to over 1,450, however, test scored continued to increase. Great students and dedicated teachers.
June 29, 2016

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
27 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
CHHS was one on the lowest performing school in Oklahoma, 6 years ago -rated F. Today, it is a "C" school with 2 academies within the school, Academy of Engineering and Acdemy of Fine Arts. Enrollment increased from 750 to over 1,450, however, test scored continued to increase. Great students and dedicated teachers.
Posted June 29, 2016

Capitol Hill High School 4

Posted December 15, 2015
- a community member
My experience at CHHS was nothing short of GREAT. It has been a long time ago and I am sure things have changed, but I also note that the Southwest part of Capitol Hill has deteriorated a great deal. When I attended, home owners took a lot of pride in their homes /property. My recent travel in that area doesn't reflect that pride that existed back in the '50s, 60s and '70s. I would have to place blame on poor ratings on the entire area!! I have several brothers and sisters who are also CHHS alumni and we are not from a "well-to-do " background. If PARENTS will take the responsibility of their children's actions, teach them at home to have RESPECT FOR OTHERS,THEMSELVES AND OTHERS RIGHTS AND PROPERTIES, THEN AND ONLY THEN!! WILL YOU see the ratings of this once EXTREMELY proud High School return to the high ratings it once had!! ONCE A CHIEFTON -- ALWAYS A PROUD CHIEFTON! !

Capitol Hill High School 2

Posted July 07, 2013
- a student
the teachers did not care about anything really and we're lazy. people ditch a lot

Capitol Hill High School 4

Posted May 30, 2013
- a student
Capitol Hill High School is not that bad of a school, is very fun. I currently attend this school.

Capitol Hill High School 3

Posted February 28, 2012
- a parent
A work going in the Right directions, it will be a great school when it get finished

Capitol Hill High School 5

Posted October 09, 2010
- a community member
I love this school because of its diversity of students, and the wonderful memories I have from attending there. Almost all, if not all, students Capitol Hill High School live in poverty. The school has very little resources, and is in dire need of assistance. These kids need to feel good about going to school, and in order to do that they need facilities that they can be proud of. Please join me in voting for Capitol Hill High School to give these kids a chance to succeed.

Capitol Hill High School 1

Posted July 03, 2010
- a parent
my daughter attends capital hill highschool and will be a senior this, year she has been bullied by other students, and when bullied she gets suspended not the at fault student, also i have observed teachers giving students cigarets. lastly Many of the teachers do not care about the students learning carrer,

Capitol Hill High School
no rating

Posted September 22, 2009
- a student
i am a student at CHHS and i really enjoy it. CHHS is only a problem because the students have friends that have behavioral issues. if the student would have the right friends there would be no problem. i hang around the right students, so, so far my experiance at CHHS has been great. CHHS has really cracked down on having IDs and right uniform, we even have a truancy officer to stop the ditching, and tardiness. CHHS has made alot of improvements. they want to let the student have a great highschool experiance. CHHS is about to get re-modled starting later in the year, the whole campus will be done.

Capitol Hill High School 5

Posted August 14, 2008
- a student
I attended Capitol Hill for the entirety of my secondary education, and though the school has its faults I enjoyed my time on the campus. The office staff is very helpful, and mostly bilingual, the faculty is also very devoted to the success of the students. As 3rd generation Alumni, I hope to send my CHcschildren to C

Capitol Hill High School 4

Posted May 12, 2007
- a teacher
It is important to note that a child's true education begins in the home. Capitol hill high school is plagued by many problems which are not experienced in other schools. Okc public school system must share some of the blame for largely ignoring issues that should have been addressed long ago. Schools can only progress with parental involvement.

Nearby schools

Capitol Hill High School
500 Southwest 36th Street, Oklahoma City, OK  73109
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. (405) 587-9000
Last modified Capitol Hill High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top