Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Horace Mann Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 430 students

Our school is well known for its Community Partnership with Chesapeake Energy

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 27, 2014

School seems to be off to a great start this year with a whole new feel. Leadership of the school has changed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2014

Bad year for 2 of my daughters. The 3rd grade teacher was HORRIBLE. She complained constantly about my daughter, did not do any required A.R. testing, I reported her to new principle and eventually she "early retired" . But damage was already done, she missed a majority of the learning year, and now is BEHIND when she was ahead when she started school year. I have loved this school but I am really disappointed with this last school year (2013/2014).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2013

Just walk in to this school to see how awful it is; see if you can catch any of the faculty/staff smiling. Doubtful. My son attended this school for pre-k; the experience was horrible. All the teacher ever did was complain about my son not finishing his worksheets. She never celebrated his good points. During a parent teacher conference, I asked the teacher to name my son's best quality. She stared at me blankly, she seemed confused , and could not give me an answer. The situation declined through the year, and my son began having meltdowns every morning, and peeing his pants every day, sometimes several times a day, a clear sign of high amounts of anxiety for a nearly five year old. Finally, one day, the teacher called and left me a nasty message asking if I just wanted to leave him in his dirty clothes for the rest of the day. I pulled him out of the school. I know it sounds like I must have some terrible child, but he's actually incredibly sweet. His new teacher tells me again and again how sweet he is and how she has never seen him be mean to any child and he has the sweetest smile :). Once I pulled him from school, he immediately stopped wetting his pants. Just saying.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2013

I have gone to this school since pre-k. I'm in summer break and about to start 4th grade. I think this school has really improved over the years. they have confrences every once in a while to give out my behavioral and adidemical (please exuse spelling) ups and downs. I get really good grades and have learned much. If your coming to OKC and in the classen and western area, this is the school to go to!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2011

If one of their staff don't like your kid,good luck! They could be very rude,it's their way or the highway!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2011

I attended Horace Mann Elementary School four years ago and I have to say it was one of the best schools I've ever been to. The teachers were great and they liked to interact with the students to get them to understand things better. The classes were rather challenging but taught the students how to deal with difficult subjects and how to take different paths to approach the situation. Everyone was highly supportive and seemed to understand one another. What I really enjoyed about it was the mentors because they came and helped the students comprehend the things being taught. The other students were outstanding and really smart. I think I learned alot from my two years there, I would not ask for a better school!


Posted January 29, 2011

The principal and teachers treat the children with special needs as unwanted and problem children. They only care about their 'image' to Chesapeake. Extremely stuck up and rude staff. Who think that the children and parents at this school are below them and they are doing you a service or charity by working there. They shun parental involvement and invite outside Private Corporation Employees to do the jobs the parents are willing to do but are kept out on purpose. They wont even allow parents on field trips or to see The Christmas Program, but the mentors are invited. They are stealing our memory's from us and giving them to Chesapeake Mentor Program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2010

I have 2 children in this school,ages 6 & 7, I love the school. Really friendly helpful teachers. The mentorship that goes on with this school is awesome. In the 2 years that my children have gone here I have never seen any fist fights. I am sure there is in ALL schools though. Its normally a very secure school, no one can come visit or get a child without them calling you and making sure they had premission to do so.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2010

My child is five years old, and this is his first and only year at this school. We moved here from the Edmond school district and I am extremely disappointed with the quality of safety at this school. The first day of school when dropping my child off, I witnessed a fist fight involving many students, and no teacher present! Several fathers got out of their cars to intervene! I was never fearful to send my child to school when he was attending his previous school. This school put my child on the wrong daycare bus! He even told them it was the wrong bus! Fortunately my child knew my cell number, and gave it to the daycare he was sent to, so I could pick him up! My husband and I are moving from Oklahoma City, to provide our children with better educational oppotunities in another school district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2008

This is my son's second year at Horace Mann. I was very nervous to move to a new school, my son is autistic, but I have been more than pleased with his progress! The staff is amazing, the classes are small, and we just love it here!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2006

This will be son's third year at Horace Mann. We live in the Edmond School district and I drive him to school 15 mins. everyday. Since attending Horace Mann he has excelled in his schoolwork and has gained self-cofidence. Each child has been encourgaed to do their best and the teachers seem to be highly skilled in their teaching. The Principal is very kind and you can tell she cares for each and every child. She is a gret example of how a Principal should be. Even the cafeteria workers are very sweet to the children and see them as individuals. I also like the fact that it is a
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2005

We loved this school!! My daughter attended Horace Mann for PK and half of K. Wished our new school was as good as Horace Mann! Don't let the test scores here fool you... Ms. McNeil takes in student who are way below standard reading level and tries to bring them up to state level. She won National Educater of the Year for her work with her reading programs. Great, safe after-school care with the Boys and Girls Club. Chesapeake Energy is the local sponsor for Horace Mann, and have been very generous to them. We love and miss ya'll!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

16 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

16 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

16 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
95%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 77% in 2012.

22 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 66% in 2013.

16 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

11 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

11 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 32% 59%
Black 26% 9%
Hispanic 25% 14%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 12% 2%
Native American 4% 16%
Source: State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Special education 112%N/A15%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 285%N/A61%
Source: 1 State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Arabic languages
Spanish
Vietnamese
Burmese
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • GE Model School Status (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Cognitive disability
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Other
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • Burmese
  • Spanish
  • Vietnamese

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Girls on the run
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:20 am
School end time
  • 3:10 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mitchell Ruzzoli
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Year-round
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (405) 587-3505

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Cognitive disability
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Other
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • Burmese
  • Spanish
  • Vietnamese
Extra learning resources offered
  • Mentoring
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Boys and Girls Club
School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Chesapeake Energy Corporation
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • Girls on the Run

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Girls on the run
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1105 N.W. 45th St
Oklahoma City, OK 73118
Phone: (405) 587-3500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Westminster School
Oklahoma City, OK



Bishop John Carroll School
Oklahoma City, OK


Edgemere Elementary School
Oklahoma City, OK


Sequoyah Elementary School
Oklahoma City, OK


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT