Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jefferson Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 2, 2012

I am inn the 7th grade here and i must say this is a good school. Except for one teacher teacher who has been causing us problems by giving a class a F for one student talking


Posted February 29, 2012

this school is fine if you be good and do good in schoo it is a ok school their are great teachersl


Posted January 5, 2012

Great students, great programs, great teachers!! I was not to happy at first that my son was going to be attending this school, but it exceeded my expectations and he loves it and so do I!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

I Go To Jefferson Middle School. And Im In The 7th Grade. The Best Teachers That Help Me With Anything That I Need Would Be Ms.Curren And Ms.Shelton. There Has Been A Great Change In The Kids Actions. More People Are Responsible And Are Very Good At Learning Things.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 13, 2010

My son is in the sixth grade this year. He has one awesome teacher. His name is Mr. Worsham. I wish all teachers cared as much as him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2010

i go to school here and the most important thing the teaching is excellent
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 11, 2009

I definitely think that any middle school has its problems and will have its troubled students ( this is probably the toughest age for students). This school compared to many is actually above average. There are some great teachers here and a few not so great ones but overall this is a pretty good school.


Posted January 28, 2009

I go to this school,and i must say it has it's problems.Although at times things might go wrong this school is actually really good.I am in my 8th grade year and i have learned so much in the past 3 years.They have great teachers they do a great job of preparing students for highschool......But there will always be a couple of students that are bad influences, but our great principles will take care of that...I am so happy i got the pleasure to go to thomas jefferson middle school for 3 amazing years!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 20, 2008

My daughter will be in 7th Grade for the 2008-2009 school year. Last year, she had the best teachers! Mr. Buckmaster, Ms. Gantt, Mrs. Mann and Mr. White were fabulous! I have a great amount of respect for the Principal, Gloria Torres, and her office staff. I'm not terribly impressed with the overall state of the OKC Public School system, but this school is definitely a strong positive gem among the other options available in south OKC. We are happy that this school's administration and faculty are above average!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2008

This is very fun,active and well thought out school
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
42%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

180 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
31%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2013.

185 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
48%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 89% in 2012.

183 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

164 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

166 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 60% in 2013.

167 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
85%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 77% in 2012.

158 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
66%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 65% in 2013.

168 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 60% 13%
White 19% 54%
Black 12% 10%
American Indian/Alaska Native 7% 17%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 5%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 98%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6800 South Blackwelder Ave
Oklahoma City, OK 73159
Phone: (405) 632-2341

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Grace Christian Academy
Oklahoma City, OK


Grace Christian Academy
Oklahoma City, OK


Webster Middle School
Oklahoma City, OK


West Junior High School
Oklahoma City, OK


St. James Catholic School
Oklahoma City, OK


Kingspark Baptist Academy
Oklahoma City, OK


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT